We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The warmest of receptions and wonderful service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Landgoed de Holtweijde

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Landgoed de Holtweijde to your Saves list
Landgoed de Holtweijde
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Spiekweg 7, 7635 LP Lattrop, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lattrop
Gorinchem, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“The warmest of receptions and wonderful service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I came here for dinner on the day Willem-Alexander was crowned king of the Netherlands. We were received by a lovely lady at the entrance who walked with us to the restaurant, and seated us near the fireplace where we enjoyed our aperitief. We ordered a 3-course a la carte meal. Mine was vegetarian. My husband was very impressed with his choice - lobster. And the trifle for desert was superb!

I can't praise the personnel enough. Very friendly, warm and down-to-earth. We asked if we could see a room for future reference, and they gladly obliged. Thank you for making us feel at home. We will come back as soon as time permits.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lattrop, Owner at Landgoed de Holtweijde, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you very much for your review! Sorry you were not able to stay for the night this time, but we will welcome in the same manner next time when visiting our hotel. Hope to see you soon in Lattrop!
Kind regards, Marcel en Marlies Vlek-Wijnbergen.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    24
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
18
63
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Stylish yet cozy public space/restaurant with open fireplace. Beautiful country setting. Charming staff. Pleasant indoor pool. However... there are alo many dated decor features throughout the buildings and our suite felt right on the edge of shabby, in spite of new curtains. Food was OK. Well presented but quite bland - like nobody in the kitchen actually tastes it. I only offer this critique because I think that if one goes with lower expectations they will have a better time. I hate it when hotels are hyped up as 5 star luxury estates and they're only really four star country hotels. This is a very nice four star hotel, with a good atmosphere - don't expect more of it. Don't forget to visit nearby Ootmarsum - a very pretty and artsy little town.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lattrop, Owner at Landgoed de Holtweijde, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Amsterdametje,
Thank you very much for your honest and frank review. We were surprised to learn that you rated us as five star, on our own website we clearly state we are four star. Your comments on our food taste will be taken up with our chef; see what can be done. Refurbishing hotelrooms is on our wish list, but we will have to take it slow in this "new economy" sutuation.
We sincerely think your review will help other travelers to make the right decisions. Kind regards,
Marcel en Marlies Vlek-Wijnbergen.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We stayed with a special package a weekend in this hotel and really liked it! Nice location in the middle of nowhere with very friendly staff. Of course one expects service etc at this (price)level: but they offer just that bit more that makes you want to return, e.g little bathrobes for the kids, superb breakfast and a free telephone "baby phone" service. Especially travelling with kids: they are well equiped from cots till baby chairs and the hotel has a family atmosphere that is very relaxed. Dinner was good as well. Please note that they have rooms in the mainbuliding and outside in cottages: we stayed in the mainbuilding and then you can walk in your bathrobe to the swimming/sport area staying indoors. My parents stayed in a cottage suite: a 3-5 minute walk: may be nice but all services are located in the mainbuilding so be aware, Overall: would definitely come back.

Room Tip: We stayed in room #10: mainbuilding and groundfloor, so perfect for a stroller and the elavator to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lattrop, Owner at Landgoed de Holtweijde, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thank you very much for your review! We are happy to learn that you had a pleasant stay with us and shared your positive response with all our staff. Hope to see you again soon in the middle of nowhere; it's closer than one might think!

Kind regards,
Marcel and Marlies Vlek-Wijnbergen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Stephens, Australia
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

Our first stay there was in 1976 with another one in 1978 and we had happy memories. These were not disappointed with our third stay - 35 years later. Although the buildings (and individual cottages on the estate) look a bit weathered, the inside is nice, well decorated and welcoming. Staff is very friendly and helpful and registering was a breeze. There is ample free parking. We had one of the suites in a wing of the main building: very spacious and comfortable with a settee, lounge chairs, desk, king size bed. Bathroom with floor heating, shower and bath and separate toilet. The room has sufficient storage space for a longer stay, a fridge, flat screen TV and a cupboard with coffee and tea making facilities. A - minor - issue might be (at hot days) the lack of airconditioning and the inability to regulate the temperature in winter. We did not notice a thermostat or something like that.
In the room and throughout the whole building is free WiFi internet access available - although the signal strength may be a bit low at certain spots.
There is a heated and failry large indoor pool. In the grounds are a tennis court, driving range and putting green for the golfers. Beauty parlour facilities and massage are available on demand.
The restaurant serves high quality meals with - again - friendly and attentive service. The breakfast buffet is sumptuous (warm and cold dishes) with "bubbly' for those who like that early in the morning.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lattrop, Owner at Landgoed de Holtweijde, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Thank you very much for this review, we appreciate your comments very much! It was great meet ing you, living abroad, but still remembering de Holtweijde as a place to be, whenever in Holland. The weathered look, as you call it, for the buildings, is typical for this region. Unprocessed oak wood is being fastened to roofs and facade, left to last at least 20 years. No maintenance required and thus giving the typical Saxion atmosphere to the house or building. Your description of all the hotel facilitie and service is adequate; we couldn't have done better ourselves! Hope to see you again in Lattrop! Marcel and Marlies Vlek and the Holtweijde team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

The hotel lived up to all the good reviews listed in Tripadvisor. Friendly staff, spacious rooms and calm ambience. Watching the bunnies (animals only) hopping on the pasture in front of the room terrace was somewhat soothing. Gym was a well-equipped techno application, just remember to ask the reception to switch on the power if you are the first guest.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lattrop, Owner at Landgoed de Holtweijde, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Thank you very much for your kind review. It is our experience that with increasing numbers of reviews, the mix becomes better and more informative to potential new guests. The bunnies (only animals) asked me to say "Hi!" to you. They look forward to welcome you again in the near future.
The Holtweijde team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

We enjoyed a family weekend here and were pleasantly surprised by the very friendly staff, the lovely location, nice facilities, and good food. The breakfast was among one of the best I ever had and dinner was also great. Staff was very friendly and efficient and especially very kind with children. Some quite specific dietary requirements were handled very correctly. We stayed in 2 of the well-kept houses on the estates. The only tiny minus would be the somewhat weird smell in the bathroom of our specific suite (not in the others), but since we didn't spend most of our time in there, we didn't really mind. Although I don't know the exact prices of all of it as we were invited (and didn't check afterwards...), I do find this a very recommendable place for a (extended) weekend trip -/+ children!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lattrop, Owner at Landgoed de Holtweijde, responded to this review, May 21, 2012
Thank you very much for your review. It is always a pleasure to learn that guests value the way we offer our hospitality in Lattrop. Marcel Vlek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

My girlfriend and I have travelled all parts of the world, and nearly nowhere have we found such an allround hit as the 'Landgoed de Holtweijde', everything perfect.
It is not the 6 star perfect you get in Dubai... No, this is genuine and authentic perfect.
The surrounding area is stunning (if you like typical Dutch landscapes).
All the staff is extremely friendly and adapts to the needs of the different target groups (if you are below 40, you will take down the average age, but enjoy the service;)).
The treatments in the wellness centre are very good and not rushed.
The food is Michelin star quality (not sure if they have one, but they should)
Then one thing about the rooms and the interior. It used to be a very traditional 'old school' hotel. The kind you find a lot in England and you either like or hate. The current style is a nice mix of these old elements (the urinals in the main building are classic, not to be mistaken for old...) and renovated elements. If you get that, you will love it. If you don't, you better go for a hotel that used one of these 'prefab refurbishment packages' to make their hotel a boutique hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Landgoed de Holtweijde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Landgoed de Holtweijde

Address: Spiekweg 7, 7635 LP Lattrop, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Overijssel Province > Lattrop
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lattrop
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Landgoed de Holtweijde 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wrap yourself in luxury all year round. Whether spring, summer, autumn or winter, every season reveals its splendour at Landgoed De Holtweijde. Luxury four star Hotel Landgoed De Holtweijde welcomes guests with its generous hospitality. Enjoy stylish country living in an exclusive setting and let our spacious tranquility, luxurious comfort, excellent design and personalized service embrace you. Welcome to country estate Landgoed De Holtweijde! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Landgoed de Holtweijde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Landgoed de Holtweijde, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.