We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible service” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Bistro De Kluiver

Bistro De Kluiver
Kaai 6, Breskens 4511 RC, The Netherlands
0117-383070
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 21 restaurants in Breskens
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Holland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Terrible service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

The food was really good but it did not justify the 95 minute wait endured by the members of our party not having a starter. Dishes were not brought at the same time so we began eating separately. Enquiring about the delay in service to the female server was met with no eye contact and "It's not my fault!". A further complaint was entirely ignored because she "couldn't hear us". A special evening totally spoiled.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

60% Recommend
    6
    8
    3
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good value lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

This is mainly a fish restaurant called today for lunch ,food good service good and a very nice desert and at reasonable cost.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middelburg, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Lunch in breskens”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013 via mobile

A day making a tour with my husband we took the ferry from Vlissingen to breskens we walked downtown until we found the restaurant and we decided to take a lunch. We took fish menú or vismenu in dutch we also ordered a nice argentinian red wine malbec and nice pata negra ham from Spain.. The fish "tong" or sole is very delicate fish prepared in a gentle sauce with butter it comes with frites potatos and you could order more without any cost. The service was very good they don't rush people to eat. The price for 120€ with 4 glasses of wine.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“An enjoyable evening spoilt by poor service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012 via mobile

After arriving in Breskins on are boat, we came across this great looking Restaurant overlooking the Marina.
We were warmly welcomed in by the staff & were shown to a table in the window, with great views. We ordered main courses, which were very good ( mussels & fries at 30 euros was a bit pricey)
We were very amused by the Chef on tha balcony outside our window, who was painting the brick wall white. He was using silicon sealant to fill the holes in the mortar & to cover moss, before painting straight over it!!!
After our main course, we both chose desserts & coffees. The waitress came over to take are order, but after saying that saying that they had run out of strawberrys (which my wife had chosen) she just walked off !!! Returning about 15 mins later. She seemed supprised that
I just asked for the bill!

It was a shame that our evening was spoilt by poor service

A 1 cousee meal for 2 with a bottle of wine... 83 euros...

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Gem in Breskens”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

We were in Bruges for the weekend and drove through to Breskens to see what it was like - and came across this great restaurant right on the Marina. Lovely atmosphere and great view and decor, very good service, wine was good and the food was excellent - seafood a speciality of course. I had wonderfully cooked sole and there was good food for the kids as well. Came to £90 for four, including wine and desserts - excellent value and would definitely go back and if I was nearby I would make a journey to go there.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro De Kluiver also viewed

Breskens, Zeeland Province
Breskens, Zeeland Province
 
Breskens, Zeeland Province
Breskens, Zeeland Province
 

Been to Bistro De Kluiver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bistro De Kluiver, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.