We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing food and service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant Hotel De Kastanjehof

Save Saved
You added Restaurant Hotel De Kastanjehof to your Saves list
Restaurant Hotel De Kastanjehof
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Restaurant Hotel De Kastanjehof
Kloosterlaan 1, 3749 AJ Lage-Vuursche, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Lage-Vuursche
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Amazing food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Took family for mothers day celebrations and it was fabulous. Great food, service was wonderful and the whole experience was perfect! They really are on top of their game in terms of service and are attentive to every detail. They are also very easy about swapping things around even on a fixed menu which was great. They definitely will get a return visit from us!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    9
    1
    4
    3
See reviews for
3
16
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Our expectations of this hotel had been adjusted to a three star hotel. Despite the fact that it advertises as a charming boutique hotel. But we do not think that it even meet the criteria of a three star hotel.

On the positive side, the location is quite nice. Lage Vuursche is a nice little village in the middle of the woods. The building is a pretty construction from the early 20th century. The personnel is rather gracious. And they do an outstanding work trying to maintain clear the absolutely run down property.

Although the restaurant seem to claim local fame, we did not eat there as my husband had informed me that the food was nothing special. Still, the restaurant looked pretty busy at dinner time and it is clear that the core business of this restaurant hotel is in fact the restaurant. Every effort made seems to turn around the restaurant while the hotel is secondary to it.

There is not a proper hotel lobby or reception. There is not even a check-in desk. The check in is done, informally, in the small restaurant reception. Guests even have to literally cross the restaurant to reach their room. The whole hotel and the rooms have at all times a most unpleasant odor of cooking food and fat.

The rooms are tremendously outdated and no effort has been made in decades even to repair the most damaged pieces. The carpets are filthy and threadbare. The headboards are covered with threadbare, discolored and stained fabric. And the beds are so low that is impossible to get out without effort. The TV was old and bulky and the electric kettle broken, yellowed with age and filthy with calcium deposits.

The bathroom was absolutely disgusting. While is advertised to have both shower and bath, it only has a malfunctioning shower. The tiles have been crudely painted (and can only imagine what lies under the pain) and the sink console, made in melamine is pealing, chipping and stained with fungus. The toilet is old and stained. The hotel also advertises to include slippers and toiletries, but it offers non of them. Instead, there are soap dispensers in the shower that dispense cheap soap.

Breakfast is the Netherlands is always really spartan. But breakfast at Kastanjehof Hotel was seriously disappointing and expensive. Taking in count that the business pride on its restaurant and that breakfast is not included in the room price, you would have expected fairly good food. However the breakfast selection is minimal (two kinds of bread, two kinds of cheese, some average spreads and orange juice, coffee and tee). There were no waiters to be seen so having your coffee replenished or the dirty dishes cleared was out of the question. Children (5 and 8) were charged a full fee, even when their consumption was limited to a piece of toast and a glass of juice!

Besides the bad state and poor service of the hotel, there are some things that I found frankly dangerous and would't be surprised that they infringe the strict safety measures that business must comply in the Netherlands. The beside lamps were broken, non functioned and one showed dangerous exposed wires (which my 5yo son attempted to connect!!!). The wooden floor in the balcony has not been cleaned in years and the surface was covered with moss. My 8yo daughter slipped and fell really hard.

The owner of the hotel, who happened to be around is rude and bitter and does not even greet his own guests or showed any interests when I was explaining my safety concerns to one of his employees.

It is clear that there is no care on maintaining the property up to the standards it advertises. Instead the hotel seems to care more about promoting an highly inaccurate image. The hotel 'management' attempts to trick their guest into believing that the hotel belongs to exclusive hotel organizations, as everywhere in the hotel there are books, magazines and brochures of boutique hotels and exclusive restaurants, but the hotel is never featured into those publications. And the newest publication I could find dated to 2008! The photos that appear in the hotel's website and in associated websites do not represent truthfuly this hotel.

I do not write hotel reviews often, but I find the polarity of the advertising of this hotel and its reality is appalling. Me and my family are avid travelers and we have experienced all kind of hotels in many, many countries. We do not mind staying in a three star hotel. But the experience at Kastanjehoff hotel has been probably one of the most unpleasant ones ever.

Room Tip: Simply look for another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

Obviously, there are very conflicting reviews on this hotel/restaurant and the groupon deal seems not to have had a positive impact on the reviews- it's a shame as the location is beautiful and the hotel/restaurant does have potential.
The rooms are shabby and old -?to be polite. You walk into a damp, smelly bathroom which looks like one of those old people's rooms with two low beds that are joined together : nit very romantic nor cozy. The 8 course meal was average- starting with a loempia (very good) as an amuse, a rolled piece of veal I think - pretty bland, followed by a tuna sashimi (not bad), a lobster bisque (fabulous), a fish in a foamy cream (ok), a magret de canard (average), a blue cheese concoction (interesting), a red fruit mousse / dessert ( nothing outstanding). Obviously with a couple of aperitifs and 5 wine glass arrangement (which costed an additional 100 euros for the two of us) , I had a great time and the breakfast was good - but even with a groupon deal, the night away set us back over 230 euros (it would have costed us otherwise 335). Overall, I think I would have gotten much better value elsewhere.
Nonetheless, he location is great - so maybe it's best to choose your room and have a double portion of lobster bisque for your dinner.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

We bought a voucher from Groupon for a 8 course tasting menu paying about €30 a head I thought I couldn't go wrong with that.
Unfortunately it could go wrong.

The food was mostly bland and very forgettable except for the lobster bisque witch was excellent. The biggest disappointment during our diner was the staff, they seemed uninterested and it took us a lot of effort to order drinks, get the check or even to get some one to take us to our table when we arrived.
No one bothered to ask if anyone at our table had diet restrictions so without any explanations our 8 courses arrived.

This place might be worth visiting for a lunch outside on a nice day but I can't recommend it for dinner. Even with our voucher it felt like a ripoff and I can't believe anyone would want to pay over €60 for this menu.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

After hearing from a family member how much they had enjoyed their stay at De Kastanjehof I was looking forward to a wonderful visit, unfortunately this was not the case. There were very few hotel guests yet our room was of a very low standard, certainly not one of the many shown in the photographs. The room opened into the bathroom and toilet which smelled old and damp and the beds [pushed together to make a double] were shabby and frayed.

The eight course meal was good with a few outstanding courses but the portions were very small and would not have been filling enough without the good supply of bread. There was a distinct lack of joy in the service and the explanation of the food. All in all a very disappointing visit.

Room Tip: Ask to see the rooms before you book
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

My husband and I stayed here one night during the week before a public holiday. We were thoroughly impressed by the staff, restaurant and accommodation. The hotel is situated in a forest in Lage-Vuursche; the area is extremely peaceful and pretty. The hotel and the restaurant is classy and charming; we did the '8-gangenproeverij' which was an incredible experience - the lobster soup (kreeftensoep) which is one of their specialties did not disappoint. It is expensive, but totally worth it if you'd like to treat yourself to something special. The rooms are quaint, clean and luxurious and the entire place gives you a feeling of country escape. It is quiet and beautiful. The breakfast buffet is just as good with eggs, cold meats and various baked goods. There are ponies kept in a field at the back of the hotel, and numerous fields with grazing cows along the way. We saw a number of people horse riding along the road as well and there is a beautiful mini golf course nearby. All the people who served us were extremely friendly and professional and made the whole experience one which we will remember. We would definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: Additional Tip: It's not that easy to get here via public transport as all the busses stop runni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malden, NL
Top Contributor
257 reviews 257 reviews
220 hotel reviews
Reviews in 169 cities Reviews in 169 cities
327 helpful votes 327 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2009

Small very welcoming luxurious hotel (10 rooms) just in front of the future retirement castle of the Dutch queen. Service of the front desk was excellent. Take dinner in the hotel as it has an excellent and well known kitchen. In the small village I only saw pancake or similar type of restaurants. The breakfast was also very good. I don't know about prices for dinner and breakfast as I didn't pay myself.

My room was large, as was the bath room. No internet in the room.

  • Liked — Location in the wood
  • Disliked — No internet in the room
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Restaurant Hotel De Kastanjehof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Restaurant Hotel De Kastanjehof

Address: Kloosterlaan 1, 3749 AJ Lage-Vuursche, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Utrecht Province > Lage-Vuursche
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Lage-Vuursche
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsNL, Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Restaurant Hotel De Kastanjehof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant Hotel De Kastanjehof, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.