We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bar and lounge wonderful, rooms poor” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Westleton Crown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Westleton Crown to your Saves list
The Westleton Crown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Street | Westleton, Westleton IP17 3AD, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Westleton
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Bar and lounge wonderful, rooms poor”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here on a Friday and Saturday night. We came hoping for a relaxing Suffolk weekend.

The bar, lounge and dining area are beautiful with log fires and the wonderful smoky smell that accompanies burning wood. Staff were accommodating and friendly.

We were shown to our room and sadly the great character of the main building was immediately lost. The room was small, characterless and rather insipid. We mentioned this to the manager and she was very happy to change us to a different room. However being a Friday night there was little available except a very small room ('Tern') in the main building. Although small it was less bland and so we moved in. Unfortunately we were woken early by the terrible creaking of the floorboards overhead. The noise was protracted and significant.

So we went back to reception. The manager was helpful and was happy to change our room. However she wasn't surprised by the noise, suggesting it might have been the kitchen.

'Third time lucky' was a larger room and was fine. However the walls are thin at the Westleton Crown and we heard more than we would have wished of our neighbours. Not a wonderful night's sleep.

On leaving the hotel, at our request, the manager was happy to reduce the bill.

We enjoyed the walks around the area and the bar and lounge at the Westleton Crown. The quality of sleep was low though and sadly it seems as if the hotel has not adequately sound proofed the rooms. We would come back for a drink, but wouldn't stay the night. A shame.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    117
    54
    41
    12
See reviews for
48
264
8
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We recently stayed here with our dog in a gorgeous room and doggy blanket and bowl provided, which was a nice touch. Had a great meal in the bar next to the roaring fire. Staff very friendly and welcoming. Would recommend!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Market Rasen, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Just returned from a 3 day midweek break, lovely welcoming country hotel. excellent sized spotless cosy bedroom, large bath and shower. Instant plentiful hot water at all times of the day. All rooms are individually named after birds. We opted for the bed, breakfast and evening meal offer, which gave full choice of the excellent plentiful a la carte menu, with special dishes changing each evening. All the staff very friendly and welcoming, Enjoyed the local Adnams Southwold bitter, with other hand pump beers available. Ideally located for exploring the suffolk coastline, would definitely visit this hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We've stayed at The Westleton Crown twice now, and each stay has been wonderful. The rooms are spotless, well-appointed and very cosy, and the food is both excellent and plentiful. The staff are well-trained and efficient, well-mannered and very friendly. We notice how welcome children are here, and how the atmosphere is happy and relaxed, yet calm and quiet. The whole place is comfortable, and is stocked with books, board games and even a console (X Box?) in the lounge. The Crown is ideal for a winter trip, as the rooms are centrally heated (adjustable from the radiator itself in your room), and there are lovely log fires in the lounge area and large pub restaurant. There is also a beautiful conservatory restaurant, which must be exceptionally nice in warm weather, when the doors (and roof?) can be opened; but we were not blessed with such weather, even on our summer trip!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England Surrey
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

An excellent hotel with excellent young staff.
Stayed two nights in a spotless bedroom with a large bath and something special to put in it.
Additional ground coffee for cafeteria and hot chocolate with a lovely bag of the hotels biscuits are on hand in the room every day.
Great dinner and great breakfast menu.
The food was excellent as was the presentation.
A wonderful atmosphere with log fires burning in bar and lounges.
Location is excellent for Southwold and Minsmere Bird Reserve,well wort a visit.
Must say a big thank you to all the young staff who were very efficient and very very helpful.
Couldn't fault our stay.

Room Tip: Some rooms have low ceilings a problem in the bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

This is a really nice place. Lovely log fire in the bar. Staff really friendly. 3pm check is a bit late as I had a wedding at 2pm but they tried their best to get me in earlier and will do if you contact in advance. The single room was spacious and bathroom, towels, linen luxurious. I slept so well.
Breakfast was good though I was expected a little more from the homemade bread. It was just toast and served before my breakfast so it went cold quickly but this is nit-picking! Everything was freshly cooked. Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We stayed a Friday & Saturday night recently with our 2 teenage daughters. The hotel is easy to find, but tucked away and is perfect if you like a character building, with log fires, great bar and wine list, fab restaurant, lovely rooms with excellent quality furnishings, bed linen, etc and a perfect location for exploring the Suffolk coast. We would return tomorrow!!

Room Tip: Rooms in the old part of the hotel have lots of character but are well furnished, and very clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westleton Crown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westleton Crown

Address: The Street | Westleton, Westleton IP17 3AD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Westleton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Westleton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Westleton Crown 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westleton Crown is a traditional Coaching Inn with origins extending back as far as the 12th Century. It retains the character and rustic charm of its heritage whilst offering guests the sophistication and comforts of contemporary living. With its quietly cracking log fires and real ales through to the 34 newly refurbished, stylish, comfortable bedrooms and imaginative menus we are sure that you will enjoy every part of your experience at The Westleton Crown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Westleton Crown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westleton Crown Hotel Southwold
Westleton Crown Southwold
Westleton Crown Hotel Southwold

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westleton Crown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.