We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for one night stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Van der Valk Hotel Hengelo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Van der Valk Hotel Hengelo to your Saves list
Van der Valk Hotel Hengelo
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bornsestraat 400, 7556 BN Hengelo, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
€ 5 discount
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Hengelo
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
57 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Perfect for one night stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

As with all hotels from this chain you know what you get: Big and nice rooms together with great breakfast offer and if you don't want to go out and eat dinner there is an above average menu to choose from. And it's priced OK.
This Hengelo facility is not different, it's good. The only thing I miss in general is a bit personality...both from staff and the hotel as such.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    61
    18
    4
    2
See reviews for
16
55
3
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Saint-Petersburg,Russia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

It's a good hotel. Clean, spacious rooms,bathroom. Very good breakfast. Good as well for lunch and dinner (reccomend to try special Dunkel beer - double and/or tripple). Huge free parking.
As a minus - located near motorway,so better ask for the room looking the yard.
Reception is attentive. But, they grab a deposit of 200 euro per day in advance with ccard!
Limited internet accees (2 hrs only free,relativly slow)
I reccomend this hotel for business travelers.

Room Tip: ask for the room overlooking the yard, not the motorway
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We have stayed here more than 15 times (!), 1-2 nights because of visits to our family in that area. Rooms are spacious and very good for the rate. If you like the area ('Twente') for relaxing and visiting (for shopping) the town of Enschede (10-15 minutes by car) or enjoying a green surrounding, woods and small hills: stay here and make some trips. It is not really close to shops, but now close to Ikea and those kind of stores. Breakfast and dinner are good. There is always enough and friendly staff in the restaurant. Bar has a good atmosphere and can be very nice if there are some more people for a aperitifs.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room, that is 'at the back'.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Overall this hotel is reasonable but leaves much room for improvment.

Highs:
Restaurant / Bar food is exceptional as well as the staff running the show
Big/Clean Rooms
Spacious bathroom with separate shower/bath
Flat Screen TV
Good size but usable gym

Lows:
No temperature control
No mini-fridge (outside vending machines only)
Noise does travel throughout the hotel
Internet is only complimentary for 120 minutes
Potentially long walks back and forth to the room, the hotel is extremely large
Location is next to the highway, which makes it noisy for traffic and increases commute time to the centre which takes approx 10-15 minutes by car

If staying on business or for a couple of days this isn't a bad choice, however if you can stay in the centre it's probably a better bet for shoppers/nightlife.

Room Tip: Ask specifically for a room not on the same side as the highway to reduce noise and if you're no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acre, Israel
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

Have stayed several times here, and always found the rooms to be a good size, clean and comfortable. Staff are friendly and the breakfast very good indeed. The small bar offers a reasonable choice of meals at fair prices.
The hotel is let down by not having a fridge in the room and no air con. I noted during my last stay that there was a kettle and tea/coffee, though apparantly I had been upgraded to a better room.
The hotel offers free wi-fi for 2 hours per day, and signal strength is not great, I always fail to understand why hotels at this level charge for internet. Apart from this I would recommend the hotel and it is by far the best I have stayed at in this location

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olimp, Romania
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

The good: big rooms, large bathrooms, big screen tv, nice beds, staff helpful, breakfast similar to 5* hotels.

The bad: no fridge in the room (mine at least did not have) and no bar, no tea or coffee compliments, no ventilation except for the open window. Do not try to take the phone book near the bed: it is full of dust. Overall: not very big issues and easily fixable.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southampton
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Stayed for one night, reception was very efficient though the receptionist was without doubt the most straight faced women i have ever met, the hotel is that big that I actually took five minutes to find my room, however the wait was worth it, big room with everything you will need, tea coffee, big TV, lovely decor, balcony, brilliant. The shower room big and clean with a large bath, the shower was a fantastic shower with loads of water pressure, a big plus for me.Having had a hot shower I retired to the bar where I met the complete opposite of the receptionist, the man behind the bar was full of laughs and really helpful. I ordered from the bar menu and had the house burger, what a choice, really well cooked with plenty of taste.Having had my fill of ice cold beer in ice cold glasses, i retired for the evening and had a very good nights sleep.

Breakfast was a gargantuan affair presided over by the receptionist more miserable sister, however the hot piping bacon and eggs, etc more than made up for this.

Nice hotel, sat on a motorway, with some very miserable staff,

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hengelo
6.1 mi away
Preston Palace Almelo
1.8 mi away
Hampshire City Hotel - Hengelo
1.9 mi away
Tuindorphotel 't Lansink
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Theater Hotel Almelo
Theater Hotel Almelo
#1 of 2 in Almelo
4.0 of 5 stars 304 reviews
6.1 mi away
Landhotel 't Elshuys
Landhotel 't Elshuys
#1 of 1 in Albergen
3.5 of 5 stars 6 reviews
2.4 mi away
Landgoed Hotel & Restaurant Carelshaven
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Van der Valk Hotel Hengelo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Van der Valk Hotel Hengelo

Address: Bornsestraat 400, 7556 BN Hengelo, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > Overijssel Province > Hengelo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Hengelo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Van der Valk Hotel Hengelo 4*
Number of rooms: 203
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotel.de, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Van der Valk Hotel Hengelo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Van der Valk Hotel Hengelo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.