We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Greenside

Save Saved
You added Hotel Greenside to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Greenside
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Stappeland 6, 1796 BS De Koog, Texel, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in De Koog
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We spent 3 nights in this hotel. It's situated very close to the beach and the city center. We really loved the breakfast, so much to choose from! We stayed in a 'tuinkamer'(garden room) and had a big room with private terrace.
In the bathroom was a separate shower and a bath and Rituals shampoo and bath/shower gel, very nice!

Bikes were included in our room, so were bubbles&amuses.

The staff is very friendly and helpful. And they even put a a postcard and present in the room, since it was my birthday.

The matresses were a little too soft for us, but reasonably comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoukeWeber, Eigenaar at Hotel Greenside, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear AvW12345, thank you for your kind words. You have booked our Summer Special which is also bookable next year. So why not ...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    41
    8
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
75
2
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

We enjoyed a weekend at Hotel Greenside and did not regret our choice for a second. The dinner in the hotel's restaurant was delicious as was the breakfast. The breakfast buffet was very good with a great array of Texel products and healthy options. Very delicious and a good start of the day.

The superior room was spacious with a well-equipped bathroom. I would definitely stay at Hotel Greenside again when going to Texel.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoukeWeber, Eigenaar at Hotel Greenside, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Thank you Sugarsweet for you're kind words. You have been visiting lots of places all over the world. Giving us 5 out of 5 means a lot to us. Hope to see you next time on Texel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niteroi, RJ
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Very comfortable, rooms with bathtub. Staff extremely courteous. Food made with products from the island. Very near the village and the beach. Since you arrive there it is so peaceful and so adorable that is hard to go away.

Room Tip: Look for the special rooms with tanning light at the shower. Taste the Texel beer!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoukeWeber, Owner at Hotel Greenside, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Thank you for your kind words. Next time just stay a few days longer ... And, Skuumkoppe (Texel beer) is also my favorite.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

Stayed at Greenside last weekend with friends. What a treat! Here they know the meaning of Hospitality with a capital H. Rooms are very spacious and comfortable, staff is friendly and helpful, food is excellent. After a nice day of playing golf at the 'Texelse', we had the 5 course surprise menu for dinner. And surprising it was! Delicious courses, great wines and all served by staff that knew exactly how to give us a good time. We really had a great time here and will certainly be back again next year!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoukeWeber, Eigenaar at Hotel Greenside, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Google Translation
Beste Jurrien, zodra we een ambassadeur zoeken voor Texel, de golfbaan en niet in de laatste plaats Hotel Greenside, weten we jullie te vinden. Heel erg bedankt voor deze mooie recensie. Hij hangt inmiddels naast andere leuke berichtjes op ons prikbord in de 'kantine'. Inspirerend! Tot volgend jaar. Jullie hoeven natuurlijk niet zo lang te wachten ...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

De Koog is a good location on Texel with plenty for the visitors and near the village centre and the beach. Our Garden Room at the back of the hotel overlooked a scrap of grass and a bare hedge behind which was a car park. To call them garden rooms is a misnomer as there is no real garden. The private terrace space outside the room was unswept and not 'spring ready'. But reception happily changed our room to one in the front of the hotel with a view across some water and a Landal Green Park.
Having said that, the rooms are very spacious and well furnished with a large sitting area and a spacious bathroom. Bed was comfy for us but a bit on the soft side for those with back problems. Tea in the room cost 5 Euros per day and included biscuits but no milk. Nice bathroom toiletries supplied.
Breakfast was a wide variety of cereals, yogurts and continental items plus a warm dish. The toaster was welcome, but they do not serve you at the table with tea/coffee. You make it yourself in a cup at a machine - not as nice as a pot! Staff very quiet and professional. Restaurant and bar menu looked good but we ate out so cannot comment. There is a mini bar in the room and Wellness facilities are included in the room price but we did not use them.
A garden makeover to bring some life and colour to the garden areas would benefit future guests for very little cost.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have a nicer outlook. Some rooms are Wellness rooms with jacuzzi baths.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoukeWeber, Eigenaar at Hotel Greenside, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We are clearly on the right track. Except in the garden. Last year at this time there was still snow on the terrace and in the garden. Thanks to the influence of a cold sea spring begins on Texel in April or even in May. And in June, the garden is at its most beautiful. Perhaps this explains the bare trees and shrubs. Improvements to our garden are constantly needed. I hope to see you next time on Texel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

We arrived on bicycles but we were made to feel we had come in a limousine. The staff are amiable, informative and efficient. We treated ourselves to dinner, and the waiter took an earnest delight in explaining every item on the menu (written in Dutch, an English translation would be good), and how much of it was locally sourced. The meal deliciously lived up to its advance billing. Later we found that the hotel has its own herb garden at the back overlooking the lake. Nothing in De Koog seemed to compare in quality. So don't go to town. Eat Greenside. The hotel is built on a hexagonal plan so all the rooms open out on to wide balconies. Such space. What joy.

Room Tip: For a tranquil view choose a room at the back overlooking the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Stayed four nights. Just one critical remark should be made. It's about the mattress. Unfortunately it is not supporting enough. Too soft. If you ever had the experience of a slipped disc or if you are close to it. Check the mattress carefully. This the reason why I have assessed the sleeping-quality: avarage.
Staff (reception as well as restaurant) is very kind and helpful. A special diet? They will take care of it. The breakfastbuffet is rich and the quality of the dinner is very much allright. French cuisine with a strong local touch. A combination that works out very well.
Free wifi in every room 48,0 till 54,0 mps and the carparking is free as well. Our Luxery Room was very well equipped with good furniture (comfortable bench and easy chair, a small desk/tabel, cosy lightning, a well filled fridge and a huge flatscreen. Bathroom has enough space. Good quality shampoo, soap and bodylotion is included. Hairdryer is stored in the cupboard and there is a standard choice between two different kinds of pillows on your bed.

Room Tip: All rooms are fine. But if possible ask for the backside. It has a very relaxing view over a small l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Greenside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Greenside

Address: Stappeland 6, 1796 BS De Koog, Texel, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Texel > De Koog
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in De Koog
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Greenside 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Greenside is an intimate four-star hotel in the seaside resort De Koog, just outside the centre where peace predominates. The spacious rooms are surprising. The large sitting area, the comfortable beds and your own private balcony or terrace. Extra luxurious are the Superior bedrooms with Whirlpool and Sunshower. Greenside has a separate wellness and fitness area. Bordering on the water is the restaurant Wambinge. Classic simplicity characterizes the tasty dishes; products from Texel reign supreme. Greenside can also facilitate business meetings. A tasty lunch or dinner and a relaxing stay in Greenside compliment your business event on Texel. In cooperation with sport and cultural partners Greenside organizes complete made to measure (day) programmes. Our function rooms form the perfect setting for family dinners, weddings and other parties or functions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Hotel Greenside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Greenside Texel/De Koog

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Greenside, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.