We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kaatjes Residence

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Blokzijl
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kaatjes Residence
Save
You added Kaatjes Residence to your Saves list
Zuiderstraat 1, 8356 DZ Blokzijl, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Blokzijl
Mijdrecht
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Charming location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

The hotelroom itself is charming, nice ambiance. The Bathroom is plain. Very high ceilings make you feel being in a rich environement. A pity that they don't have evening service, so there is no possibility of having a drink in the evening in the nice lounge.
The breakfast was good with all kind of regional products.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    8
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
1
17
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leiden, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

We had a room on the ground floor, to the right of the stairs. Possibly the worst room in the hotel. The hotel was fully booked (there are only 7 rooms) so there was nothing else available. The room was dark and furnished with mismatched, very dated furniture. The television stand was broken and fixed with duct-tape. The remote control was missing. One of the bedside lamps was held together with duct-tape, too, but still was half falling off the wall.
Bathroom was tiny but okay.
The fruit and chocolates that would be in our room turned out to be two cheap pralines and some grapes, a banana, a kiwi. No knife to eat them with.
There was no reception and the man who checked us in left after we arrived at 6 PM. This meant there was no one to stop the very noisy other guests from letting their children run around the place at TWO O'CLOCK AT NIGHT. Meanwhile, the parents broke into the reception area (a cupboard under the stairs), turned on the music, loudly, and got a party on in the breakfast/honors bar area..
After we phoned the number for assistence in the hotel someone finally arrived and got them to quiet down.

Breakfast was at a large, communal table which was not what we - or the other guests - expected. There was one lady serving/cooking eggs/making bread which meant that service was not very fast. She was very friendly, though. The bread, eggs, meat and cheese on offer were of good quality but the selection was not what you would expect for this price, from a hotel connected to a Michelin starred restaurant.

Overall, we found this hotel very overpriced and in need of a make-over.
Blokzijl itself is a charming little place but a short daytime visite would be enough for a stroll around.
I would recommend driving on to one of the surrounding towns or villages for the night. Even if you could get a highly reduced rate, this hotel is simply not worth it!

Room Tip: If you must stay here - rooms upstairs are probably lighter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

We had a culinary weekend, dining at Kaatjes and the Lindenhof. Our base was this hotel , with a groupon arrangement at half price, plus discounted menus at the restaurants.

We had the honeymoon suite with a jacuzzi tub, The room however, could only be described as a large room, not a suite. The bed was very good, the bathroom as well. TV was mediocre (4:3 and small). Good quality linen and bathrobes were provided. The maintenance failed a bit as there were some malfunctions in the room.

The hotel has a feeling of charm, as it is small and stylish. Service however was only average, at limited time (until 6pm) and local knowledge (student, so none actually).

Breakfast was disappointing for a restaurant affiliate. Very limited choice offered, and no surprises.

The price point (270 /night + 23 euro for breakfast) is not in line with the quality offered. Only at the groupon price level at 50% discount seems appropriate.

Room Tip: Room no 14 is the honeymoon suite, with a very large jacuzzi
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruxelles
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

We had a reservation to this hotel by means of a Groupon ticket. I have to say that it was an extremely nice surprise to be there for 1 night.

We got a very spacious room, with a big double bed, very comfortable pillows. The room has AC & TV, bathroom and separate toilet. We had a very nice view over the water which is nearby.

Breakfast is served in a spacious room with all the guests around the same table, since there are only 7 rooms in the whole hotel. There is a good choice for breakfast. What I like the most is that one can enjoy his/her breakfast or at least the coffee outside on the terrace, by the water.

A thing that might be a bit incovenient: check in is opened only until 19h. After that time there is nobody in the hotel, apart from the guests.

Blokzijl is a cosy town by the water.There are many activities which one can do, but the first two worth mentioning: biking and taking a boat along the small channells.

All in all, I fully recommend this destination for a weekend.

Room Tip: Book well in advance, as apparently it is a famous and looked for hotel in NL.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2010

Travelling with our 12-year old daughter we opted for the family room, actually a good-sized deluxe room plus a separate plain single room connected by a hallway.
The arrangement worked well for us, also due to the overall charm of the hotel. The surprising water view terrace, a good-sized living room open to guests from all 7 rooms, honor bar and a very nice breakfast would have made this a pleasant place to stay under any circumstances. Very welcoming hosts made it a memorable stay, we look forward to returning there.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zutphen
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2010

Small luxury hotel in a charming building in the centre of the picturesque harbour town Blokzijl, with a very personal and homy character. The hotel has a very cosy lounge and a nice terrace with garden near the lock, where you can watch the small (pleasure) yachts passing by.
We stayed in room nr. 5, the so called "lilac room"; a very nice, stylish and cosy room with heigh ceilings, a nice double bed and all the comfort you need. Bathroom with bath and a separate toilet. All very clean. Fluffy towels, bathrobes, slippers and nice bathroom amenities.
In the morning, breakfast is served at your table or, depending on the weather, outside.
Free parking near the hotel.
For an excellent gastronomical diner, you can go to Restaurant 'Kaatje bij de Sluis' (1 Michelin star), which is at the opposite of the lock.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kaatjes Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaatjes Residence

Address: Zuiderstraat 1, 8356 DZ Blokzijl, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Overijssel Province > Blokzijl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Blokzijl
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kaatjes Residence was built in 1860 as a private house. It was put into use as a hotel in 1985. Recently the building was thoroughly modernized. The residence is a small luxury hotel with 6 rooms with every conceivable modcon and a suite with Jacuzzi and has a beautiful garden. Situated at the locks of Blokzijl, a pearl of the old Zuiderzee, is a true paradise for many a tourist. The harbor area is a lively place. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kaatjes Residence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.