We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible rooms, bad service” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Kilim Otel

Save Saved
You added Kilim Otel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kilim Otel
2.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Ataturk Bulvari Sube Sok. Merkez, Sanliurfa, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 19 Sanliurfa B&B and Inns
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Terrible rooms, bad service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

This is really a bad hotel. The lifts don't work, the food is really average and the staff just don't care. Our room was unpainted and covered in a layer of dust. The bathroom floor and shower were really grotty, and the bathmat hadn't been changed for possibly weeks. We complained and they offered us another room but it was just as bad. Don't stay here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2
    5
    9
    6
    4
See reviews for
1
8
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We paid for a tour Glimpses of the East operated by Neon tours. From Goreme for the final 3 days we were taken by CEM tours. Final night wasn't in the hotel started in our itinerary but was the Kilim Otel at Sanliurfa. Had 2 lifts but neither working, building rubbish lying everywhere, dusty furniture and bedding. All rooms were under renovation, half painted and in need of a desperate clean. One person in the group didn't have glass in the window and others had a squat toilet. No one was happy. All photos on trip advisor are definitely taken a while ago.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Stayed in the Kilim on the last day of a 14 day Neon Tour of Turkey (Glories of Turkey With a Glimpse of The East) The last three days (two nights) apparently was subcontracted out to Cem Tours which are based in Goreme (Cappadocia) .
Kilim Hotel was way below a standard three star hotel.. Their was mould around the shower in at least two places and plaster on the floor of bedroom where holes in the wall were being patched up - but yet to be painted. The windows had only sheer curtains, not blockout curtains, which meant that you awoke with the sunrise, which at end of June was very early.
There was extremely limited choice for breakfast and no choices for the evening dinner. A disappointing end to what had been a very good tour of Turkey with mainly excellent hotels on all the previous nights
On the positive side the room was large and the bed linen clean, and the air conditioning and WiFi all worked.
After the end of the tour I stayed two extra nights in Urfa at the Macini Hotel which was far far better accommodation.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

Last day of a three day tour from Cappadoccia to Mt Nemrut was at this place... I was not impressed.
The hotel appears okay as you go inside, but is clearly very dated. When I was assigned a room I was not thrilled to find filthy covers, broken handles on the draws and a bathroom door where the handle had been ripped fully out of the door leaving a hole.
Yuck.
Dinner was a greasy chicken and rice affair, but was plentiful.
Breakfast was good, as was the WiFi - but didn't make up for the grotty room.
Avoid if you can - though it looks like the majority of visitors are billeted there on organised trips as I was.

Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

An overnight stay on a 3 day Mt Nemrut tour. While clean, the room was dingy and didnt feel pleasant. no handle on bathroom door (a hole where it was). laminate peeling off 1960s style furniture. power adapters across floor, double bed hard against wall so no access from one side. paint peeling and generally grotty appearance. The worst aspect was no upper sheet or blanket/duvet. Just one thin spread. We and others in our party asked several times for sheets and blankets which were never delivered.
Dining room - a great view but thats all. Felt like a dining room in a second rate nursing home or boarding school. Food was plentiful but all courses put on table in rapid succession and the main/rice were cold to start with. Breakfast was OK.
Biggest concern - one of our party was travelling solo, had a single room. Several times during the night one of the men from reception knocked on the door with tea, water etc which had not been ordered. She was quite upset.

Room Tip: go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

This hotel was disappointing and expensive compared with other local 3* hotels. We spent four nights there and experienced
Lifts not working
Room locks not working
Turkish style toilets
Building debris
Wet carpet in bedroom
The men at Reception were often not very helpful or friendly and smoked under the No Smoking sign.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denver CO
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

We stayed one night during our visit to the usual sites in Sanliurfa. Our room was old and would benefit from an upgrade. We also we given a room with a Turkish toilet, which was an experience.

The service and food was average.

The hotel offers free WiFi and is well located to many restaurants, stores, and the tourist locations.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kilim Otel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilim Otel

Address: Ataturk Bulvari Sube Sok. Merkez, Sanliurfa, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Sanliurfa Province > Sanliurfa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Sanliurfa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Kilim Otel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, HostelBookers and Venere so you can book your Kilim Otel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kilim Otel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.