We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not for tourists” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Van der Valk Purmerend

Save Saved
You added Van der Valk Purmerend to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Van der Valk Purmerend
Purmerenderweg 232, 1461 DN Zuidoostbeemster, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Perth
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Not for tourists”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We are a Australian couple travelling Europe for 6 months, this hotel appears very nice but the staff are not happy or welcoming...we arrived 9.30am for breakfast one morning and it was very basic, I requested cold meat and was told abruptly breakfast is nearly finished?? Not good morning or hello etc, the room was very basic with the most awful bed spread on the bed, if they just took the bed spread off it would be a better appearance...the bathroom was tiny and water would not regulate was either cold or hot (room 28)...We do not recommend this hotel for tourists. Purmarent locals support this hotel and are made welcome.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    12
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
9
3
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
fife
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel whilst on a weekend break visiting a friend who stayed in pummerend. There was a party of 5 and we booked 3 rooms. Our friend booked the hotel on our behalf. The hotel was close to restaurants and shops and all within walking distance. My friend picked us up so I can't comment on easiness too public transport.
Staff are pleasant although I found them to be slow on asking for requests.
The room itself was very basic, the bed was comfortable but it was 2 single beds pushed together and into a double bed. The window didn't close but didn't cause a problem as the weather was ok but i would imagine if it was winter, it might cause a problem. There was no dressing table with mirror or a plug nearby that was suitable too use for any hair drying.
One thing was that there was no tea/coffee making facilities which is a first and this is something that should be considered.

We had breakfast on the second morning and found there was lots to choose from and fresh, no complaints there.

It is not a hotel for 'tourists' I would say and I found it to be overpriced compared too what we received. The only bonus was free wi fi.
If I was to return, it possibly would consider returning if the price was right but I would definitely consider other hotels first.



Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Purmerend
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

The location is good, free parking and a cosy restaurant. The food is good and so is the ambiance. Staff is friendly but not professional. We made a table reservation in the serre, it was not ready. Waiting on another table but no excuse. Long time to wait for the menu and for the dishes and for the bill

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Stephens, Australia
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

This must be one of the smaller Van der Valk hotels in the Netherlands. Most of them are huge! But with this small scale comes its special character: comfortable and friendly. The rooms (standard) are not big but big enough for a one or two nights stay. The bed is good and the bathroom has a bath with shower.
One thing we are missing in dutch hotels (and Van der Valk is not the only one lacking it) is coffee and tea making facilities.
The restaurant is fairly small although seating capacity can be extended as there are extensions and meeting rooms available. Food is good and service friendly and efficient.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere, Finland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

We came over for business in this area and there are not too many hotels near by. It took a train connection from the airport to the Amsterdam Centraal and then by bus to Purmerend. The hotel staff is friendly and the breakfast tasty, thou not included in the room price. Wi-fi is free, unlike their web site is informing. We had our room in the 2nd floor and the stairs were very steep. So, be careful, if you have problems with mobility. The room itself was nice and cosy. There is also a good parking lot, so the hotel is very handy in all respects.

Room Tip: The same floor as the reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

Location-Good.
Service- Very good.
WIFI- Free.
Cleanliness- very good.
Rooms- Big, clean, worm with nice bads.
Hotel resturant- tasty food for fair price and very nice breakfast.
Summarize- Recommend for business trips and trip in these area.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zwolle, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

Stayed here for one night. Hotel is easily acessible from the main Purmerend Station, the taxi costs just 7 euros.

Room is very spacious, the bed is two single beds pushed together. Bathroom is very nice as well.

There is a flat screen TV with plenty of channels, thing about Dutch TV is that a lot of their programmes are English/American with Dutch subtitles, so there is plenty to watch.

I didn't have breakfast here, so can't comment, but the check out time is 12pm, so its good to know you don't have to rush around to check out early in the morning.

Brilliant hotel, would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Van der Valk Purmerend? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Van der Valk Purmerend

Address: Purmerenderweg 232, 1461 DN Zuidoostbeemster, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Zuidoostbeemster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Zuidoostbeemst...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelsNL, Hotel.de and Hotels.com so you can book your Van der Valk Purmerend reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Van der Valk Purmerend, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;