We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location with nice outlook and friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel de Lindeboom

Save Saved
You added Hotel de Lindeboom to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel de Lindeboom
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Groeneplaats 14, Den Burg, Texel 1791 CC, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 hotels in Den Burg
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Location with nice outlook and friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

What a cute Hotel right in the heart of such a gorgeous village. The location is perfect with great shops, restaurants and quaint little bars, all walking distance. Buses also run nearby to other villages on the island.

On arrival at the desk we were greeted very well. We were offered cloths to wash our hands as well as a little canapé on arrival. This was the only Hotel I have ever stayed at in Europe that has offered refreshment (free & yummy) on "Check In" at the desk, and for that reason alone I have given an extra "star". The child was given a cute little plush toy that she loved. After a tiring days travel it was all very welcome and we thank you for considering your clients needs so nicely.

The room we had was right up the top floor with a lovely window overlooking the square. The window opens right up without any barriers so not at all good if you were to have very young children as is is a 3 story easy fall out, but for us no problem, we loved the view. The day we arrived the room was spotless. It was too cramped with an uncomfortable fold out bed right at the doorway for our child, it made getting into the very small bathroom difficult. No blanket was on the bed as it was Summer but a cool change came in and ended up too cold. Spare blankets in the cupboard would be a good idea. The bathroom, although very small was clean for our first two nights stay. Our 3rd day it was not, maybe we were going to be leaving the next day so they didn't bother to clean it so nicely.

The beds were not very comfortable and the pillows were like sleeping on slabs of concrete which made a not so pleasant sleep. But on letting the staff know they said they would look into improving this. No tea & coffee making facilities or bar fridge were in the room.

The breakfast dining room is very nice with a very pleasant outlook. The selection of food was quite good. The scrambled eggs must have been popular as everyday they were running out. and it was fresh. The cakes were too good and made my waist line thicken so be warned!

Booking was easy with great communication from the Hotel, prompt and courteous.

Overall I would stay here again if ever we are lucky enough to ever return to this amazing country. But I would request a bigger room if we had 3 guests and bigger bathroom (if they have any). And softer bed and pillows!

And it was quite expensive compared to others we have stayed, I think for what (is not included) the rates could be a bit be lower.

Room Tip: Top floor is quiet. It has quite a few stairs so not for the unfit!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    18
    15
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
23
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Buckinghamshire, England
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

Stayed here very recently for a long weekend and enjoyed our stay. Breakfast and dinner were great and the staff incredibly friendly. Den Burg is a great base to enjoy the island and the public transport links were excellent.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights (Saturday, Sunday, Monday night) in June with my partner & my mother in law and really enjoyed it. Staff is very friendly, personable & keen to ensure guests enjoy their stay.

Although the room furnishings (esp. curtains & bedspreads) could do with a little updating at some point, this doesn't detract from the fact that this is a very nice hotel with a lovely atmosphere. Our rooms (one standard room & 1 deluxe room) both were big in size, located right above the Schoutenhuys (with side view of the town square) & both had nice modern bathrooms (the bathroom in the deluxe room in fact was huge with an amazing jacuzzi) with lovely toiletries.

We all slept well with no noise disturbances. Den Burg is a lovely town & proved a great location to explore the whole Island of Texel & enable us to try a few different restaurants during the evening (would recommend Restaurant Peek).

Positives/highlights:
Great breakfast buffet
- Friendly staff & welcome
- Dinner in 't Schoutenhuys - do try the 'gerechies' meal of 14 little dishes
- Convenient parking next to the hotel (although this comes at an extra charge)

Things to be aware of
- Room furnishings are a little old fashioned
- The lounge area is a little bit dark/uninviting, but there is ample space to sit in the brasserie or the conservatory so this didn't really bother us

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

We really enjoyed our first night in our clean and nice room. Breakfast and diner were also great but...our second night we were really disturbed by a party in the disco next to the Hotel. We were told (the next day) that the disco is only open for special parties and unfortunately this happend to be one of hose nights.I would have liked to know in advance and then book a room on the other side of the hotel!

Room Tip: see my review
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zürich
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2011

We were very happy to get a room at all because we arrived in the summer 2011 without a reservation. In the Lindeboom we got a very nice and clean room, the service was friendly and the breakfast was gorgeous.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2010

Excellent place from which to explore the island of Texel, very well located in the qaint village of Den Burg, with great restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel de Lindeboom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Lindeboom

Also Known As:
Hotel De Lindeboom Den Burg, Texel, The Netherlands
Address: Groeneplaats 14, Den Burg, Texel 1791 CC, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Texel > Den Burg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 hotels in Den Burg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de Lindeboom 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A rich history, a bit of nostalgia and modern comfort. That typifies the 3-star hotel De Lindeboom in the centre of Den Burg. The hotel, located in an historical building dating from 1891, combines a special mix of an authentic atmosphere and modern facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, HotelsNL and Venere so you can book your Hotel de Lindeboom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel de Lindeboom, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.