We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“so welcoming” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Restaurant Tesselhof

Save Saved
You added Hotel Restaurant Tesselhof to your Saves list
Hotel Restaurant Tesselhof
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Restaurant Tesselhof
Kaapstraat 39, 1796 AE De Koog, Texel, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 11 hotels in De Koog
Leidschendam, The Netherlands
1 review
“so welcoming”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

I had no idea about Texel hotels - we somehow drawn to this one on the internet - so welcoming and the little touches make all the difference. All you can eat buffet breakfast - everything on it was quality - in some hotels it's just nasty stuff in those bain maries!
The curtains were so thick that the room was a complete blackout - great for a long lie after an active day on Texel.
My little boy said he felt at home, and that's quite unusual when we visit a hotel. He was sad to leave and so was I - we'll be back.

Room Tip: ask to be at the back - it's nice and quiet and you can sit on the balcony in your pyjamas
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    10
    10
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
12
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Almere, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We come here every year for our wedding anniversary, and it feels like coming home. Staff is friendly and professional, location is perfect and the restaurant serves some great dishes at a very affordable price. And most important we can take our two Jack Russels with us! It is the perfect stay for unwinding and spending quality time together.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

The research for a book I am writing took me to the Island of Texel and the Hotel Restaurant Tesselhof in September, 2012. I had a large room with cooking facilities and it met all my needs. Pleasant and clean. The service was outstanding. The staff met my every need and went the extra mile to help my research. The restaurant is good. I really enjoyed one of the hotel restaurant's specialties: veal liver casserole (who knew?). While I was there the main drag was the site of a restaurant competition and I sampled everything from North Sea fish to the island's famous lamb. Until recently I had never heard of Texel and was delighted by the beauty and diversity of the island. On the ferry over I met the local kindergarten teacher and we struck up a friendship. As a result I was invited into her family's home for a delightful spaghetti dinner. The next night her husband (the island police detective), took me to the restaurant competition. Since my book concerns World War II, Texel proved to be a relic-visitor's paradise. Be sure and visit the museum at the airport and keep your eyes peeled for the many wartime bunkers that dot Texel.

Room Tip: Great mattress on my bed. Room had enough space to square dance in it. I think the beach lovers wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for two nights in July 2012 during the Texel Airshow. Large rooms, great hospitality, immediate access to town and the availability of a nearby taxi service on call from reception so everything was excellent. When we arrived, it was quite late (having travelled from Amsterdam) and my husband needed to be at the airport before breakfast started next morning but the very nice lady at reception insisted on making a breakfast pack that night and left it in our room so that he would not leave hungry... Our room had a sauna and if there was not so much going on that weekend, it would have been great to use it... We went out for dinner but had drinks in the bar which was comfortable and friendly with excellent service. I do not drink beer at all but loved the Rose Max, a fruit beer which can be served with ice and is to be recommended. Overall Texel is an undiscovered gem and this hotel is perfect for business or family holidays. Thanks for an enjoyable stay...

Room Tip: If you have time for a sauna, book one of these rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012 via mobile

Hotel is located next to the better beaches of the island Texel and on the central street of the Koog, the "social artery", so to say. Building is quite recent and in good condition. Most rooms have a balcony and a sauna! Beds and matrasses superb. There is ample parking next to the hotel, very convenient. It is a family run hotel which garantees friendlyness and personal touch, I recieved a phonecall at 9pm to ask wether i would be back before reception staff were off duty, just incase.
Unfortunately the hotel does not take pride in their breakfast, juices are from cans (concentrate) fruit is not fresh, coffee is instant, so are the eggs. You have put everything on a tray and return the tray as if you were in the average college diner. A pity because the restaurant cafe area and terrace have a nice atmosphere.
A night in a double room cost us € 152,50 incl brkfst, which I considered to be perhaps a little steep, allthough it was high season.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Top Contributor
198 reviews 198 reviews
168 hotel reviews
Reviews in 120 cities Reviews in 120 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2011

This was a very nice smaller property. The room i had was large (by European standards) and had a coffee maker, stove and small refrig. (no microwave) a dining room table and separate living area. The king bed is actually two twin beds set side-side. Very common in Europe. EXCELLENT shower with sauna steam and "menthol" vapor if desired. The staff was friendly, but easily overwhelmed. The food in the restaurant was good, not great. Excellent location, only a short walk to the beach. Add 15 euro for internet access.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2010

Very nicely decorated rooms. Beds nice and cozy. Bikes available to borrow at no extra charge. Was excited to discover a sauna in my room, but when I went to ask for instructions as to how to use it since I couldn't read the instructions (b/c next to nothing on Texel has an English version) I was told that to use it would result in an extra charge .... oh. What would have happened if I'd just turned it on? Oh well, disappointing but no problems other than that. Was happy to have a bike to use, and was able to use it even after I'd checked out. Just stored my backpack under the desk at front counter.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Restaurant Tesselhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Restaurant Tesselhof

Address: Kaapstraat 39, 1796 AE De Koog, Texel, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Texel > De Koog
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 hotels in De Koog
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Tesselhof, de Koog Texel, the NetherlandsCome and stay in Hotel Tesselhof on the island Texel in the Netherlands. You are very welcome in this Hotel on this lovely island off the Dutch coast. The comfortable three-star hotel on Texel, in seaside resort De Koog in combination with the versatillity of this lagest Frisian island, has a lot to offer to guarantee a pleasant stay during your holliday ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsNL, Priceline, Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hotel Restaurant Tesselhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Restaurant Tesselhof Texel/De Koog

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Restaurant Tesselhof, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.