We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Totally Authentic and Relaxed Atmosphere.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Archipelagos

Archipelagos
121 Western Road, Hove BN3 1DB, England
01273 779474
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 200 Restaurants in Hove
Cuisines: Greek
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
brighton
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Totally Authentic and Relaxed Atmosphere.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

First time visit to the Archipelagos and what a surprise. The atmosphere is so authentic that you can actually imagine you are eating at a taverna on a Greek island. The food is amazing, and plenty of it. The service is outstanding, and not rushed at all. I had Mydopilafo (Greek paella) for starters and it was superb. I followed that with Kleftico. The lamb was so succulent and there was plenty of it (enough for 2!!!). We decided on Makedonikos wine which was delicious. With baklava and coffee to finish it was a perfect evening. Would highly reccommend this restaurant it's first class.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    207
    51
    8
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

Me and my boyfreind love love this restaurant!!!! We only come here if we eat out and always bring lots of people as we love it so much..... The food is always amazing, it's great for picky bits of main meals, personally we always order a selection of tapas..... The price is amazing, always shocked at how low the bill is considering we usually have a few bottles of wine to, theo the owner ( I think) is lovely and has great service skills, always remembers a customer! My favourite is king prawns and mussels with their hot pitta or crusty bread and their selection of dips are divine. Although its a small restaurant you never feel rushed or cramped, it's a cost relaxed freindly atmosphere! Highly recommended!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A little Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

This is a little gem found on western road. Its surroundings are cozy , authentic and romantic. The food took me back coast of Greece, fresh extremely tasty basically good honest authentic food.The menu is wide enough with your traditional Greek fair and portions are generous.The restaurant staff were as you would expect polite courteous and extremely friendly. There are not many Greek restaurants to be found in Brighton this one is well worth a visit!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012 via mobile

Summed up in my title. Staff friendly and service great. Even when i booked over the phone was made to feel welcome. There was a great selection of food which were all very tasty and reminded me of my summer holidays in Greece. Went for the bit of everything option. Even had my favorite beer ' Mythos ' . Busy place so recommend booking. Ty for a lovely meal :).

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

We went there for our anniversary this year and it was excellent.
The food is delicious but more importantly the staff make you feel at home straight away. We felt very well looked after and enjoyed the friendly chit chat with the staff.
Will definitely go back!!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Archipelagos also viewed

Hove, Brighton and Hove
Hove, Brighton and Hove
 
Hove, Brighton and Hove
Hove, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to Archipelagos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Archipelagos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.