We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent choice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westleton Crown

Save Saved
You added The Westleton Crown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Westleton Crown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Street | Westleton, Westleton IP17 3AD, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Westleton
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
1 review
“excellent choice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We booked a 3 day stay in one of their beautiful suites as a last minute break. It was a fabulous choice. The accommodation was on 2 floors with sitting room with TV and bathroom on the ground floor and a bedroom with double ended bath and TV on the upper floor. The bed was 6 foot and was extremely comfortable. The room was beautiful and we find it hard to criticise it at all. A small issue was that lovely fluffy towels were provided but depending on whether you showered or bathed you needed to make sure they were in the right room. Breakfast was served in the lovely conservatory and the quality was really good and the choice excellent. We had hoped to eat in the restaurant on one of our evenings and had seen on the website that 2/3 course set menus were available. On our first evening we asked about this as the menu was just an al a carte and a little pricey. We were told that this was only for Thursday evenings so booked for the following night which was indeed Thursday. When we were shown to our table the set menu was not presented and the staff knew nothing about it. As we felt let down we decided to order from the bar menu and chose the home cooked burger with caramelised onions served on seeded buns with a portion of hand cut chips. When our meals appeared the small burger was served on French stick with no onions and what looked and tasted like frozen chips. We asked for the restaurant manager who did apologise and agreed that the meal was not satisfactory. It had spoilt what should have been a very enjoyable evening. The saving grace was that we were only charged half of the £10.95 for our meals. All this said we would indeed love to return as the hotel is a special find and well situated near the coast. Whether we book a table for dinner we will see.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    112
    52
    39
    12
See reviews for
44
250
8
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Once again, I had a superb weekend break at my favourite Suffolk bolt hole. The only criticism I have is that same of the staff just need a little bit of customer service training! Waiting about 5 minutes at the bar Saturday evening while a lad emptied the dishwasher. It's called the 10 second rule! Just recognise that the customer is waiting and if you can't serve us, say so but go and fetch somebody! The staff need to smile a bit more, some did, perhaps they're naturals but the others might need to be told to smile. I still love this place, now part of a hotel group I think? Let's hope that the new mangers don't lose sight of what a jewel this place is. It's not cheap so expect good food and service. Check who was trying to cook pancakes on Sunday morning 13th July! He'd have lost round 1 on master chef!

Room Tip: The rooms are graded and all named after birds found locally. Some have big double baths and lots of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Stayed for two nights at the end of June.
Staff couldn't have been friendlier, nothing seemed too much trouble!
Dinner was delicious and there was a large selection available for breakfast which could be delivered to our rooms free of charge which was a really nice touch.
Beautiful garden with plenty of outside seating and an ideal exercise area to the rear of the pub for our dogs.
Would definitely recommend the 'Inn to Inn' walk from Westleton to Dunwich. A lovely varied walk with lots to see!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Have lost count of the times my wife and I have stayed. Something keeps drawing us back after 15 years! The team make us feel very welcome and as usual the fare is right on the button. Good food, good accommodation and friendly people. We are back again in August for Snape Proms and yes you quessed it, staying at The Crown.
Cheers and thanks G for another excellent stay.
M&S
x

Room Tip: Being in the small village it doesn't matter in my opinion which room you select. We always have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludlow, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

The Westleton Crown advertises as being 'dog friendly'. Well they are certainly that, but in our experience they are more 'dog friendly' than 'people friendly'. To be fair, some staff were pretty good, but others couldn't smile if you paid them.
At £140 per night for bed and breakfast it was hugely over priced for the quality and standard of the room. We have stayed in 4 star hotels for only a few pounds more and the standard here was probably only 2 star. Dinner wasn't bad but was let down by the service. We were left with empty plates between courses for 20 minutes whilst staff wondered by who didn't seem to want to clear our plates away. Breakfast was good with plenty of choice, but the service depended on which staff were on duty. The older and more experienced staff were fine whilst the less experienced ones were dreadful. I know that people have to learn but we would expect some sort of supervision for them so that they learn correctly, this was lacking.
We won't stay there again.

Room Tip: There are more expensive rooms, which may be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Spring break for two. Tasty diner, perfect breakfast with lots of choices.
Services minded staff.
Mice clean room with a firm bed
Good selection of coffee and tea in the room
Excellent garden, perfect for reading and relaxing in the sun
All in all we had a lovely stay

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Having stayed here both for a friends birthday and our honeymoon we thought we would call in for an evening bar meal mid week. We decided on a fish pie at £13.50 and fish and chips at £13.95. When they arrived we couldn't believe how small the battered fish was, no more than 6in and a small bowl with a few chunky chips which were not too good either. The fish was over cooked too. We told the girl who took our order that we not impressed and that the fish was "minuscule". Perhaps she just didn't understand but there was no comment or outcome. My fish pie was tasty, prawns and some sort of white fish chunks in a white sauce but definitely not a pie as the mash came separately, about one large tablespoonful on the side accompanied by some nice samphire.
Altogether not good either in value or anything else. Much better fish and chips at The Nelson, Southwold or at the average pub and much cheaper! More disappointed by the lack of customer care.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Westleton Crown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westleton Crown

Address: The Street | Westleton, Westleton IP17 3AD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Westleton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Westleton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Westleton Crown 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westleton Crown is a traditional Coaching Inn with origins extending back as far as the 12th Century. It retains the character and rustic charm of its heritage whilst offering guests the sophistication and comforts of contemporary living. With its quietly cracking log fires and real ales through to the 34 newly refurbished, stylish, comfortable bedrooms and imaginative menus we are sure that you will enjoy every part of your experience at The Westleton Crown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Westleton Crown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westleton Crown Hotel Southwold
Westleton Crown Southwold
Westleton Crown Hotel Southwold

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westleton Crown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.