We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth seeking out” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Buon appetito

Buon appetito
81 Western Rd, Hove, England
01273 204848
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #76 of 190 restaurants in Hove
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: Nice cona premiere with a beautiful italian colours.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Worth seeking out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Here is an authentic family-run small Italian restaurant that you could all too easily overlook. It's in the "dark" corner of the clock gardens off Palmeira Square in central Hove. It's worth seeking out. We enjoyed a very freshly prepared early evening meal that ranks right up there with the best and, with four other Italian restaurants within 5-mins walk (honestly!) it deserves this accolade. A measure of this restaurant's grade is the better-than-average house wine and sensible pricing making a meal out for two very affordable. Eminently suitable for singles, twos, families and parties I would guess although it was quite on the rainy early evening we dined there. Oh, and excellent friendly service too!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

76% Recommend
    37
    17
    6
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
uk
Top Contributor
195 reviews 195 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“Really good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

This is a nice little local restaurant. It is good value, the food is decent and the service is always great. Lunches are particularly good value. You can get really cheap pizza at lunchtime.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove, United Kingdom
1 review
“Hove's Italian Corner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

After numerous meals at Buon appetito it is necessary to say how utterly pleasurable it is. Hence why we return so regularly. Vincent, Victor and Marco are welcoming, friendly and always remember you. The food is good, the service is excellent and the price is reasonable. A place for a leisurely meal but also seems to accommodate those who want to eat and go. The mussels are fantastic. An experience not to be missed - try it.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Friendly staff and tasty food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Soon as we walked in we were greeted by smiling faces and strong handshakes which really made us feel welcome the owner even having a bit of banter with our little boy. My partner and i a steak which was sumptuous and flavoursome even without seasoning! theres nothing better than a well cooked steak. Our son had a pepperoni pizza he couldnt eat it all so the owner suggest he take it home which we did and had a slice later on that night at it was very good. As we were leaving another family came in obviously regulars by the conversation they were having so that was a good sign too. Buon appetito is a place i would recommend and visit again.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pickering, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good food but spoiled”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stumbled into this restaurant on a rainy evening. The food was excellent, and the service was friendly and efficient. However we were rather surprised to find a service charge on our bill, which is something we associate with large groups - we were just two. I'm sure it was somewhere in very small print on the menu, but we didn't notice it. I'd rather give a tip, and I would have done because it was deserved.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buon appetito also viewed

Hove, Brighton and Hove
Burgess Hill, West Sussex
 
Hove, Brighton and Hove
Hove, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to Buon appetito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buon appetito, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.