We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another delightful stay.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westleton Crown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Westleton Crown to your Saves list
The Westleton Crown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Street | Westleton, Westleton IP17 3AD, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Westleton
Hitchin, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Another delightful stay.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The Crown at Westleton sustains a high standard of cuisine, comfort and relaxing ambiance which has led us to make 4 recent visits. We last stayed there in January 2013 and were delighted to enjoy the tastefully appointed room,(Plover) complete with sofa and fridge, the imaginative menu, well cooked and beautifully presented and the friendly staff; notably Coral who welcomed us at reception, Rob behind the bar, and Hayley and Jake in the restaurant.We like to go walking and can find enough interesting routes ( inc RSPB Minsmere and coastline) straight from the hotel to last us for a few days with nothing nicer than returning for a relaxing bath in spotless, gorgeous bathroom, a G&T at the bar, delicious dinner ( check out the Sole) followed by a wonderful night's sleep;superb mattress,Egyptian cotton bedding and soft down duvet.Cafetiere with fresh coffee, fresh milk and homemade biscuits to wake up to.All boxes ticked what more could we want!

Room Tip: Some rooms are a bit small. It is worth paying the extra for a better or best room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    117
    54
    41
    12
See reviews for
48
264
8
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

This is the second time that I have stayed at this hotel. It sits in the centre of the beautiful Suffolk village of Westleton. It combines all the best features of a country hotel, a restaurant and a village pub.
The welcome was warm and the staff very helpful. The room was spotlessly clean with fresh, crisp bed linen. If you want to stay in a hotel with open log fires, wonderful food and good local beers, The Crown will not disappoint.
We attended a wine tasting evening that included a three course meal, a selection of six wines to compliment the food, a room for the night and breakfast. I cannot fault the entire stay. The restaurant strives to use local products and the meal was excellent. Well done to The Crown !!!

Room Tip: We stayed in The Oystercatcher room which is in the main hotel building on the front elevation. Desp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We stayed at the Westleton Crown last weekend 12/13 Jan 2013, just fancied some time away from the house, so took advantage of the half price accommodation deal. We both feel this is the best place we have stayed in for a very long time. Everything met with our expectations with the exception of no hot water in the evening which was a bit disappointing, the room was lovely, so much charm and character combined with fabulous food and service. The bar area was cosy with a lovely log fire and it was nice to see people able to bring their dogs in too, the main restaurant was lovely and the breakfast absolutely delicious.
We like visiting Southwold and Aldburgh and would recommend this hotel without hesitation. The full price for B & B is a bit on the high side so look out for their half price offers as well worth it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We visited the Crown after passing by it on many occasions. We stayed two nights Thursday and Friday. The Inn has 34 rooms and each is given a birds name. The room was godd sized and everything worked well, no biscuits as promised though.We ate there both nights and although the food is quite pricey, it is superbly cooked and presented. Wine however is expensive. By a bottle if you are having more than one glass. The staff are friendly and helpful and the matre de especially attentative. I entitled thsi as above because william and kate staye dthere on their anniversary.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We have had one of the best Christmas breaks ever since we were children. Three night stay in a lovely, clean and comfortable room, excellent food and superb service from all the hotel's team. We particularly enjoyed the little presents and decorations evident during the Christmas period. Nothing was too much trouble and our only regret is that it seems unlikely that we will be able to visit again until Spring, then again in late Summer, seems as though we are always at ''The Westleton Crown''.
Richard and Carolyn

Room Tip: Always ask for the ''Best'' rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Stayed here after New Year, taking advantage of their excellent half-price room offer. Managed to bag ourselves the Short Eared Owl suite which is set over two floors and located in one of the buildings at the rear of the hotel with a small balcony overlooking the parking area and other rooms. Considering the bargain price we paid, The Westleton Crown was excellent value. It's in a lovely part of the country, the inn has a nice cosy atmosphere and the rooms are nicely decorated. Our 6ft bed was exceptionally comfortable and although the ground floor walk-in rainfall shower had superb water pressure, the upper floor large free standing bath was very welcome and filled up extremely quickly. Large umbrella and decent hairdryer provided so no need to pack either of those. A small fridge is provided in the room should you wish to bring your own bottle of bubbly. We ate in the v.nice restaurant but were still full courtesy of a large lunch so couldn't manage more than a main course each. Food was perfectly pleasant. Nice choice of cooked items at breakfast to set you up for the day ahead. We found all of the staff to be very friendly and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Is it perfection or the height of luxury? Well no..... nor does it purport to be but for the price we paid, there is certainly nothing we could realistically fault - we had an absolutely fantastic stay - and we will be keeping our eyes peeled for any special offers in the future that we can avail ourselves of.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

An excellent place to stay for discovering the heritage coast. We had a cosy and clean room, with a very comfy bed and a well equipped bathroom. We were on the first floor so in a building this age you have to be prepared for the creaks and footsteps above you. The atmosphere with the log fires in the bar, and the spacious conservatory like restaurant was welcoming. The breakfasts were wonderful, and we had excellent service - particularly mentioning Guy. My only gripe is that if I can have a cafetiere in my room, why can't I have one for my coffee at breakfast instead of having to catch the eye of a waiter? It's a small thing but really matters.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westleton Crown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westleton Crown

Address: The Street | Westleton, Westleton IP17 3AD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Westleton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Westleton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Westleton Crown 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westleton Crown is a traditional Coaching Inn with origins extending back as far as the 12th Century. It retains the character and rustic charm of its heritage whilst offering guests the sophistication and comforts of contemporary living. With its quietly cracking log fires and real ales through to the 34 newly refurbished, stylish, comfortable bedrooms and imaginative menus we are sure that you will enjoy every part of your experience at The Westleton Crown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Westleton Crown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westleton Crown Hotel Southwold
Westleton Crown Southwold
Westleton Crown Hotel Southwold

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westleton Crown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.