We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful patio” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Savoy

Hotel Savoy
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Savoy to your Saves list
Hotel Savoy
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Boulevard 1, 2225 Katwijk, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Katwijk
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Wonderful patio”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Hotel Savoy was a very nice place in a great location right near to the beach. The rooms weren't fancy but plenty of space and clean. However, the room we stayed in smelled like stale smoke - it wasn't pleasant. But they are renovating many of the rooms so I'm guessing this room will be redone in the near future. It was room 8. Our friends stayed in 12 and it smelled fine.
I don't think there is air conditioning - but we didn't need it while there. Opening the windows to the cool evening was perfect.

The patio was a great place to relax and have a drink. A yummy breakfast was served every morning and was included. We didn't eat dinner at their restaurant but it was packed every night so I'm guessing the food is good.

One caution - when we paid for the room we expected to use our credit card but they weren't able to process credit cards - only 'chip and pin' cards.

There is a bus stop in front of the hotel so it's an easy ride to the town of Leiden.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    5
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
1
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

my wife and i stayed there in july 2013 the hotel was nice but dated. the staff were very nice . we were lucky with the weather which made the stay better but would go back again , continental breakfast was ok with a boiled egg and slices of meat and cheese and kept topping up the coffee, we found holland a bit pricey especialy the bus and trains but put englands to shame , defitnetley worth a visit

Room Tip: only a small rooms but was a small hotel we would go back again no problem
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

This is the sort of hotel you would normally expect to find in a Blackpool type area, not fawlty towers but could be if they tried harder! Okay but expensive in comparison to standard of room. We were in room 10 which involved climbing 4 flights of very steep stairs and could smell the drains from the ensuite which was a bit unpleasant. That said the location is excellent and the breakfast was good.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

A friendly small hotel-restaurant very well located next to the beach of the Noordzee.
We also liked very much to eat in the restaurant especially the fish ( Tong )
I should alsop recommand to make a a nice walk trough the beatifull dunes to the next village Noordwijk ( app. 50 minutes )

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Savoy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Savoy

Address: Boulevard 1, 2225 Katwijk, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Katwijk
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Katwijk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Savoy 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Savoy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Savoy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.