We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very dated and basic” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel-Restaurant Huis Te Zaanen

Save Saved
You added Hotel-Restaurant Huis Te Zaanen to your Saves list
Hotel-Restaurant Huis Te Zaanen
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel-Restaurant Huis Te Zaanen
Zaanweg 93/94, 1521 DN Wormerveer, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Wormerveer
Herts
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Very dated and basic”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

Hotel is located in a lovely spot overlooking the river but it is very dated and tired.We stayed for 2 nights and was very disappointed with the room we had. ( Room no 2) Room was small with awful view looking directly onto a roof of adjacent building. Rooms have not been updated for many years and are dark dingey and rather depressing! Two single beds pushed together with a very small tv attached to the corner of the wall which was too far away to see.

The wardrobe was so narrow we could not fit our clothes in and the lighting was very poor with not enough sockets to be able to plug in the small bedside lamps.

The bathroom was small with a stone cubicle shower , toilet but a double sink! All in a mix match of different couloured sanitaryware . Again lighting was very poor and was very dark and depressing.

The hotel is also a restaurant which seemed to be very popular with the locals and outside visitors with live music. We did not eat dinner in the restaurant so unable to comment about the food. It sounded very lively and good fun but would not advise to stay here if you wanted to go to sleep early as very noisey.

Breakfast was very basic and poor value for money.

Unfortunately I would not recommend this hotel to stay in.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    4
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
1
8
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
singapore
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

lovely guesthouse feel to this hotel, room as basic but comfortable. Owner very helpful and helped us organise hiring some bikes last minute so we could visit the windmills nearby. Lovely little village 20 minutes train ride from Amsterdam, very easy to find.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
den haag
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2011

we stayed here for 3 wonderfull days,the rooms are nice and big.the food in the restaurant exelent.nice helpful staff.easy to go to amsterdam from wormerveer by train(10 minutes) we loved it

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, AL
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2008

My husband and I stayed at this hotel in May of 2007. I noticed it didn't have a review on here so I thought I would add one. We only stayed for one night but we had no complaints. Amsterdam was our last stop before heading back to the U.S. and I booked the room at the last minute. Tried for a hotel in Amsterdam but there wasn't much left in our price range. But staying in Wormerveer was not a problem b/c it was easily reached by train from Amsterdam, it was a quaint little town (nice to stroll along the water at night) and our room was fine and at a great price. Also, we went to europe on a tight budget, and this was the LARGEST room we had out of all of our stays. The furniture in the room was very nice too, felt like I was staying at a friends house. We also arrived well before check in (probably around 11 a.m.) and we knocked on the door to the hotel (it was locked). It took awhile but a nice woman finally came to the door and let us store our luggage there until check in so that we could go ahead and go back to Amsterdam to explore for the day. I hope this helps if you decide not to stay in Amsterdam but want to stay close.

Stayed May 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel-Restaurant Huis Te Zaanen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel-Restaurant Huis Te Zaanen

Address: Zaanweg 93/94, 1521 DN Wormerveer, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Wormerveer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Wormerveer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HotelsNL and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hotel-Restaurant Huis Te Zaanen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel-Restaurant Huis Te Zaanen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.