We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good restaurant in De Koog” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vogelhuis Oranjerie

Vogelhuis Oranjerie
Dorpsstraat 204, 1796 CH De Koog, Texel, The Netherlands
+31 222 317 279
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 35 Restaurants in De Koog
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $36
Cuisines: French, Belgian, Dutch
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Mount Pleasant, South Carolina
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Good restaurant in De Koog”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We had some very good seafood here. The service was good and the price is right! So we recommend you trying Vogelhuis Oranjerie

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    37
    15
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Netherlands
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great with young kids”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

We had a quick lunch here at the end of our stay on Texel. The menu is quite extensive and well priced. The kids got a very cool soft toy as part of their kids meal (a super souvenior). The jumpy castle and playground just off the big sunny terrace meant we could sit and relax and enjoy the sunshine. Good, quick service. All in all a recommended stop.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Den Haag, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The best restaurant on Texel island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We've just spent a great weekend on Texel Island with my fiancee. At this time of the year (November - off season) the summer-holiday island was clearly deserted. There were only a handful of good restaurants open, but we've been lucky enough to find the Vogelhuis Oranjerie in de Koog.

Food is great, the restaurant looks really neat, and there is a central fireplace to add to that. The waiters are really friendly and adwise you based on your likes vs. trying to offer you the priciest dishes.

Try the starters, with some extra helping of a side, if you're really hungry. These straters are huge, nicely presented and offer a local touch - shrimps / lamb / cheese from the region.

The prices are also the best compared to the other restaurants around. A must try, if you're on Texel.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Very good quality food, very professional restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

On Texel, this is one of the few professional restaurants. The quality is the highest we found on the island. The atmosphere is less impressive (there are many very nicely decorated restaurants on Texel, where the food comes on the second place), but the food is close to perfect.
Coffee and ice cream are perfect as well.
For about 40 Euro per person, we've had a very good (three course) dinner.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“we had a very nice waiter”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

The restaurant was located in the centre of De Koog on a street with alot of other restaurants. We were seated on the terrace so we have a nice view of what is happening on the streets. It was Texel Culinair (tasting event) that weekend, so a lot was happening on the streets. The menu was very extensive, often this means average to low quality food. But this time it was rather good. A lot of ingredients from the region which we like. Our little girl received a small present which was a very nice gesture. The food was good and the prices all right. And the waiters were very friendly. They say they don't let dogs in, but later in the evening a couple with a dog was seated next to us. We didn't have any problem with that, but this is something I think should be shared with you.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vogelhuis Oranjerie also viewed

 
De Koog, Texel
 

Been to Vogelhuis Oranjerie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vogelhuis Oranjerie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.