We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent weekend break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westleton Crown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Westleton Crown to your Saves list
The Westleton Crown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Street | Westleton, Westleton IP17 3AD, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Westleton
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent weekend break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We had 'Tree Creeper' which was a large room on the first floor. Very clean and spacious and looked recently and well decorated. Very comfortable bed, as was the large settee. Bathroom/wet room very good and although the bath in the bedroom seemed a little odd to start with it was good fun!
Staff very helpful from the the time of booking in advising on the rooms available, welcoming us on arrival with tea and biscuits and being generally helpful and always available, but unobtrusive. Particular thanks to the restaurant staff in helping with the menus and seating for my wife, who was not very mobile at the time.
Lots to see and do in the area. Road busier than we expected and quite a lot traffic from just after 6 a.m. including weekends. Not a problem to us, but some of the rooms nearer the road might have been quite noisy at times.
Definitely worthwhile going for the better or best rooms.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the road are quieter and the better and best rooms are bigger
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    117
    54
    41
    12
See reviews for
48
264
8
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

The hotel is lovely, and the food good - if pricey for what it is, While the waiting team were lovely - the reservation was muddled up and the management attitude was extraordinary. Very much spoil the experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Having decided fairly last minute to have a night away we narrowed down to The Westleton Crown and The Swan Inn. We had a quick browse of the surrounding areas and decided that The Crown was looking like our preferred option as RSPB Minsmere was very close as well as being very close to Dunwich and the beach. And it turned out that Westleton Village itself was also very sweet.

We were able to book the very last room available and get a table for the restaurant in the evening too. All of this was done by very helpful and friendly staff who genuinely sounded pleased to be taking the booking. Already a very good impression before we even got there.

Upon arrival at 2.30pm we were greeted with a smile and friendliness and told that (as per the email confirmation the day before), our room would be ready around 3pm. We decided to go off on our bikes that we had brought with us and find the RSPB reserve.

After a few hours out we finally returned and were promptly shown to our room. We stayed in the Bittern Room. A lovely sized room - it's one of their "Best" Rooms and clearly caters for disabled if necessary. Furnished with a slightly shabby chic feel which we love and both the room and bathroom (wet room) were spotlessly clean. Our bath was tucked at the end of the bedroom. So romantic! The only fault with the room if we wanted to be super fussy would be that there needed a few touches of paint here and there. But this comment is purely for those of you that really would be bothered by things like that.

I, unfortunately, was not feeling very well by the time we were to go and eat but I wanted to at least try on our night away without children! The garden room restaurant was again very clean and furnished beautifully, but perhaps a little warm... Or maybe that was just me not feeling well!
When Annie came to serve us I mentioned that I wasn't feeling great and she explained that I could always order sandwiches from room service 24hrs if I couldn't manage a dinner. She was very discreet and subtle about it. I did order fish and chips and my husband had the pan roasted cod. I think he would have preferred a bigger portion of food having cycled and walked around for a few hours, but it tasted good and he wolfed it down. I couldn't manage to eat and Annie came back over to our table to ask if I was ok. She then took the food and covered it over with a cloche so that we could take it back to our room. She reminded us that we could order drinks from the bar and that room service would bring them over. Again, this was all done very discreetly so that I really don't think anyone noticed. This saved me a lot of embarrassment and was very very appreciated. Thank you Annie!

Later on that evening I was still not very well and having decided to have a walk around the village to get some air, I popped into reception to ask if the kitchen had some Ginger that I could use to steep in hot water to try and settle my stomach. The young lady on the reception was more than happy to help and went off to the kitchen immediately. She returned with a little dish of stem ginger and reminded us to call any time should we need anything else. I didn't get her name, but a big thank you to her as well.

I slept like a log!! I loved the soft comfy mattress in the super king bed. Just what I needed. No noise from the pub at closing time. Very peaceful. I felt much better in the morning!!

We ordered our breakfast to our room and it arrived at the time we had asked for. Perfectly cooked and a delicious start to the day.

We had no problems on check out like we have in other places with items appearing on our bill that we'd never had etc. It was all processed efficiently and again with friendliness and a smile.

Thank you very much for such a lovely stay despite not being well. The staff are a real credit to you. And the pub and accommodation really very lovely. We will highly recommend you and will return.

Room Tip: We were pleased with our bath tub in the bedroom. Romantic :0)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

This absolutely lovely old hotel is just back from Dunwich on the east coast. He rooms, food, staff and ambience make it almost monesterial in its calming effect, but that might just be the Adnams!
For those who love birds, your room might be called short eared owl, trickier to remember when they ask you at breakfast. If you've a dog, they're welcome too.

The area is walking heaven and this place a haven to return to after a good walk or cycle.

If I ever take a duvet day, it'll be here!

Room Tip: If you're tall, let them know. Over 6ft 2 and you might struggle in some of the beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

After ruling out the Crown and Swan Hotels (availability and price), we selected the Westleton Crown after reading the reviews. It is in easy striking distance of Southwold - but also gives you greater access to other nearby beaches, villages and towns.

To confess, I was reluctant before we booked - but It turns out that a certain William and Kate stayed here in the past - so as ticks in boxes go, that was a significant one!

The Inn / Hotel has been tastefully refurbished - and our room (in "The Best") category included a lovely free standing double bath in the main bedroom!

We stayed on a dinner / bed & breakfast deal - which was excellent value. This allows you to pick any item from the main menu, and not just limited to some "special" menu that you otherwise get in many places!

The staff are all very friendly and the food is delicious and plentiful. Service was great most of the time - albeit slow on our second night. (I suspect we were just unlucky in this instance in the food we picked - but a pity that the waiter didn't advise that the Pear Tartin would take an extra 15 minutes).

No problem at all in coming back here - and would recommend it to friends and family.

Room Tip: There are also a number of separate rooms in individual buildings around the side and back. May be g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

Booked through late rooms for a night away at half term. What a lucky find the Westleton Crown is. Lovely room reasonably priced. Simply, yet tastefully furnished. Luxurious toiletries and well finished bathroom gave the place an understated country elegance and quiet indulgence. Love that the rooms are bird names found in the area. Food was really rather good particularly starters and desserts and also great kids menu. Wine list with all you could wish for. Will all be back for another visit, not least the dog who enjoyed her constitutionals around the picturesque village.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

we came to The Westleton Crown for a wedding and what a lovely place it is. The conservatory at the back was a georgous setting for the wedding. The staff were very friendly and efficient. The food was very good. The hotel is in a lovely setting. Only negative was the prices at the bar.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westleton Crown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westleton Crown

Address: The Street | Westleton, Westleton IP17 3AD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Westleton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Westleton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Westleton Crown 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westleton Crown is a traditional Coaching Inn with origins extending back as far as the 12th Century. It retains the character and rustic charm of its heritage whilst offering guests the sophistication and comforts of contemporary living. With its quietly cracking log fires and real ales through to the 34 newly refurbished, stylish, comfortable bedrooms and imaginative menus we are sure that you will enjoy every part of your experience at The Westleton Crown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Westleton Crown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westleton Crown Hotel Southwold
Westleton Crown Southwold
Westleton Crown Hotel Southwold

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westleton Crown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.