We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Van der Valk Hotel de Gouden Leeuw

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Van der Valk Hotel de Gouden Leeuw to your Saves list
Van der Valk Hotel de Gouden Leeuw
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Veurseweg 180, 2252 AG Voorschoten, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Voorschoten
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the hotel in August as we were meeting friends who were staying at duinrell park. The hotel was fairly easy to get to from voorschoten station, it was a bit of a walk though, 20 mins the first walk as we werent too sure where it was. We were checked in very efficiently and the receptionist was very helpful when we asked how to get to duinrell.(Theres bus stops right outside the hotel that go to leiden and den haag) We'd booked a comfort deluxe with bath, room (through booking.com) and it was exactly how it looked in the pictures, although we were a bit dissapointed that the room didn't have a balcony (1st and 2nd floors only have balconies) but the room was clean the bathroom was lovely and the decor of the room was great. The bed was a little uncomfortable as it was 2 single beds pushed together(the booking said the room came with 1 double bed) but this seems to be the norm with hotels in holland. The hotel has a well known resturant and it seems people come from all over to use it as the big car park did fill up around dinner time. We didn't use it unfortunately as there seemed to be a lot of older people using the resturant and in fact the hotel, so we went to Leiden to eat both nights. Both nights sleeps were interrupted quite early in the morning as there seemed to be a distribution warehouse in the hotel grounds which happened to be outside our room and my partner got woken up both mornings by trucks coming in, palettes reversing and general loud chattering. The nice thing is in the fields they have a sort of animal sanctuary and we were really suprised to see kangaroos, Ostrich's, and deer amongst the chickens, sheep, ducks and lambs.lovely for the kids to see. One other negative is the entrance to the block where are room was, smelt very badly, like mould, the carpets could benefit a very good clean. All in all this hotel is very good value for money, we paid €99 for 2 nights, excellent public transport near the hotel that takes you basically everywhere. If your looking for value for money outside the city then this is an ideal hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    45
    17
    7
    7
See reviews for
14
38
5
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
uk
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Stayed at this hotel yearly. Standard rooms are ok, but the comfy-rooms are better equipped, especially room 319 on the 2nd floor. Plenty of parking spaces. Breakfast is excellent. Lots of choices, cold and hot. Great portions for dinner at not too pricey. One can help as much as one likes from the free salad counter.

Room Tip: Rooms 319 (comfy type)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

This was a stay moivated by practical reasons, I needed somewhere cheap and cheerful to rest our heads in the vicinity of The Hague. At 89 euros (through booking.com) for myself and two kids it was a great deal. Shame they tried to charge me 20 euros more for an extra bed (which was already included in the booking.com price). to be fair, this was solved fairly rapidly. Room was dated but adequate. Bathroom could do with renovating, but again, at these prices... Breakfast was a pleasant surprise, the most elaborate I've ever seen in the Netherlands.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyons-la-Foret, France
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Third time we stayed here. Spacious room, lovely bathroom. Free wifi. Free parking.
This time we had diner in the 'Upstairs' restaurant. We liked it. A very nice menu for 25 euro.
Overall the hotel could be a bit cleaner. It is a problem we saw in other van der Valk hotels aswell.
But we will return as we think this hotel offers good value for money.
This time we did not have breakfast included, we decided to drive to Scheveningen on the coast and have breakfast on the beach (9.50 €).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiden, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
336 reviews 336 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 146 cities Reviews in 146 cities
340 helpful votes 340 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

I agree with some other reviews: the corridors need some work, the building has cigarette smell all over....the rooms look like a box, a really big box though, but still they could add something to the coziness of the room. Also: the coffee/tea facility has paper cups to serve the coffee in... What's that about?
The shower has a 'green' shower, which is supposed to be good for the environment, but this one is not too great for showering, so they might want to look in to this issue. The bathroom could also do with some hooks to hang your bathrobe etc.

That said: we've been here several times and always had the Standard plus room. The bed is big and very comfortable, the accessories in the room are stylish, the room is spacious, lots of closet space. There's a lot of information about Voorschoten and surroundings and lovely magazines in the room. The whirlpool is really nice, enjoyable. It's clean and tidy, love the small balcony, the room is bright and the free WiFi is easily accesible and appreciated by us.
Breakfast... what can I say: really good, fresh, extensive, lots to choose from. Utilities in bathroom and coffee/tea in the room are present in abundance, so no complaints there!
I also enjoyed the animals in the pastures behind the hotel very much, don't hesitate to make a stroll!

Room Tip: Room at the front are just a bit more cozy
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nijmegen
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Stayed in this hotel for one night, rooms are nicely furbished, but smell of smoke, although we had a non-smoking room. Free WiFi, great shower, includes safe, minibar, comfortable bed. Breakfast buffet was extensive and very good. Plenty of parking space. Highly recommended and excellent value for money (we paid €72 for one night incl. breakfast).

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Milford, CT
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This was our second time at De Gouden Leeuw. The rooms are clean and spacious. The food and service is outstanding and there is a pleasant atmosphere especially in the summer time. The hotel's leadership will provide assistance if needed to resolve any issues you may have.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Van der Valk Hotel de Gouden Leeuw? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Van der Valk Hotel de Gouden Leeuw

Address: Veurseweg 180, 2252 AG Voorschoten, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Voorschoten
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Voorschoten
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Van der Valk Hotel de Gouden Leeuw 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Van der Valk Hotel de Gouden Leeuw reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Gouden Leeuw Voorschoten

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Van der Valk Hotel de Gouden Leeuw, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.