We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Renovation needed” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel-Restaurant Huis Te Zaanen

Hotel-Restaurant Huis Te Zaanen
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel-Restaurant Huis Te Zaanen to your Saves list
Hotel-Restaurant Huis Te Zaanen
Zaanweg 93/94, 1521 DN Wormerveer, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wormerveer
Tampere, Finland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Renovation needed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Good located hotel (just 2-minute walk from Wormerveer's train station) with shop and restaurant nearby (well, Wormerveer is a tiny city so everything is close by). Staff was friendly. It was very loud on Fridays' and weekends' evenings, till 1 o'clock at the night, because of the restaurant downstairs. Rooms are spacious with an old tea kettle, but some of them really REALLY need renovations and improvements.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    4
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
1
9
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

I was booking this hotel within a website and was understanding that it was located close of the main railway station of Amsterdam. Unfortunatly it was a (my) mistake because it's another station, but, by the way, it was not a big trouble and I was happy to discover a clean and quiet hotel. The staff was nice and discreet, the room enough big for a solo like I was. Clean, little beat outdated, but cosy and with a good bed. The location offer a wiew of the river, and is enough far of the railway station to don't be disturbing by the noise of it, but enough close for somebody who got (like me) a big suitcase...
For a "budget" traveller, it's a very good place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asten, The Netherlands
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Our stay in Huis te Zaanen was good. The hotel room was a little bit outdated, the breakfast was minimal, but good. However the dinner was excellent taken the price into account. The people were friendly. It is a perfect hotel for visiting de Zaanse Schans. This is real value for money

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, England
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

We had a large room with 3 windows overlooking the river. The furniture is old and some might call it shabby, but we would prefer to call it shabby chic. There is tea and coffee making facilities in the room and a fridge with soft drinks etc, which is fairly unusual. We did not eat at the hotel but the restaurant was very full both nights we stayed there. The access into Amsterdam is easy by train, just 20 minutes, although the return ticket was more expensive than we have paid in either Italy or Germany, at 13.20€ for 2 return tickets. You buy your rail tickets from a machine on the platform but we could not get them to accept either our English debit or credit cards, although we were assured by a very brusque gentleman in the railway station in Amsterdam that they will accept cards that use the chip and pin technology (which ours do). The machine only accepts coins, no notes. There is plenty of free parking 100 yards from the hotel but meter parking is expensive at 1€ per hour between 8am and 6pm. The railway station is 400 yards from the hotel. The hotel staff we met were very helpful and friendly and all in all we had a very good experience.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the river have a good view and the road is very quiet at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herts
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

Hotel is located in a lovely spot overlooking the river but it is very dated and tired.We stayed for 2 nights and was very disappointed with the room we had. ( Room no 2) Room was small with awful view looking directly onto a roof of adjacent building. Rooms have not been updated for many years and are dark dingey and rather depressing! Two single beds pushed together with a very small tv attached to the corner of the wall which was too far away to see.

The wardrobe was so narrow we could not fit our clothes in and the lighting was very poor with not enough sockets to be able to plug in the small bedside lamps.

The bathroom was small with a stone cubicle shower , toilet but a double sink! All in a mix match of different couloured sanitaryware . Again lighting was very poor and was very dark and depressing.

The hotel is also a restaurant which seemed to be very popular with the locals and outside visitors with live music. We did not eat dinner in the restaurant so unable to comment about the food. It sounded very lively and good fun but would not advise to stay here if you wanted to go to sleep early as very noisey.

Breakfast was very basic and poor value for money.

Unfortunately I would not recommend this hotel to stay in.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Wormerveer hotels

singapore
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

lovely guesthouse feel to this hotel, room as basic but comfortable. Owner very helpful and helped us organise hiring some bikes last minute so we could visit the windmills nearby. Lovely little village 20 minutes train ride from Amsterdam, very easy to find.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
den haag
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2011

we stayed here for 3 wonderfull days,the rooms are nice and big.the food in the restaurant exelent.nice helpful staff.easy to go to amsterdam from wormerveer by train(10 minutes) we loved it

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel-Restaurant Huis Te Zaanen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel-Restaurant Huis Te Zaanen

Address: Zaanweg 93/94, 1521 DN Wormerveer, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Wormerveer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wormerveer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel-Restaurant Huis Te Zaanen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel-Restaurant Huis Te Zaanen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.