We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty rustic hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westleton Crown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Westleton Crown to your Saves list
The Westleton Crown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Street | Westleton, Westleton IP17 3AD, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Westleton
England
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Pretty rustic hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Rooms are always clean and nicely decorated, the bathroom curtains could sometimes be a bit less translucent. The restaurant is lovely with a pub type eating area and another more formal section, great pride is taken in the food and the staff are always very friendly and helpful.
Lots of the rooms are set away from the main building in smaller buildings with about three rooms each. One of the rooms lead directly to the car park which felt a bit strange and made me instantly want to shut the curtains.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    117
    54
    41
    12
See reviews for
48
265
8
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

My wife and I and two friends stayed at the hotel for 4 nights last week on a dinner,bed and breakfast basis. The food was excellent and we were particularly impressed by the choice allowed on our rate, no allowance, anything on the menu.Wine list is extensive and EXPENSIVE!
Our rooms were small, our friends had a twin with a bath but our room had a very small shower room and 4 foot, six inch bed which is really not good eneough in 2013. Perhaps OK for a honeymoon but not for a couple both over 70 and married for 45 years!
Would go back but only if they had a bigger room, and bed, available.

Room Tip: Ask the siz of the room and bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mildenhall
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights for our 'minimoon' and had a lovely stay. The staff were very helpful and friendly and the food was fantastic. We stayed in the grebe room which was spacious, lovely bathroom with very large bath tub and a balcony were we could have dinner/drinks. Would highly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

The grubby dilapidated state of the entrance should have warned us. We called in on 16th May PM for a pot of tea and a sandwich,the waiter took our order and then tried to push a bottle of water.The waitress brought the tea and told us she had heated the cups for us, when the sandwiches arrived she had also heated the plates! The sandwiches were not very interesting, accompanied by a mean portion of equally uninteresting salad and crisps Bill for two £17--20

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We had a super 3 night stay with our dog. The room was spotless as are the public areas in the main building. The breakfast was as good as you will get in any British Hotel & the bar is cosy & comfortable. The restaurant extension provides a new & delightful aspect over the rear terraced garden & maybe rather warm in the height of the summer (if we get one!) despite the bi-fold doors. The menu is comprehensive & upmarket (as are the wine prices) but it is a shame that the stay was somewhat spoilt by the restaurant staff who were not up to scratch. Their attire was scruffy & there didn't seem to have been any training whatsoever. I had to ask to taste the wine (at £40+ a bottle) and then I had to ask the waiter to pour the wine for my Wife first which was done with a total lack of grace. He then argued about the correct etiquette!! This is a shame because the restaurant should be top of middle end & the staff are not.

We will return to this lovely hotel but may eat elsewhere.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

The owners and staff of the Westleton Crown are a friendly lot. We were delighted to receive an email over the Christmas holidays inviting us and the furry twosome out for a visit. So with the return to the world of work looming we thought we’d use our last day of hols to have one last treat and set off.

The Crown Inn is set in the heart of Westleton village. The Victorian red brick exterior belies the history of this charming inn, said to date from the 12th Century. Once inside there are a surprising multitude of spaces to suit all tastes. The main bar is set to the front and has the busy hubbub of a popular local and this leads through to cosy sofa filled nooks, and on into the modern refectory dining hall and patio garden.

The dining space really has the wow factor, with a large expanse of glass ceiling and fold back patio doors that must truly come into it’s own on a sunny day. The food is also tip top; fresh and local. The price range is definitely that of a treat so it was great to see new and interesting dishes on the menu, not just your standard fayre. Had we stayed for dinner the choice of “Rich chocolate Charlotte with caramelized chestnuts and yoghurt sauce” and “Fig Tarte Tatin with whisky and honey ice cream” would have put me in a pickle, but what a wonderful dilemma to have to conjure?

Having sampled the lunchtime sandwich menu all four of us took up station in the sofa area and let a pleasant hour pass in relaxation. There was plenty of room for the dogs to stretch out and the staff made them extra welcome with Bonios and lots of petting.

If that wasn’t enough to convince, the numerous dog bowls around gave testimony that this is a truly dog-friendly inn. For those of you visiting from further away the Crown boasts 34 elegant rooms in which to stay and dogs are welcome.

Being so near to the delightful walks on Westleton Heath and in Dunwich Forest the Crown Inn made for a great dog-friendly start to the year and one we’ll have to go back to again.

Review by Dog Friendly Suffolk

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Stayed here for a one night bargain break which we picked up from Travelzoo. Price included B&B for two plus £60 of vouchers for an evening meal. Lovely place, most of the rooms are chalet type but there are some rooms inside the main building. We stayed in an ensuite chalet type room which was excellent. Food was great and staff very good. It's in a lovely location. I would definitely book to go there again. Recommended.

Room Tip: The chalet type rooms were great for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westleton Crown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westleton Crown

Address: The Street | Westleton, Westleton IP17 3AD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Westleton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Westleton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Westleton Crown 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westleton Crown is a traditional Coaching Inn with origins extending back as far as the 12th Century. It retains the character and rustic charm of its heritage whilst offering guests the sophistication and comforts of contemporary living. With its quietly cracking log fires and real ales through to the 34 newly refurbished, stylish, comfortable bedrooms and imaginative menus we are sure that you will enjoy every part of your experience at The Westleton Crown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Westleton Crown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westleton Crown Hotel Southwold
Westleton Crown Southwold
Westleton Crown Hotel Southwold

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westleton Crown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.