We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must return for a longer stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wydemeet Bed and Breakfast

Save Saved
You added Wydemeet Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wydemeet Bed and Breakfast
Hexworthy, Dartmoor National Park, Dartmeet PL20 6SF, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hexworthy B&B and Inns
Launceston, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Must return for a longer stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

If you want a place to explore Dartmoor, then Wydemeet is the place for you. Right in the middle of Dartmoor, this gorgeous house is the perfect location for long walks/cycles on the moors. We used it as a base for cycling and as you would expect, their are some lovely rides to be had. Our host Mary was exceptional. Nothing could be too much trouble. Breakfast was beautifully cooked and set us up for the day. Our room was particularly comfortable with open views. We are not normally B&B type people but having found this property on the internet with the offer of 5 star accommodation, we are now converted. Thank you again Mary, we will be back!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    36
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
22
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We loved this place - a beautiful old stone house in the depths of Dartmoor, magnificent walks - even a stream with stepping stones - a very warm welcome, good food, lovely, comfortable rooms and glorious views. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

As a small film crew shooting on Dartmoor over a long weekend, we found Wydemeet B&B run by Mary Hadow to be exceptional. Mary catered wonderful dinners, bed & breakfast and was not phased by our long working hour days. It was a delight to stay there and a beautiful and peaceful location in which to relax.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limassol, Cyprus
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We like to walk on Dartmoor so this is the ideal place as it is right in the middle, with great walks in all directions. There is even a boot room for putting on our walking boots! The log fires were cosy, and lovely antiques made it elegant and charming. We felt very comfortable mooching about when we were not out walking and the hot tub was welcome at the end of the day.

Room Tip: I have stayed in two different rooms and both had nice antique furntiture and were very pretty.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Super, super quiet. Just what we needed after the stresses and strains of London. Very peaceful. House in good order and all the bedding seemed to be new and very good quality. Lovely bathrooms. All very clean. Weather could have been better but staying inside we were cosy and cooked in the well equipped kitchen - had fun practising my Arga skills.

Room Tip: Front bedroom looking out over garden is particularly gorgeous - very comfy beds and lovely, fresh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wydemeet Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wydemeet Bed and Breakfast

Address: Hexworthy, Dartmoor National Park, Dartmeet PL20 6SF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Dartmeet > Hexworthy
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Hexworthy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
B&B in remotest Dartmoor, with hot tub. Totally secluded, comfortable oasis, surrounded on all sides by rugged high moor. Get completely away from the real world - for outdoor adventures, or simply relax and unwind, in a friendly family environment, with your dog if you wish. Five individual, beautifully furnished, superking, king, double or twin bedrooms, 3 en-suite, each with its own character, and all with views across the moor. Uniquely situated on a dead end lane leading into the moor, there is nothing to disturb you or wake you up, save the neighing of the ponies on the moor outside the gate. Scrumptious substantial breakfast of best quality local produce included. Deep carpets, heavy curtains, squashy sofas, original paintings, Egyptian cotton bedlinen, fluffy towels, luxury toiletries, gold-rimmed porcelain, ground coffee, fresh milk, various teas, TV and internet access in each room. Superb three course dinner in elegant dining room for minimum of four. Professional massage therapist on site. Dog and/or children sitting service available. Minimum two night stay on weekdays during school term for B&B; available to rent as a whole during peak holidays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Wydemeet Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wydemeet Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.