We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only good for people who appreciate intricate food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Graze

Graze
42 Western Road, Hove BN3 1JD, England
01273823707
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 190 restaurants in Hove
Price range: $19 - $71
Cuisines: European, Vegetarian, Contemporary, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: A short distance from the impressive Brunswick Square, in the heart of Hove's famous Regency district, the award-winning Graze Restaurant is a food venue of considerable reputation which appeals equally to locals and visitors to Brighton.The lavish Brighton Pavilion inspired interior makes for a sophisticated fine dining experience in which to enjoy the culinary magic of gifted Head Chef Will Stanyer. To experience his seven course tasting menus, for which Graze is renowned, alongside the inspired wine flights or to eat from the Modern British three course set menu is to share in a passion for flavours and an indulgence in the aesthetic pleasure of dining.Graze is ideally situated just a short walk into Hove and just a pebbles throw away from the sea and central Brighton. So named as diners 'graze' the tasting menus, Graze Restaurant is now in its 5th year, holds 2 AA rosettes and is rated as one of the top restaurants in East Sussex by the Which? 'Good Food Guide 2011'.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Only good for people who appreciate intricate food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Sometimes we order the tasting menu - which is always excellent, but this time we ordered a la carte. As usual, the food was really high effort, high quality, intricate cooking, but we were also treated to small extras such as a tomato comsume (pre-starter) and a pear soup (mini-dessert) as little thoughtful extras which made us smack our lips!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

80% Recommend
    167
    34
    28
    14
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Oh dear...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

My husband and I booked the taster menu at Graze (Saturday 22 December) to mark the as start to our Christmas break. To say I was disappointed would be an understatement.
We have always enjoyed taster menus and have experienced good quality, new taste sensations at many other restaurants, unfortunately not at Graze. The meal was over priced ( cost £180 +) under par in terms of excitement and taste and we were both disappointed with the supposedly accompanying wines that went with the dishes.

Pretentious decor, over priced and over rated. Will never go back.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saigon
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Limited menu, average service, poor value”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

The set menu was very limited and the service while efficient was not exactly warm or welcoming.

At these prices I would have expcetd something out of the ordinary, which this was not. Overall it wasn't bad but did not justify the cost.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great quality”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

We ate here on quiet evening in December. I think there was a private party in the basement, but we were not really aware of them.

We opted for the 2 course meal at £27 rather than the 7-course tasting menu. It was a very good seasonal menu. I remember the Pheasant breast with root vegetables and pheasant "sausage roll". The venison tartare was something I had not experienced before but was excellent.

Service was friendly and efficient.

It is on the expensive side, but the dishes were interesting and prepared with great care.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“fine food, average service, poor value”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

We each had the seven-course taster menu, and all the courses were fine. However, the service was only average, and given the location and premises the prices are too high. We had a similar taster menu at Maze in London which was much better value, with superior service and premises.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Graze also viewed

Hove, Brighton and Hove
Hove, Brighton and Hove
 
Hove, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to Graze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Graze, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.