We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful to relax” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel de Blanke Top

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel de Blanke Top to your Saves list
Hotel de Blanke Top
Boulevard De Wielingen 1, 4506 Cadzand, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Cadzand
Cologne, Germany
1 review
“Wonderful to relax”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

Also in October it is an excellent hotel for relaxing with an excellent restaurant. Very attentive service in the restaurant, in the room and at the counter. Wonderful view to the seaside and beach in the restaurant and in some rooms.

Room Tip: Choose seaside, 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    46
    8
    4
    2
See reviews for
53
112
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Stayed here for the first time,all the good as indicated is correct,clean,nice comfortable room and bathroom (and quite).gorgeous beach view (despite the storm=was spectacular).Staff very attentive and friendly.
Housekeeping doing a good job.Had dinner although good,had some mixed feelings,meet was not cold but not warm neither.The people next to our table had the same remark(was different food....) Also the wine.Price is too high for the quality received.
All by all will return was a nice experience (85% satisfied)

Room Tip: 2nd floor rooms beach side have fantastic view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We had a great 2 night stay at this family run 4* hotel. Very relaxed atmosphere. Very helpful staff. Great breakfast with reserved table for every room. Good spa and swimmingpool, kids loved it. Will go again next time we go to Cadzand.

Room Tip: Very helpful reception desk, ask them for advise !
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel with excellent service near a quiet and beautiful beach. can be nice for couples as well for families with children. Ideal for long walks.
I loved the style the hotel is decorated , modern and cosy as well. The restaurant and coffee place are very nice . So does thd bar.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for one night in August. I was in the area for business purposes and needed a good place to stay overnight. Based on TripAdvisor reviews this hotel scored high - hence the choice so stay there.

The hotel is located on top of a dune, right near the beach. A small road leads to the hotel parking. Upon arrival unfortunately all parking spots on the hotel parking were occupied so I had to be creative to park the car. This is a bit unfortunate and not really what you want after a long working day.

Upon my arrival in the hotel the staff was extremely friendly. After a quick tour through the hotel the room was presented in a very polite manner. All required information was passed on in just 10 minutes.

The room itself is really spacious and nicely decorated. Quality of the beds is just superb. The minibar had plenty of choice and as a Nespresso fan I really appreciated the Nespresso machine in the room. The bathroom was very clean and well equipped, with the Rituals bath products being a very nice extra. The view from the balcony over the beach is just great.

I did not have dinner in the restaurant but I can highly recommend having breakfast at the hotel. The breakfast buffet in the morning is huge and excellent with plenty of choice: croissants, pistolets, all kinds of bread, bacon and eggs, yoghurt ... etc etc.

The hotel also has a swimming pool but as the opening ours were limited (it closes at 8PM) I could not try it out. Other than that I also noticed a very nice and large playing room for kids - definately a plus for a family stay.

This is for sure a place where I would return to if I needed a hotel in the area. A bit of a downside is that it seems like the town of Cadzand seemed pretty dead in the evening. Not a lot of (attractive) places in the area to go for food or drinks. You need to go to nearby Sluis for that.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Great venue for a 5 day stay on the Dutch coast. Hotel is situated right on the beach, we had a sea view room and it was excellent. Breakfast is good and rooms and beds were very comfortable. They have secure garaging for bikes which can be hired from a local shop at €9 or lower per day, free wifi, free parking and nespresso machines in the room. The only downside is the pricing in the restaurant Le Sommet, which along with upper end restaurants in the locality is quite expensive for what it delivers.
We had a nice meal there on one evening, but it was more expensive than upper end London or Manhattan. from then on we opted for the many good quality but cheaper beach style cafes and restaurants in the area.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We spent four nights in this hotel in late July - early August, which is probably the busiest time of the year for this hotel.

LOCATION




The hotel is located at the top of a dune, in a typical beach landscape of the North Sea. Basically, it looks over miles of a wide beach, the sea goes as far as your eyes can see and it is nestled in a wild dune vegetation. The beach is a few steps away, and a path busy with bikes and pedestrians runs through the herbs right in front of the hotel. This all gives a wonderful sense of freedom and a touch of wilderness. Although it is at the edge of a small beach town, you quickly forget there are other hotels around. Even though this was arguably the busiest week of the year, the beach is so huge that it did not feel crowded at all.

The hotel is about 15km away from Knokke-Heist and Sluis. It is very easy to visit the area with bicycles.

There is a free parking lot, and when the hotel is full, it can get challenging to find a spot!


AMBIENCE



From the outside, the hotel looks less than charming. However, as soon as you step in the reception area, you are immediately transported to New England, with charming tones of grey, earth tones and off white. The common areas are tastefully decorated with nice photos and touches of deco.

The only downside about the decoration and ambiance are the hallways and ceilings, which look more like a convention center than a hotel, but it is not too disturbing.


ROOM



We chose one of the junior suites, located on the first floor, with an alcove and a balcony overlooking the sea. The room is decorated in the same style as the hotel, and very agreeable, despite art work, which was not in sync with the style (photos would have been much better). We also wished it had hardwood floors rather than carpet. On the balcony, a couple of simple chairs and a table. Unfortunately, the bathroom, although fully renovated, would have looked more in place in a cheap chain hotel. However, the bathtub was equipped with a jacuzzi. The room comes with tea and nescafé facilities (I wish they would lose the Lipton yellow, yuck!)

To note, we had recurring issues with our key cards, which kept getting demagnetized...


BREAKFAST & FOOD



Tables in the breakfast area are attributed by room, and you keep the same one for the duration of your stay. It seems that if you choose a superior room or suite, you get seated in a nicer, more secluded area of the restaurant, which is very nice, because you are away from the crowds, with an unbeatable view of the sea.

The breakfast spread was pretty good. Lots of choices of bread and pastries, as well as savory food, although it seemed smaller than the sweets. No choice of teas, again stuck with Lipton yellow.


SERVICE



Overall, a nice service. People were generally helpful and could speak English. Service at the reception is quick and efficient. They will not give you help with your luggage, but there are some carts you can use. We particularly appreciated one of the ladies serving breakfast, who took good care of us and would get worried if she did not see us eat enough :-)


VALUE



As it was peak season, the price was a bit steep, but we still felt it was worth it.


IN SUM

Good choice to enjoy the beach and the great views of the North Sea.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel de Blanke Top? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Blanke Top

Address: Boulevard De Wielingen 1, 4506 Cadzand, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Zeeland Province > Cadzand
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Cadzand
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel de Blanke Top reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel de Blanke Top, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.