We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good option near Amsterdam but cheaper” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Van der Valk Purmerend

Save Saved
You added Van der Valk Purmerend to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Van der Valk Purmerend
Purmerenderweg 232, 1461 DN Zuidoostbeemster, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good option near Amsterdam but cheaper”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

The staff was very friendly, the bed was very comfortable and the heater worked great. The neighborhood was very quiet as it is in a small town. The design is a little bit old but matches with the town. It was also very clean and tidy.

The only bad thing I could say about it is that the breakfast was too expensive for what they offered.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    12
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
9
3
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Zwolle, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

We stayed here for one night as we were attending a concert at P3 which is about a 15 minute walk away. I made the reservation for this hotel as I had stayed here before, but I felt that the room we had was a bit on the shabby side, with paintwork needing attention and the bathroom was a little outdated.

However, we had a comfortable stay, the room was clean and bright, but the sun does shine directly into the room, so when we arrived, it was like a sauna.

We didn't have breakfast here, so can't comment on that.

A good nights stay for a very good price.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

Nine of us stayed at this Hotel as we had a party in Purmerend. A delightful hotel; nice and clean and tidy and the staff were very helpful indeed. We didn't eat in the hotel at all, merely having drinks, but the Restaurant looked lovely. A short walk into Purmerend so very well positioned. Would not hesitate to stay there again.

Room Tip: None of us had a problem with any of the rooms that we had - no problem with noise element at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bicester
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

Excellent breakfast, comfy and clean rooms, helpful staff and excellent value for money. An easy walk into town and very pleasant spot. Didn't eat in the restaurant in the evening, but it seemed popular.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Landgraaf, The Netherlands
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

The hotel was old and not idyllic... some places in the world are charming because of their age... NOT this hotel. The rooms were too small ( I stayed in at least 5 different Vander Valks and this was the absolute worst. The staff was uninterested, not capable, not to be found when needed and actually rude.
The breakfast was ok, the scrambled eggs though absolute uneatable. Hard, burned and the staff didnt want to change it either, because "its still enough present".
The surroundings were ok, although you had to walk a while to find it...
Actually NOT to recommend ever...

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Zuidoostbeemster hotels

Burke, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Our very drab room was right off the dining room with windows towards the main entrance - for privacy, the brown curtains had to be closed. Lighting was poor and the decor (carpet, bedspread, etc appeared very worn and ugly. The bathroom needed a complete overhaul. The plastic towel rack was loose and came off repeatedly, so that the towels were in constant danger of falling into the toilet bowl underneath. One had to be careful washing one's face in the tiny sink as to not bump into the mirror board right above. Maintenance seemed to be missing.
On the positive side, the restaurant was comfortable and the staff friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: May be we got the worst room in the hotel since there were just a couple off the dining room and we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We are a Australian couple travelling Europe for 6 months, this hotel appears very nice but the staff are not happy or welcoming...we arrived 9.30am for breakfast one morning and it was very basic, I requested cold meat and was told abruptly breakfast is nearly finished?? Not good morning or hello etc, the room was very basic with the most awful bed spread on the bed, if they just took the bed spread off it would be a better appearance...the bathroom was tiny and water would not regulate was either cold or hot (room 28)...We do not recommend this hotel for tourists. Purmarent locals support this hotel and are made welcome.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Van der Valk Purmerend? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Van der Valk Purmerend

Address: Purmerenderweg 232, 1461 DN Zuidoostbeemster, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Zuidoostbeemster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Zuidoostbeemst...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelsNL, Hotel.de, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Van der Valk Purmerend reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Van der Valk Purmerend, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.