We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic persian menu” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The View

The View
Western Esplanade, Kingsway | Brighton, Hove BN34FA, England
01273207100
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #125 of 200 Restaurants in Hove
Price range: $8 - $24
Cuisines: European
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic persian menu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

I have tried many restaurants in Brighton and the View is one of the best around . Fantastic food and service + good location wins my vote .

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    24
    13
    14
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Birthday Lunch For 20!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

I booked a table for twenty last Sunday to celebrate my birthday. A busy day and a peak time for such a large number of covers, but Matt the G.M took the booking in his stride and delivered without a hitch. The food was served promptly, piping hot, beautifully presented and absolutely delicious. The waiting staff were efficient, attentive, courteous and always smiling and approachable. Having invited some, lets say, discerning guests, I knew the View had delivered when they were so complimentary about their entire dining experience and are going to return. We chose from the Christmas menu, which priced at £16.95 is extremely good value. Thankyou to Matt and the team, not forgetting the kitchen brigade for producing excellent meals.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
181 reviews 181 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Really good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

I have noticed very mixed reviews below but my wife and I went to The View today for lunch using a Groupon voucher and could find nothing to complain about at all.
We have been before but we have never tried The View at peak times such as Saturday night or Sunday lunchtime so this may have a bearing. Today, service was friendly and efficient (a lovely young lady from Slovakia) and we had whitebait and leek & potato soup for starters - both excellent. For mains the risotto marinara was very good and I had the steak and chips - really nice!
The Pinot Grigio was served nicely chilled and with a good ice bucket straightaway.
The bill was £46 before the Groupon discount of £22.
Plenty of on-street parking nearby (perhaps not in the high season) and there is a small carpark right in front of the building - only about 10 spaces so probably full at peak times but today only 3 cars were there.
In short, I liked it and would certainly go again - my wife was not so keen on the decor but apart from that we rate The View quite highly.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Don't be Put Off!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

I was surprised to see the poor reviews about the view. I have been three or four times for Sunday lunch and found the place just fine. The food was tasty and the portions quite large. The staff were friendly and the service just fine. We noticed that the serving staff seemed to be 'silver service' trained. I haven't really anything to say that is negative. The first time I went it was just with my wife, the second time a smallish family group and the third time about eight of us with children and toddlers. On all the occasions we had good food, good service and a good time!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

Great food, great location and lovely staff. We had a groupin deal this month and I'm glad we did, we'll be back for certain!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The View also viewed

Hove, Brighton and Hove
Hove, Brighton and Hove
 
Hove, Brighton and Hove
Hove, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to The View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The View, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.