We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing extraordinary” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Noordzee

Save Saved
You added Hotel Noordzee to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Noordzee
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Boulevard 72, 2225 AG Katwijk, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Katwijk
Montmorency, France
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Nothing extraordinary”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

We paid 109 euros for one night (2 persons) for a small room without a view, breakfast included.
The room was comfortable but a little old fashioned. We heard people going back to their rooms in the middle of the night: so it is noisy indeed.
Breakfast was good though, if you have it late, you will miss croissants or other of the most tasty ingredients (some dishes on the buffet are not refilled)
We found it a little expensive for what was offered.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    12
    6
    6
    0
See reviews for
3
15
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Stayed 1 night for business. Nice hotel located just at the beach. Staff were very helpful.
Probably parking in summer season will be more difficult and prices also will be up.

Perfect for me on this occasion though.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

I agree very much with a previous reviewer.. Generally this is a nice hotel, with friendly staff, a good breakfast and a great view and position close to the beach - but the rooms are tiny. I was there by myself for 3 nights and I found it cramped. I have no idea what it would be like if a couple stayed for a weeks holiday. They could never get all their clothes out. The wardrobe (cupboard!) was barely big enough for my bits and pieces and there are no drawers to put shirts, underwear etc. There is a folding thing to put your suitcase on but there is no space in the room to put it. I had to use the only chair to be able to open my suitcase. The water pressure in the shower was fine but the shower curtain allowed a lot of spray into the bathroom.
Also the television is an old CRT version. In this tiny room they should get a slimeline modern telly to allow for more space. This hotel needs upgrading and renovating. 2 of these rooms should be knocked together to make one.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

The hotel is beautifully situated on the Boulevard, close to the beach and in the center of Katwijk, where there are many nice shops.
The hotelstaff was very friendly and we loved our room with seaview.
The breakfast room also had seaview. We will definately come here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2007

Positive:
- very good breakfast in a room with a wonderful sea-view
- good located (very close to the beach)

Negative:
- extremely small rooms! (less than 1 meter between foot-end of the bed and the wall, approx. 1 meter between side-ends of the bed and the wall) --> photos on website are not representative for the room we got
- uncomfortable beds (too soft underground, bed came up when sitting too far at one side!)
- hot rooms (despite outside temperature was only around 20° C)
- very small balcony (barely 1 m²), though with lateral sea-view
- very small shower curtain (bathroom got completely wet after taking a shower)
- receptionists not really helpful and welcoming (first thing we had to do upon arrival was to pay the remainder of the hotel bill (we paid a part upfront), hotel parking appeared to be full and no alternatives were offered, not allowed to use free parking spots of the hotel restaurant)

Conclusion: price (€ 105/night B&B) is far too expensive compared to what you get.

  • Liked — Breakfast & sea-view of the breakfast view
  • Disliked — Rooms
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Noordzee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Noordzee

Address: Boulevard 72, 2225 AG Katwijk, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Katwijk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Katwijk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Noordzee 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Katwijk, historicly known as a rustic fishermanvillage, has not yet lost its authentic sphere, despite its location in the heart of the Randstad. Directly in front of the hotel lies a clean and broad beach and just around the corner, there is a cosy shopping-centre with many boutiques. In the near surroundings of Katwijk you will find a widespread sand dunes and nature area, that is perfect for people who love to walk, and for the bicycle lovers there are many routes available. For a fun day out with the kids you can visit attraction park Duinrell in Wassenaar or the space museum Space Expo in Noordwijk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Odigeo, HotelsNL and Venere so you can book your Hotel Noordzee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Noordzee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.