We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky with fab service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Princes Marine Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Princes Marine Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Princes Marine Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   153 Kingsway, Hove BN3 4GR, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 50% off stays!
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hove
dorset
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Quirky with fab service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012 via mobile

Stayed one night whilst on business on Hove. Managed to get a parking space though it is a very narrow entrance,but as parking is very expensive in the area this is a big bonus. My room was large,a bit tired looking ( the first pampas coloured bathroom suite I have seen for ages) but clean and the bed was comfy.no smell of dogs and believe me I would notice! Ate at the hotel and the portions were massive,the steak was good.breakfast was ok -the orange juice tasted odd and the fruit tasted tinned,but the cooked breakfast was lovely with the best bacon I have tasted for ages.the best bit about the hotel was the staff. They were lovely and gave a great service.so don't go there for luxury,accept the old fashioned individual charm,free parking and it's good value for money!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    152
    56
    25
    7
See reviews for
56
141
42
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
cornwall
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights at the end of July 2012. This hotel is not about luxury, high end furnishings, smart en suites, and all those other things we crave. However it does deliver on value for money, pleasent helpful service, free parking, and a clean enviroment. We had a large twin room on the fourth floor on the back of the hotel, slept with window wide open as it was hot,and there was no noise at all except the seagulls, but this is the seaside what do you expect! The room was somewhat 1970's in style, but well maintained, clean, beds very comfortable, bathroom also from similar era but all working well, good shower, again all very clean. Parking is a tight squeeze but we found a space each night. We took our dog who was made welcome, and despite what others have unfairly written there is absolutely no smell of dogs anywhere. Breakfast was very acceptable, it could be improved with fresh fruit not tinned, but the cooked breakfast arrived hot, delicious and plentiful. We thouroughly enjoyed our stay,and would definitely return, its important to remember what it costs you when you review a hotel, and this was just slightly more than the Hickstead Travelodge which is really grim in my experience, so I think it offered real value for money in an excellent location.

Room Tip: Avoid road noise by having a room on the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon006, Manager at BEST WESTERN Princes Marine Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments regarding your recent stay at the Princes marine Hotel.

I am happy to tell you that we have started a £200.000 bathroom fit out which we now have over 75% done, so next time you come please ring us first and we will try to get you one of those!

Kind Regards

Jonathan Ailion
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

just what we needed for a week-end break - bus services and all facilities close by - the weather was bracing even in June but interesting all the same. We'd book again because there is limited parking. Usefl base for walks and the beach is just across the road. We ghad lovely views of the huge waves and the gulls and it was just what an English seaside hotel should be. Cleanliness top marks - the little oik who came to breakfast with mummy and grandpa - go elsewhere - the gulls kept him awake! Seaside without gulls especially in Brighton is not the seaside - ungrateful little boy!!!!

Room Tip: depends on personal choice. We liked the sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

Stayed in July. Booked a standard double room as heard the seaview rooms are noisy and can't open the windows.

Arrived and they had put us in a seaview room. Despite being on the 4th floor it was impossible to sleep. The rooms are boiling hot even if you open the windows, and if you open the windows, as the road is so busy, you will be disturbed by cars throughout the whole night. Even if you close the windows the noise from the road is still disturbing.

Would not recommend staying if it is hot outside. Definitely would not recommend a seaview room if you want a quiet nights sleep.

Otherwise the decor is old, but clean, beds comfortable. Nice sized rooms.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

I booked this Hotel 2 months in advance & stayed here in July 2012 we paid £99 a night for a sea view room & asked for a quite room and were extremely disappointed with the place.
There was a noise like an air compressor starting up every minute all night: I complained to reception but was told it was the fans under the floor.
The bed was so soft & worn out my wife had to sleep in a chair all night, I woke up with a bad back, we complained about the bed but was told all the rooms were fully booked.
It’s quite grotty and run down, with dated decor, fixtures and furniture. The sea view was blocked with condensation inside the window & there was scaffolding up outside the front of the hotel.
They let dogs in rooms at this hotel so be prepared for a smell of dogs.

Room Tip: I stayed in Room 1
See more room tips
Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon006, Manager at BEST WESTERN Princes Marine Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at the Princes marine Hotel

I am sorry the hotel was not to your liking, we did have scaffolding up for a few weeks and I apologise for that, we did have important maintenence work to carry out, the scaffolding has now gone from the side of the hotel.



Kind Regards,
Jonathan Ailion
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012 via mobile

After a stressful journey in torrential rain and dreadful traffic I was fractious to say the least. Finally found the hotel and my spirits sunk even lower. Lesson 1... Do not judge a book by its cover......this hotel is a delight..whilst the reception area is not grand by any means and left me slightly concerned the room was charming spacious and spotless. My mood changed immediately amazing sea view comfy bed loads of room. Right on the main seafront road but really quiet ...double glazing done its job. Staff, brilliant, breakfast great, we ate in on our last night as it was blowing a gale, and it was delicious . Lovely walk into Brighton or excellent bus service if u prefer.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trapani, Italy
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Excellent staff at reception, and at breakfast.
Breakfast was good. The italian chef is friendly and his food it's great.
Rooms are large and very nice. Great to have free parking, you have to be lucky (or come back earliar) to find a place.
Altough our room (#39) was on the frontside (with a wonderful view) the traffic noise didn't disturb our sleep.
The bus connection are really comfortable, with a bus stop (Stagecoach) just in front the hotel. At 100m there is the Brighton & Hove bus company line.
Definitely a place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Princes Marine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Princes Marine Hotel

Address: 153 Kingsway, Hove BN3 4GR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Hove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Princes Marine Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Princes Marine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Brighton
Brighton Best Western
BEST WESTERN Princes Marine Hotel Hove, Brighton And Hove, UK

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Princes Marine Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.