We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Old Castle for Modern Guests” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fort Resort Beemster

Fort Resort Beemster
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Fort Resort Beemster to your Saves list
Fort Resort Beemster
Nekkerweg 24, 1461 Zuidoostbeemster, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Lugano, Ticino, Switzerland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“An Old Castle for Modern Guests”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2014

This is a most romantic location surrounded by water and old trees. The rooms are spacious, quiet, well equipped. The only incomprehensible flaw is that there exists only one key to each.room. All rooms are planned for two people. The breakfast is served in a pleasant restaurant room and is well balanced. The resort is also a wellness hotel but I didn't have any opportunity to visit it.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    5
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
1
13
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

We didn't really plan to stay here, it was suggested to us at very last minute so we booked for only one night.

Once we got there, we immediately felt we were on an amazing place.

The atmosphere, Colours, the structure itself really impressed us. In particular the terrace of the bar overlooking the country side with unique sun lights. So we decided to immediately ask for one more night.

The hotel itself is very boutique so this makes the place special and private, the ambiance is perfectly arranged with nice music all over and good staff service.

The room was spacious and even more important, being on a former military fortress, it was extremely quite and well protected from outside light, good exception for Northern Europe where it's impossible to have dark bedrooms overnight.

The superb surprise was the hotel spa, a huge amazing place where the architect made definitely a wonderful job by providing so many relaxing facilities all over with saunas, steam bath, pool, jacuzzi spread out indoor and outdoor. The spa access is for nudists only so aware of this.

We also had dinner at restaurant, the food good, above average in the netherlands.

All areas and bedroom were very clean.

It was an oasis for us after several days spent in the busy Amsterdam.

We highly recommend to experience this place.

Can't wait to be back!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knokke-Heist, Belgium
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

When we wanted to check in, it seems that they did not receive our reservation. And apparently it was the same problem with the people who came just before us. We received a free drink while waiting for our room to be prepared.

We received room n° 8 (there are only 12 rooms) in the building, which was a big suite which was nice, but not cosy at all (moist towels and no shampoo or shower gel). Furniture was not appealing or comfortable. The suite looked a bit empty. The idea is good, but not really good as a room. The bedroom had no windows and because the fort is lying half underground, it smelled moist and damp in the room (without having the possibility for airing the room; the same for the bathroom). The bathtub was missing, only the faucets were available. We noticed that, while taking a shower, everybody on the parking lot can see you standing through the window.

Also the airconditioning is running all day and at night it seems very loud. You have to ask reception to change the temperature in the room, because you can not do it in the room itself. With this warm weather (above 30°), a little fridge would be very handy to store some cold water in it.

We had also an invasion of bugs: spiders, beetles, mosquitos, etc. During our 2nd night bugs were falling down from the ceiling into our bed, so we jumped out to kill all the bugs.

Breakfast is poorly, but taste was nice. The first day the service was very poorly: I could not get any yoghurt or fruit salad. The girl refused to get some (had no idea why). The 2nd day there was another girl and she was very helpful and service minded.

The little things that would make this a truly 4* hotel were missing (damp bedcloths, moist towels, no shampoo or showergel, no spoon or sugar for the thee, no soap to wash your hands with, no bathtub, a little fridge, etc.). And at the end of our stay we were very irritated by all those little things.

One thing I have to say that is really positive, is that the wellness area is excellent! That we really enjoyed. However, no swimsuits or bikini's are allowed. You get a towel and bathrobe at reception.

Just a little note for those who would be interested to book a room in the hotel: make sure you contact the hotel beforehand to check you reservation. And in the wellness area no swimsuits or bikini's allowed.

Room Tip: Rooms 1 to 7 are maybe better. Room n° 8 was not ready and too many bugs in the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Ana, Costa Rica
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

This small hotel (12 rooms) is located inside a 1913-built fort. The fort was built as part of the outer defenseline of Amsterdam, but never saw any action. The owners have restored the fort to pristine condition and converted 3/4 into a gigantic spa & pool area.
The thick walls and remote location make that you will sleep through the day, especially after a full spa-treatment. Beds are extremely comfortable. Food is of excellent quality. We wished we could have stayed longer here.

Note that the spa & pool area can only be used by adults and older children (as of 15 years of age), so this is not a property for families with younger / small children.

Room Tip: The standard rooms are really spacious and easily fit a 3rd bed, if requested. The owners are still...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

I had a day free during a business trip to visit Dutch countryside and this hotel had good reviews. I used booking.com and they mentioned bicycle hire and free wi-if. The wi-if was true, bicycle hire was not available and I specifically chose the hotel to cycle to Edam and Voldendam, instead of which I had a to call a taxi at €44 each way. The girl on reception wasn't very polite, nor helpful, felt like all the effort was on my part. She had no local knowledge, didn't offer any info on the hotel and I felt they didn't want me to stay. If I hadn't pre-paid I would have left immediately. The spa was extra € and so was the outdoor pool. I had a quick look around while waiting and thought I'd walked into the ladies changing room by mistake, then realized this was a nudist spa. As a lone business traveller I would not recommend this hotel. Interior renovation was well done but there was no atmosphere, a harsh exterior, nowhere to walk or relax outside (where was the garden?), and frankly I was delighted to leave. The hotel felt lonely and there were few guests. Noise reverberated down the old corridors of the fort. On departure, although I'd paid a reservation on Amex, the hotel wouldn't accept my card. Very disappointing overall.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belluno
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Excellent! The most relaxing place I have ever been, I can say if the paradise would exist, it would be something similar to Fort Resort.
Excellent restaurant, excellent rooms, excellent SPA.
Absolutely recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fort Resort Beemster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort Resort Beemster

Address: Nekkerweg 24, 1461 Zuidoostbeemster, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Zuidoostbeemster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Zuidoostbeemst...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Fort Resort Beemster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fort Resort Beemster, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.