We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a public house should be!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of White Horse Inn

White Horse Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added White Horse Inn to your Saves list
White Horse Inn
Darsham Road, Westleton IP17 3AH, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Westleton B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“What a public house should be!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014 via mobile

Popped in on a Friday night, busy and great atmosphere, we had been in a couple of times before but Rob (co-Landlord) greeted us like old friends - proper landlord! Good selection of beers and well kept -important to a CAMRA member! The four of us ordered our meals including starters, all very well presented and good value, very hot! I love this pub and would recommend it, looking forward to going again very soon. Try it...

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    9
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
10
19
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lowestoft
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

What an excellent atmosphere, John the landlord is a real landlord, the reception was excellent.

We will call again soon.

A really great place to spend some time and meet the locals, again, John the landlord, is a star.

Best wishes to John and the team.

Room Tip: We only had drinks, brilliant atmosphere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Such a lovely warm welcome from the landlords John, Rob and the staff. The pub was full of character and had such a lovely homely atmosphere from the staff and all the locals.The room was excellent and very spacious for our family. The food was excellent and we couldn't fault it, the deserts were at a high standard and probably the best Eton mess I have eaten. The beer was a pleasant surprise for me being normally a lager drinker. Some local ales were recommended to myself by John ( one of the landlords ) and I have to admit I might be converted. We are looking forward to our next visit and would highly recommend this lovely local inn.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

This Inn is divided into the main bar and a restaurant area to the side. There was also additional seating downstairs. We stayed in the bar area and ordered their Cottage pie. The meals were hot and tasty with a nice mix of vegetables.

The puddings (Apple Strudel and Mixed Fruit Crumble) were cooked to order so had to wait a while, but worth it.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FoD
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

I stayed in Westleton for 5 weeks for work, and visited the White Horse most evenings. John and Rob and all the staff are incredibly welcoming and friendly, as are all the local regulars. The food was consistently good every evening, and there were never any complaints from the people I was eating with. Fish and Chips and Chocolate/Orange Torte thoroughly recommended! Loved the evening when the bar filled with a travelling group of folk singers, and make sure to have a go at the traditional game of 'Ring the Bull' while you're there (and removing John from the top of the leaderboard)!
Looking forward to visiting again in the future.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

I arrived at the White Horse Inn approximately 4.30pm on 29/7/2013 and enquired whether they had a double room for the night. The response was that we only allow a minimum of 2 nights stay. I asked if we stayed for 2 nights is there a room available and was told that there was. Due to the lateness in the day I would have expected that they would have accepted the one night stay. We stayed elsewhere in Westleton and was pleased with the accommodation we found.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob C, Owner at White Horse Inn, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
I'm confused by the 3 different dates in the review. However, we are always concerned if visitors leave us disappointed with our service. Our policy is quite simple and clear about bookings at this time of year. Our reason for not taking a late 1 night booking is that we do not have the flexibility of staffing to accommodate quick changes, and being a small business, 1 night bookings are simply not cost effective. This policy is made very clear on the booking facility on our website. This is why we do not use any of the late/last minute booking agencies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saxmundham
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Visited the pub this morning (8th) after our annual Sax Ramblers breakfast walk. Staff worked very hard to give 18 of us a lovely big breakfast. Looked after us beautifully, constantly checking that we had all we wanted. A lovely start to a stunning summers day! Highly recommend!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to White Horse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Horse Inn

Address: Darsham Road, Westleton IP17 3AH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Westleton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Westleton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly and welcoming country pub set in the midst of the quintessentially English village of Westleton in the heart of Suffolk. We serve excellent real ale, tasty local food, comfortable bed and breakfast accommodation, with unparalleled Suffolk hospitality ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your White Horse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage White Horse Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.