We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, super location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Opduin

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Opduin to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Opduin
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ruijslaan 22, 1796 AD De Koog, Texel, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in De Koog
Leiden, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, super location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

We enjoyed the Junior suites as family rooms (each can hold up to 4). They were large and comfortable with one double bed (2 very comfortable single mattresses next to each other) and one pull out couch, good for children but also ok for an adult and child.

Location of this hotel is super. It's right in the dunes above the sea. If you want a view of the dunes, the higher up the better, and some of the rooms overlook the parking lot and then the dunes so ask to make sure. The other side is fine as well w/ views of the town.

The walk from the hotel to the beach is 7 or 8 minutes, down & up a hill, and the beach itself is wide and white sand, one of the nicest in Holland. Sunsets are especially beautiful on the beach, incredible colors!

The walk to the town De Koog is less than 5 minutes; it's a real beach town, very touristy & crowded esp. in high season, lots of reasonably priced and good but not great restaurants.

The staff at the hotel was friendly and the breakfast was really nice. The kids loved the fresh orange juice machine where you can have as much fresh OJ as you want. Also lots of breads, muffins, cheeses, meat, fish, eggs any way you want them. The koffie verkeerd (latte) is delicious.

The rooms were a bit hot at night (no airco, just fans) but the weather was exceptionally warm so no complaints. The pool was nice and the lounge areas of the hotel were comfortable.

The hotel was not extraordinary (I am quite spoiled by having been to some really top hotels) and some details were missing (no shampoo available while we were there which was a bit strange but they compensated by giving us extra bottles of shower gel), there were not enough towels in the room for the number of guests we had, no refrigerator in the room, no airco only fans, but we were overall very happy with our experience there.

We did not try the restaurants, there are plenty of choices just a few minutes' walk away in the village De Koog. We did enjoy the happy hour on Friday afternoon, nice touch offered by the hotel, very friendly and served outside right in the dunes, drinks & small appetizers.

Kids did try the pool and enjoyed it, it was not crowded and is a nice size. There is a game room w/ a pool table and some board games, and a small gym.

Room Tip: Ask for a room looking out over the dunes, the higher the better - and there are some rooms that do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    39
    17
    5
    3
See reviews for
27
59
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We had concerns re The Brasserie from previous comments and unfortunately this was very disappointing service. It started well from friendly staff but then they all disappeared and we had a long wait between courses and for plates to be cleared. Not acceptable standard for a 4 star hotel.
However, the hotel room was spacious, comfortable and clean and well appointed. Re negative points,the shower was too small and air conditioning inadequate for the hot weather but otherwise no complaints.
The breakfast choice was lovely and very good reception staff. The new veranda was peaceful and a great place to relax.
We choice the wine and dine package and it was a great choice.
Overall, we were glad we chose this hotel and would return and hope service improves in the meantime.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

I enjoyed staying in this hotel a lot, great location, friendly and helpful staff, wonderful breakfast. I would recommend to stay there, will come back. The beach is close, De Koog is also nearby, good for walking, biking.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirsten D, Owner at Grand Hotel Opduin, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Dear Ivana,

Thank you so much for your kind words. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your holiday on Texel and in our hotel. We hope we have convinced you that Texel is the place to be for a relaxing holiday and are looking forward to welcoming you back to Grand Hotel Opduin.

Kind regards,

Kirsten Dashorst
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meerbeke
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

This hotel deserves the word "grand" in its denomination. Located at the boarder of the small village, close to the seaside, it is an excellent starting point for all activities possibile on Texel. Very nice swimming pool, spa and beauty center. The breakfast buffet inlcudes everything you can immagine. The rooms are not small and have nice view, regardless the side of the building the room is. The Nespresso machine in the room makes you can drink a premium class coffee whilst enjoying the nice view from your room. The bar is very cosy.

Room Tip: all rooms have nice views and are quite
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirsten D, Owner at Grand Hotel Opduin, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Dear Sonja,

Thank you so much for your kind words about your stay in our hotel. We loved having you as our guest and would be honoured to welcome you back to our hotel.

Kind regards,

Kirsten Dashorst
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ymare
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

We spent quite a good time in this hotel. The room is large, well equipped, and we could rent an electric scooter to visit the Texel island. Only a part, but we know that we will go again there to continue our visit.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Very nice hotel, friendly staff, good facilities, close walk to the beach, Rooms are not that up to date and a bit messy but clean and spacious. Brasserie is very very overpriced, we had dinner there once but would not recommend it, quality is poor and prices high. Much better value for money is the beachbar nearby, they have an excellent menu, very good quality for nice prices and stunning views over the sea.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirsten D, Owner at Grand Hotel Opduin, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Google Translation
Beste Felicia,

Hartelijk dank voor het delen van uw mening over uw verblijf in ons hotel. We vinden het erg jammer dat het diner in onze brasserie u is tegengevallen. We zouden u graag bij een volgend bezoek aan Texel een diner willen aanbieden in ons hotel om u te overtuigen dat onze kwaliteit van het eten en de persoonlijke aandacht van de bediening zeker beter zijn dan die van een gemiddelde strandtent. We kijken uit naar uw reactie en hopen u nog een keer te mogen begroeten in Opduin.

Met frisse waddengroet,

Kirsten Dashorst
Directrice Grand Hotel Opduin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zevenbergen, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Grand hotel Opduin is good hotel for a break. The location is near town centre and a small walk to the beach. The interior of the hotel has different places for relaxation and with good weather you can sit outside. There are a restaurant and a brasserie. We visit the brasserie for dinner with good selection of food and service. The breakfast was served in the restaurant with a great varity of food and drinks. From the hotel you can have nice walks and a graet selection of restaurants.
Recommended to have a visit.

Room Tip: Only at the westside of the hotel you can look over the dunes to the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Opduin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Opduin

Address: Ruijslaan 22, 1796 AD De Koog, Texel, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Texel > De Koog
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in De Koog
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Opduin 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Grand Hotel Opduin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Opduin Texel/De Koog

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Opduin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.