We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, modern rooms with a taste!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of De Smulpot

De Smulpot
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added De Smulpot to your Saves list
De Smulpot
Binnenburg 5, 1791 CG Den Burg, Texel, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Den Burg
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Beautiful, modern rooms with a taste!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights during our anniversary. The room is modern, tasteful, luxurious interior, nice rain shower, awesomely comfortable bed & soft blanket. Cleanness is no question - there was barely any dust. One of the things we liked most is also the fact that the hotel rooms are situated just above a restaurant - very practical. The food are above average & price is reasonable. We will definitely go to this hotel again if we come back to Texel!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    11
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
4
27
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Nieuw-Vennep, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

When we arrived, early, the rooms were not ready, so we did other things before coming back in the afternoon. Parking is quite difficult. You cannot park at the hotel and the nearest parking place has a time limit. You can park at about 5 till 10 minutes away from the hotel. The staff can give you good directions.

The rooms are located on the first and second floor. You first have to go through the restaurant and bar which is a nice combination. Upon entering the room you are pleasantly surprised. The rooms were large, nicely decorated, large bed and large open bathroom. The quality of the bed is great and at night it is very dark and quite. Breakfast was included and is good. Freshly made to the tables.

A great spot to spend a few days in Texel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

Me and my boyfriend stayed at De Smulpot for a long weekend we spent in Texel in July 2012.
The hotel located about 5 minutes by walk from the bus station, what made possible easily to find it. The entrance to the hotel leads you first through the small and cosy restaurant, where we had a delicious home cooking dinner at our first night.
After we checked in, they showed us our room. The room was at the highest floor, facing the church, but there was no noise at all, or maybe the trick was in extremely comfortable and huge beds, which were made special for the hotel at the local factory. The room was clean, in the bathroom we found "Ritural" cosmetic, which was supplemented during the whole stay. In the minibar there was a small surprise waiting for us - free drinks: 2 bottles of water and white wine. It was a very nice touch from the hotel's stuff.
The breakfast in the hotel was continental, there was everything you needed and hagelslag, of course; from the drinks they offered tea/coffee(very good espresso) and fresh orange juice.
All in all couldn't fault this hotel: clean, well decorated, with very friendly and attentive stuff, well speaking English and with an excellent restaurant.
Once more would like to thank the whole stuff of De Smulpot for making our stay so special.

Room Tip: Little tip: trust to the description of the dishes on the menu card.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

This is a great little hotel (8 rooms) in the centre of Den Burg. It is the perfect place if you want to spend a weekend in Texel and enjoy comforts above a camping ground. Don't let the decor of the restaurant with same name fool you. Once you walk through the doors the brown of the etecafe gives way to a clean and modern hotel.

The rooms have everything you need and would expect form a small hotel. They had all been renovated about 6 months ago and you can tell that they have not cut corners. The open bathroom layout in the double rooms (well number 6 at least) could be disconcerting if you are not staying with a 'loved one'. The beds were comfortable, the shower hot and strong and breakfast good enough to start the day.

Although we did not eat in the restaurant the meals certainly looked good and plentiful.

Overall a great little place with very friendly staff.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

We stayed here from 8 - 10 July 2012 and unfortunately our room came with bedbugs... After two days we could not wait to go home and that's really not the feeling you want to get from a hotel. Right after our stay I informed the hotel owner and he told me that they were going to look into it and they would get back to me. Unfortunately this has never happened, and that does not make the hotel look good. When you plan to stay here, make sure you don't stay in room 5... My brother and his girlfriend stayed in room 4, and they enjoyed their room. It really could have been a great place for us to come back to - except for the bedbugs in room 5 the Smulpot is a lovely hotel with a great restaurant, great service and a great location - but after this experience, we will never be back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Djames_12, Eigenaar at De Smulpot, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Google Translation
Deze kamer is uitvoerig onderzocht door een instantie die gespecialiseerd is in het bovenstaande genoemde verschijnsel. Echter geen enkele reden om akte te ondernemen. Hiervoor en ook jaren hierna geen enkele vorm van onregelmatigheid aangetroffen. Jammer genoeg is de opmerking zonder bewijs en navraag geplaatst. Ook bij het uitchecken is hier niets over gemeld bij ons. Jammer, want we hadden adequate handelingen kunnen verrichten zover mogelijk.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almere, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

Hotel restaurant De Smulpot at Den Burg in Texel Netherlands is a very special place to stay. The rooms are very modern and well decorated. Beds are special and the restaurant offers all kinds of plates in a nice and warm environment. Thumbs up for the staff of this hotel restaurant.

Room Tip: This is an excellent hotel when you stay at this beautiful island of Texel. Moreover the food is exc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roeselare, Belgium
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

Nice atmosphere, very friendly and competent staff, good food, good value for money. Try the day's special.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to De Smulpot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Smulpot

Address: Binnenburg 5, 1791 CG Den Burg, Texel, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Texel > Den Burg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Den Burg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your De Smulpot reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Smulpot Den Burg, Texel, The Netherlands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage De Smulpot, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.