We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good quality” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Van der Valk Purmerend

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Van der Valk Purmerend to your Saves list
Van der Valk Purmerend
Purmerenderweg 232, 1461 DN Zuidoostbeemster, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Purmerend
Top Contributor
185 reviews 185 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Good quality”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

The location is good, free parking and a cosy restaurant. The food is good and so is the ambiance. Staff is friendly but not professional. We made a table reservation in the serre, it was not ready. Waiting on another table but no excuse. Long time to wait for the menu and for the dishes and for the bill

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    13
    12
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
11
3
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Port Stephens, Australia
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

This must be one of the smaller Van der Valk hotels in the Netherlands. Most of them are huge! But with this small scale comes its special character: comfortable and friendly. The rooms (standard) are not big but big enough for a one or two nights stay. The bed is good and the bathroom has a bath with shower.
One thing we are missing in dutch hotels (and Van der Valk is not the only one lacking it) is coffee and tea making facilities.
The restaurant is fairly small although seating capacity can be extended as there are extensions and meeting rooms available. Food is good and service friendly and efficient.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere, Finland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

We came over for business in this area and there are not too many hotels near by. It took a train connection from the airport to the Amsterdam Centraal and then by bus to Purmerend. The hotel staff is friendly and the breakfast tasty, thou not included in the room price. Wi-fi is free, unlike their web site is informing. We had our room in the 2nd floor and the stairs were very steep. So, be careful, if you have problems with mobility. The room itself was nice and cosy. There is also a good parking lot, so the hotel is very handy in all respects.

Room Tip: The same floor as the reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

Location-Good.
Service- Very good.
WIFI- Free.
Cleanliness- very good.
Rooms- Big, clean, worm with nice bads.
Hotel resturant- tasty food for fair price and very nice breakfast.
Summarize- Recommend for business trips and trip in these area.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zwolle, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

Stayed here for one night. Hotel is easily acessible from the main Purmerend Station, the taxi costs just 7 euros.

Room is very spacious, the bed is two single beds pushed together. Bathroom is very nice as well.

There is a flat screen TV with plenty of channels, thing about Dutch TV is that a lot of their programmes are English/American with Dutch subtitles, so there is plenty to watch.

I didn't have breakfast here, so can't comment, but the check out time is 12pm, so its good to know you don't have to rush around to check out early in the morning.

Brilliant hotel, would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nieuwegein, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
114 hotel reviews
Reviews in 110 cities Reviews in 110 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2009

Van der Valk is not widely known for their indulging resorts, neither do they have a bad reputation, it is mostly plain average. Van der Valk Purmerend is just the same like the others, an average hotel. The rooms are good, the beds are okay, there is tv and a bath and this hotel is situated near to Purmerend centre and a canal, so these are all good things. Besides I ate the best salmon in the restaurant that I ate in a long time so I can highly recommend eating in the restaurant. The breakfast is okay. So why is it average? You can't help but thinking that you are just one of the many visitors, the staff is not very personally involved with you, and from the 2 times I stayed there they forgot my wake-up call at least once and did not even want to admit it when I said something about it. You just can not escape the feeling that you would rather be at home then staying in this hotel, and that is not a positive point. Still compared to my other hotel in Purmerend, the Burggolf Hampshire Hotel, this one is definitally the better one, if you are not into playing golf. Since there are not a lot hotels in the Purmerend area, and if you can stand the staff neglecting you, then you can try this, but don't expect a romantic, warm and cosy hotel.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2008

I have stayed in this hotel twice. It's part of the van der valk chain which usually has good value and good rooms. This is one of their smallest hotels. Staff is nice and helpfull, restaurant is good, but small. There is plenty of free parking. The rooms are comfortable. The first time I stayed there in 2005 I found the room somewhat small, but still ok. The second time I ordered a room with jaccuzi but
the reception gave me a room with a bubble bath which is ofcourse something very different. However they did take my complaint serious and gave me a small discount. All in all I prefer the larger van der valk hotels. The price is about 80 euro a night. Breakfast buffet is good with freshly squeezed orange juice. This hotel is about 25 kilometers from the center of Amsterdam.

  • Liked — fair prices, room is comfortable
  • Disliked — small place, no much to do
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Van der Valk Purmerend? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Van der Valk Purmerend

Address: Purmerenderweg 232, 1461 DN Zuidoostbeemster, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Zuidoostbeemster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Zuidoostbeemst...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Van der Valk Purmerend reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Van der Valk Purmerend, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.