We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great with young kids” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vogelhuis Oranjerie

Vogelhuis Oranjerie
Dorpsstraat 204, 1796 CH De Koog, Texel, The Netherlands
+31 222 317 279
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 41 Restaurants in De Koog
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $36
Cuisines: French, Belgian, Dutch, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Netherlands
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great with young kids”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

We had a quick lunch here at the end of our stay on Texel. The menu is quite extensive and well priced. The kids got a very cool soft toy as part of their kids meal (a super souvenior). The jumpy castle and playground just off the big sunny terrace meant we could sit and relax and enjoy the sunshine. Good, quick service. All in all a recommended stop.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nederlander1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Den Haag, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The best restaurant on Texel island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We've just spent a great weekend on Texel Island with my fiancee. At this time of the year (November - off season) the summer-holiday island was clearly deserted. There were only a handful of good restaurants open, but we've been lucky enough to find the Vogelhuis Oranjerie in de Koog.

Food is great, the restaurant looks really neat, and there is a central fireplace to add to that. The waiters are really friendly and adwise you based on your likes vs. trying to offer you the priciest dishes.

Try the starters, with some extra helping of a side, if you're really hungry. These straters are huge, nicely presented and offer a local touch - shrimps / lamb / cheese from the region.

The prices are also the best compared to the other restaurants around. A must try, if you're on Texel.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gergely K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very good quality food, very professional restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

On Texel, this is one of the few professional restaurants. The quality is the highest we found on the island. The atmosphere is less impressive (there are many very nicely decorated restaurants on Texel, where the food comes on the second place), but the food is close to perfect.
Coffee and ice cream are perfect as well.
For about 40 Euro per person, we've had a very good (three course) dinner.

    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RvGeel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“we had a very nice waiter”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

The restaurant was located in the centre of De Koog on a street with alot of other restaurants. We were seated on the terrace so we have a nice view of what is happening on the streets. It was Texel Culinair (tasting event) that weekend, so a lot was happening on the streets. The menu was very extensive, often this means average to low quality food. But this time it was rather good. A lot of ingredients from the region which we like. Our little girl received a small present which was a very nice gesture. The food was good and the prices all right. And the waiters were very friendly. They say they don't let dogs in, but later in the evening a couple with a dog was seated next to us. We didn't have any problem with that, but this is something I think should be shared with you.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank IvanFromNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely prawns!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

The prawns were excellent as was the cheese and tomato pancake. The restaurant lets dogs come in with their human companions so it was delightful to watch them.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank rchandiramani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vogelhuis Oranjerie also viewed

 
De Koog, Texel
 

Been to Vogelhuis Oranjerie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing