We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and entertainment” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bali Brasserie

Bali Brasserie
Kingsway Court | First Avenue, Hove BN3 2LR, England
01273 323 810
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Bali Brasserie is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #13 of 201 Restaurants in Hove
Price range: $22 - $31
Cuisines: Malaysian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Best and oldest Malay/Indonesian restaurant in Brighton
Brighton, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great food and entertainment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

On the strength of Tripadvisor reviews, we went to the Bali Brasserie for the first time earlier this year and have been back several times with friends. We are delighted to discover a place which provides tasty, freshly cooked, authentic Indonesian/Malaysian cuisine, run by tirelessly courteous and welcoming staff. The live entertainment on Thursday evenings is great for letting your hair down and dancing the night away. I can't think of another place in Brighton or Hove that provides such an opportunity without charging a fee. The location is very good with parking spaces near by and the decor is charming 1970s. People rave about places with 'retro' decor, here it's the real thing. The Bali Brasserie is a real gem.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    30
    11
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Uckfield
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Website communication”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

I chose this restaurant on Tripadvisor ratings, and after a morning business meeting drove to the Bali and paid for parking. On arriving it was closed for lunch (except for Sundays) but no mention of this on their website.
It's a shame that so many businesses don't treat their website as a live selling and communication tool.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Tasty food and great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We came here on a Saturday evening, when it was busy, but not overly so. The location is a bit odd; in the ground floor of a tower block, and the look is very 70s, but it works there.
We had the buffet table. Which is great value, as you get two set starters, a buffet main and then a dessert. The buffet was regularly refreshed and had a good selection. The staff were very friendly, and service was slow in a good way. We never felt rushed, and we felt we had enough time to really enjoy the food and our evening. I would definitely go back again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A perfect wedding venue!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We had our small wedding reception at the Bali Brasserie in July as it's our favourite restaurant in the area. The staff were really helpful beforehand; helping us to choose the menu and drinks (we opted for a completely vegetarian meal), and making suggestions about how we could personalise the day, (e.g. with our own music and table decorations).
On the day we enjoyed a four course buffet (served at the table) for ten people. The food was delicious, the staff were lovely, paying particular attention to the two small children in our party, and the venue was comfortable.
We'll be heading back there again soon.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove, UK
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“One of Hove's best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

I've lived in hove my whole life and only just made it to the Bali Brasserie. It was fantastic. The decor is kitsch and old fashioned but in the best possible way, the staff are friendly and attentive and the food was delicious. We had the buffet table and it was really good. The price was reasonable too. Highly recommend this restaurant, or even just a visit to the bar

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bali Brasserie also viewed

Hove, Brighton and Hove
Hove, Brighton and Hove
 
Hove, Brighton and Hove
Hove, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to Bali Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bali Brasserie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.