We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, comfortable and pleasantly hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mare Sanat

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Mare Sanat to your Saves list
Hotel Mare Sanat
Rijkert Aertszweg 8, 1949 BD Wijk aan Zee, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Wijk aan Zee
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good, comfortable and pleasantly hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Bit of a boutique atmosphere, pleasant management, in the centre of nice Dutch village and above all near the beach. It has a good car, wife and a small garden. Close to some major Dutch attractions. Even Amsterdam is just 35/40 minutes away.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    4
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
11
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We had a wonderful stay here. We were there in February so definitely not the peak season and upon arriving we were given our choice of room. We choose the room which has the bed in front of an old fireplace. It was a very romantic and spacious room with a nice view. The owners were extremely friendly and we chatted with them before heading up to our room for the night. Breakfast was also good even though we were leaving very early in the morning so I could catch a flight back to the States, so the innkeepers were kind enough to leave breakfast items out for us. Its a very short walk to the beach from the hotel which was nice for a romantic evening beach walk. We would definitely recommend this hotel and would likely stay here again on future visits to Wijk aan Zee.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Warm welcome received and breakfast was good, however our 'family apartment' turned out to be little more than a cramped converted garage. Our two young children slept in the the small dark twin bedroom whilst we suffered the sofa bed in the living room/kitchen/dining room. The bed when set up was right next to the door (glass) leading onto a busy seaside road. It was the worst sleep we have ever had. The thin foam mattress was not even dressed with a sheet! The door leading directly onto the street was dangerous to leave open for our children and offered no privacy. But left closed, the room was dark and offered no ventilation for the bathroom so it was not pleasant! We were very disappointed and checked out early as a result. Such a pity as the location was great and I'm sure would be fine for a couple.

Room Tip: Choose a room in the main hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

Loved our stay here! Friendly staff, good food (& music) at breakfast time, with eggs boiled to order :-) The room was spacious - en suite a little cramped, but not the problem other reviews have suggested. The stairs were quite steep & narrow, but the staff helped us with luggage. Plenty of friendly restaurants/bars in easy walking distance for evening meals.

We used the Mare Sanat as a base for visiting Keukenhof & Amsterdam (by the Fast Flying Ferry from Velsen-Zuid - highly recommended).

Room Tip: Higher floors may be difficult for guests with restricted mobility.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Ireland, Ireland
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
106 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
670 helpful votes 670 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

I only had to walk in the door of the hotel to be reminded of why I had booked to stay again, as I was greeted with a warm & friendly welcome & handshake from the owner. Check in was as un-informal as it gets with just a handover of my room keys, a mention of the times for breakfast & no signing of paperwork or pre authorising of my credit card asked for.
My room for this stay was a single on the ground floor, across from the kitchen & breakfast restaurant. Adequately sized for my 2 night stay it was clean & very comfortable with perfect room temperature & plenty of natural light. It had a very comfortable single bed, wall mounted tv, foldable luggage rack, full length mirror & a decent sized wardrobe. The bathroom wasn’t huge but was clean & bright & had a shower with good pressure & plenty of hot water, shower curtain, more than enough towels, shampoo, shower gel & other toiletries. The toilet was in a closet sized space separate altogether from the bathroom.
Breakfast was continental style, very relaxed in the pleasant dining room with cereals, toast, yoghurts, fruit, boiled eggs, cold meats, cheese, breads, tea/coffee & fruit juice. The hotel doesn’t have a bar as such but does have a small counter close to reception with a cooler full of beer, wine & soft drinks & very comfortable armchairs to chill out. It’s more or less self service & based on trust, as you leave a note of whatever you take from the cooler if there is nobody at reception to serve you. For smokers there is an area outside, just off reception, with tables & seating. I needed to be at Schipol airport by 11.35 on the morning of my departure so I booked an early morning alarm call on the evening before. The alarm call, which I answered, came by phone at the agreed time & was followed up by a knock at my door a few minutes later, making sure that I hadn’t dozed off again, typical of the all round good service that the hotel offers. On checking out I had a nice surprise as, without any prompting for me, my room rate had been dropped by several euros per night from the rate we had already agreed when booking.
It’s worth mentioning that there is no lift in the hotel & the stairs are fairly steep & narrow so, guests with a mobility problem may have difficulty there but in all honesty, that’s the only negative that I could think of with this hotel.
With free car parking at the front of the hotel & it’s proximity to the beach, village centre, restaurants & bars, it’s situated in a great location. Once the dates become available for next year’s weekend away, I’ll be booking the Mare Sanat again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Ireland, Ireland
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
106 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
670 helpful votes 670 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2011

I chose this hotel mainly because of it's location, close to the centre of the village & because it was located at the bottom of the fairly steep hill which leads up to a couple of bigger hotels. I arrived much earlier in the day than the advised check in time but still received a really warm welcome from the owners & was shown instantly to my room,which was ready, with no checkin formalities at all. My room was on the top level, up the stairs as i didn't see any lift. The room was fantastic, really bright & airy owing to it's roof windows. It was clean & extremely comfortable with a great bed, wall mounted tv, table & chairs, wardrobe, full length mirror & bedside lockers.The room temperature was controlled from within the room by means of a thermostatic radiator valve. The bathroom wasn't huge but was more than adequate with shower enclosure, basin, plenty of towels, shower gel & shampoo.
Breakfast was good, continental style in a comfortable, bright dining room. I arrived down to breakfast almost an hour after breakfast should have finished but found my place still set & waiting for me, typical of the friendly atmosphere that the owners have created. There is a small bar in the reception area with nice comfortable seating, perfect for a relaxed beer. On checking out I left my bag in the room at reception(without any charge) as i had several hours to kill & that saved me from hauling it about with me.
I really enjoyed my stay at this hotel.Location wise, it was no more than 5 minutes walk to the village's long sandy beach. My room was excellent & the owners were great, really friendly.The entire atmosphere & feeling of the place was so welcoming. I expect to be writing a repeat review for this hotel next march.
In the village itself, Cafe de Zon is great & the Whisky Bar(yep,the Scottish spelling) is good for a last, late night drink on the way back to the hotel. I had a great meal in the Sonnevanck Hotel restaurant & the village snack bar is okay for fast food if that's what you're after.
I had plenty of time on my hands for the journey back to Amsterdam so i got off the train in Haarlem for a couple of hours. A really nice city with a very pretty old square & some fabulous buildings. Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Mare Sanat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mare Sanat

Address: Rijkert Aertszweg 8, 1949 BD Wijk aan Zee, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Wijk aan Zee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Wijk aan Zee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Mare Sanat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Mare Sanat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.