We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worked well for a short family stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Princes Marine Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Princes Marine Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Princes Marine Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   153 Kingsway, Hove BN3 4GR, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 50% off stays!
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hove
Bath
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Worked well for a short family stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Booked at the last moment for one night direct with the hotel on a very good value bed and breakfast rate. Free parking was useful and we didn’t use the car at all. The hotel foyer is not the smartest I have seen, but the two bedrooms (one twin, one double) were spacious, clean, well decorated and with sea views, although my bed was little too soft for me.

It is quite a walk into Brighton centre, but it’s an interesting one along the seafront and there are plenty of buses or taxis to use instead. Breakfast in the morning was good and all the staff were very pleasant and helpful. For a good value stay in this location, this hotel would be hard to beat.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    153
    56
    26
    7
See reviews for
57
141
43
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

This hotel has exceptional service provided to its guests. I have stayed there for substantial periods of time when visiting England from Australia five times since 2003. Each time, but particularly in August/September and October this year, I have been in and out like a yo-yo, but all the staff have always been very patient with my timetable and itinerary. This can be illustrated by our departure - when leaving the hotel to fly from Heathrow late in the evening it was found that a passport was missing. This was later found after we had left and it was delivered by a staff member to us at Heathrow to enable the flight to be boarded. Credit must be paid to the performances of reception staff, the restaurant staff, and to all who provide services at Princes Marine Hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

As a single disabled traveller with a small dog I stayed here for 2 nights (was booked for 3..left early !) and would recomend that they stop using the terms 'dog friendly' (at an extra £15 per woof per night..!!) or 'Disabled access.... neither proved to be accurate. The car parking is atrocious, very difficult for disabled users and the promised booked disabled car space (at front and on a slope) did not materialise... The front doors are almost impossible to open if in a chair or buggy...opening outwards and far too heavy... the same with the self closing doors to the rooms...the staff stayed behind the reception desk and offered no help with bags or small terrier or to ask other guests to move the huge pile of luggage blocking access to the lift...which has no fold down seat or handrails in. The 'pet policy' means you cannot leave your dog unattended or take it into restuarant but the restuarant serves a help yourself breakfast meaning that a single dog owner cannot access breakfast even if having it in the bar.!!! Staff were quick to complain that the dog woofed in the room (he's a rescue never having been to such a place before..) but ignored my complaints of drunks and slamming doors at 2am... neither did the manager come up to my room to take a complaint....we packed and left and advised the company organising the Conference (representing 12,000 employees..) not to use Best Western again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield Derbyshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

We recently adopted a rescue german shepherd and was anxious about going away with her for the first time. Having found a hotel that accepted dogs, I expected the hotel and our room not to be of a standard we were used to. I have to say that the hotel was lovely and our room one of the best we have ever stayed in, and actually more like a suite. We were also allowed to take our dog into the bar lounge whilst we ate our breakfast. Across the road is a grassed area where you can excercise your pet. I cannot fault the hotel and the staff were very friendly. We will definitely return again.

Room Tip: Cannot fault our sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We have stayed at this hotel for over the past six years for annual family get togethers. It is unique in that it may be a best western but it has the feel of a independant hotel. Much of this is due to the fact it is run by a family and they have retained their staff. It is clear the staff take pride in what they do and look after the guests. It is a small hotel that has a a good restaurant and a panoramic roof function room. The rooms are a good size and the bathrooms are being refurbished, confortable beds with good pillows and clean sheets, well done.
We were there for a family function and the hotel provided a buffet. Excellent is the only word for it as the quality and quantity was superb The bar was running all evening and the saff we great.
It is just inside the Hove boundary so a reasonale walking distance from the centre of Brighton however there is a direct line to the local taxi company (streamline) and the fare is around £6.
TIPS.

> Get there early as the car park is very small and if you drive a large car talk to reception and look to park at the front of the hotel.

> Ask for a room with a sea view it is well worth it.

> If you are there for a function which is in the roof function room avoid staying on the forth floor as you are one floor below the dance floor

Room Tip: > Ask for a room with a sea view it is well worth it. > If you are there for a function w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Booked in the June as I'm a wheelchair user and need a wheel in shower. Staff were very accommodating and explained in detail what rooms were available and the layout - this is very important when your in a wheelchair and need to work out how you'll move around the room and where equipment will go.

Arrived in September around 10pm and despite it being late, Reception staff unloaded my car and got me into my rooms with no problem. Special thanks goes to Jonathan Ailion who works there and was brilliant in getting my electric wheelchair in and out of my car - this is no easy task and he did a great job considering how difficult it is.

During conference, reception was always properly staffed and was able to buy from the bar with no issue. Daily housekeeping was to a good standard and I had no complaints. Breakfasts were very nice and good quality.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Friendly staff, Good food and nice sea view from bedroom. On the down side decor in some of the public areas was tired and our rooms en suite was probably due a refurb. Free car park was a bonus but it is small and a tight squeeze even in a small family car. Although some way out of Brighton there is a frequent and reliable bus service with stops right outside hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Princes Marine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Princes Marine Hotel

Address: 153 Kingsway, Hove BN3 4GR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Hove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Princes Marine Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Princes Marine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Brighton
Brighton Best Western
BEST WESTERN Princes Marine Hotel Hove, Brighton And Hove, UK

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Princes Marine Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.