We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good” 3 of 5 stars
Review of De Zon Hotel & Restaurant

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added De Zon Hotel & Restaurant to your Saves list
De Zon Hotel & Restaurant
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Voorbrug 1, 7731 BB Ommen, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ommen
Wassenaar, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
58 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

A solid hotel. Interior: modern design with nice paintings. Staff: good service attitude and polite. Location: on riverside; elegant dining room and terrace overlooking the river. Rooms: comfortable, good, soft beds, wifi - ask for riverviews. Bathroom: clean, big shower, bath, only one was basin. Breakfast: big, multi choice, fresh fruits and juices, farmproducts available.
Generally: location also near to busy traffic, road and riverbridge. Hence sometimes too much noise, also depending on the tourism season. But all in all good place to be.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    12
    6
    4
    0
See reviews for
3
17
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Utrecht, Netherlands
Level Contributor
109 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Stayed one night in this hotel and will not go back. The room was large, but near the fire door that made a lot of noise when closing. The beds are very soft and I woke up with back pain. Breakfast was oke but aldo overpriced, however coffee was bad and tea tasted like coffee. The room was not that clean with dust everywhere. I will not recommend to stay in this hotel as it is worthy of it's 4 stars. Next time in Ommen we will stay in a B&B.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Louisiana
Level Contributor
83 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

We stayed here for a wedding ,had a great corner room overlooking the canal and boats .hotel inexpensive for europe ,clean comfortable beds nice staff .ate in the restaurant for dinner and breakfast ,absolutely excellent authentic healthy dutch food .strongly recommended in a pretty area of holland away from the tourist areas .got there easily by train from schipol with one change on the train in zwolle .

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wormer
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

It was just for a short break but definately worthwhile!
You just have to try the "beachseats" at the river Vecht.
Clean, pleasant and royalsized rooms.
We would recommend this hotel anytime.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2010

We stayed here a nice weekend in november and enjoyed our stay very mutch! The rooms were perfect clean and the employees were most gentle. The restaurant is nicely situated along the river and the vieuw is super. We loved the dinner and have even seen the kitchen en we met the chief! It must be even nicer during summer!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, UK
Level Contributor
54 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2006

We stayed here in July 05 for a friend's wedding which was taking place in the massive country house linked with the hotel a few hundred yards away. The hotel was a pleasure to stay in - nicely decorated in a modern style. Our room was an excellent size, spotlessly clean and lovely and light, and the breakfast was excellent as well. We really enjoyed the terrace bar with views over the river...and the nearby windmill. I'd heartily recommend this hotel. Ommen is a nice little town too.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, England
Level Contributor
214 reviews
142 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 723 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2004

Quite a good hotel, but always overpriced. Unfortunately, there are very few other hotels in the area, and the main ‘competition’ in town (the Hotel Paping) is owned by the same people, so market forces do not work here. Alternatives are all fifteen miles away, to the west in the provincial capital Zwolle or to the north at the Tulip Inn in Hoogeveen.

The top-floor rooms that look inwards across the roof are to be avoided.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ommen
0.4 mi away
Hampshire Paping Hotel & Spa
3.9 mi away
Mooirivier
Mooirivier
#1 of 3 in Dalfsen
4.5 of 5 stars 90 reviews
0.8 mi away
Wildthout Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Hof van Dalfsen
Hof van Dalfsen
#2 of 3 in Dalfsen
4.0 of 5 stars 9 reviews
7.7 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Het Roode Hert
11.2 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Zwolle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Zon Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Zon Hotel & Restaurant

Address: Voorbrug 1, 7731 BB Ommen, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Overijssel Province > Ommen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ommen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — De Zon Hotel & Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel & Restaurant De Zon in Ommen is situated on one of the most beautiful locations of Ommen, directly to the river "De Vecht".Not only the location is unique, also the building ,dated from 1893, has it’s own special atmosphere. This because of the old high sealings, the modern looks, Uncle Henry’s Pub and the wonderful terrace with view over “De Vecht”.Find out yourself: De Zon is a dynamic and modern hotel & restaurant with a rich history.We are proud we may call ourselves Art-Hotel. In our lounge, conference rooms and restaurant we expose beautiful paintings of the famous dutch painter Henk Helmantel and the abstract, colourfull painter Jan te Wierik.Our kitchen is well-known for it's great quality. Our chef Arjan Bisschop and his kitchen-team a lot of organic products from our region "Het Vechtdal".We are looking forward to welcome you as a guest in our hotel & restaurant! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your De Zon Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage De Zon Hotel & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.