We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Minimally maintained and nothing to get excited about” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hampshire Hotel - de Eese

Save Saved
You added Hampshire Hotel - de Eese to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hampshire Hotel - de Eese
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Duivenslaagte 2, Steenwijk, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Steenwijk
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
223 reviews 223 reviews
210 hotel reviews
Reviews in 190 cities Reviews in 190 cities
185 helpful votes 185 helpful votes
“Minimally maintained and nothing to get excited about”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

The Hampshire Hotel de Eese is located on a quiet spot in the woods about 1 mile from the N855 exit of highway A32. To reach the hotel you need your own transport.

Built in 1991 the Hampshire Eese offers 56 rooms. The hotel itself is outdated, minimally maintained and nothing to get excited about. The hotel apparently hosts Dutch Joe Average who goes for a low-cost accommodation. The hotel was partly renovated in 2005 and rooms are basically OK.

We had a room with renovated private bathroom, room and bathroom were clean. Beds are OK. The window could be opened but has no mosquito screen. Free parking in front of the hotel. The indoor swimming pool is very poorly maintained and was not-heated during our visit in June, probably to cut costs. The sauna was minimal and in bad shape: a true never-come-back-show. Staffs are friendly amateurs.

The food in the Brasserie was between average and bad. Better eat-out somewhere else. The buffet-style breakfast was OK. We would recommend this countryside hotel to anyone who seeks simple accommodation in a quiet environment and doesn't care about quality.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    23
    33
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
8
40
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2011

I recommend you this nice and quiet hotel to all of you who want to visit Overijssel-Netherlands. The hotel was very nice, with private parking ( i could see my car constantly through my window), great staff, nice swimming pool, big room with bath, and the restaurant was amazing. I had a very good dinner in hotel's restaurant. Food was great also at the breakfast. So, if you go there for holiday,enjoy it.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2009

We received the WE from friends as gift check. We selected this hotel as it is a four star hotel (according to their website) and they have swimming pool and sauna. We looked at the pictures on the website and these looked very nice. When we got our room; it did not look like on the pictures. I would rate our room with best will maximum a three star hotel-room, no way a fours star room. It needs refurbishement, wall was dirty and bathroom seemed old. We got a room just above the swimming pool, so noise from some kind of ventilator was heard all the time. So after the first disappointment about the room, I though I could relax in the sauna. When I went down to ask where I could find it, it turned out that you cannot just use it but you have to reserve it, but for that evening it was not free anymore.
Just to say something positive as well, the bar area and reasturant where we had breakfast was nice.
I was quite disappointed as the info on their website and their pictures shown are misleading. I do not like this, so I will never go back.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, WI
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2007

We were motoring about the eastern Netherlands and found this hotel to be a conveniently situated and comfortable center for daytrips around the Overijssel, Drenthe, Flevoland, and southern Friesland provinces. The staff were helpful. The breakfast was your normal buffet fare, but well done. Our room was clean and comfortable. The hotel has a laundry room with a washer and dryer you can rent, which was handy.

We made our reservation via Hoteliers.com, which worked out well.

  • Liked — Location, comfort
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampshire Hotel - de Eese? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampshire Hotel - de Eese

Address: Duivenslaagte 2, Steenwijk, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Overijssel Province > Steenwijk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Steenwijk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampshire Hotel - de Eese 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Certified with the Silver Green Key. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, HotelsNL, Hotel.de, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Hampshire Hotel - de Eese reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampshire Hotel - de Eese, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.