We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large room, and numerous facilities” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Opduin

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Opduin to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Opduin
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ruijslaan 22, 1796 AD De Koog, Texel, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in De Koog
Certificate of Excellence
Ymare
Level Contributor
104 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Large room, and numerous facilities”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

We spent quite a good time in this hotel. The room is large, well equipped, and we could rent an electric scooter to visit the Texel island. Only a part, but we know that we will go again there to continue our visit.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    51
    19
    5
    3
See reviews for
33
81
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Very nice hotel, friendly staff, good facilities, close walk to the beach, Rooms are not that up to date and a bit messy but clean and spacious. Brasserie is very very overpriced, we had dinner there once but would not recommend it, quality is poor and prices high. Much better value for money is the beachbar nearby, they have an excellent menu, very good quality for nice prices and stunning views over the sea.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirsten D, Owner at Grand Hotel Opduin, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Google Translation
Beste Felicia,

Hartelijk dank voor het delen van uw mening over uw verblijf in ons hotel. We vinden het erg jammer dat het diner in onze brasserie u is tegengevallen. We zouden u graag bij een volgend bezoek aan Texel een diner willen aanbieden in ons hotel om u te overtuigen dat onze kwaliteit van het eten en de persoonlijke aandacht van de bediening zeker beter zijn dan die van een gemiddelde strandtent. We kijken uit naar uw reactie en hopen u nog een keer te mogen begroeten in Opduin.

Met frisse waddengroet,

Kirsten Dashorst
Directrice Grand Hotel Opduin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zevenbergen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
79 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Grand hotel Opduin is good hotel for a break. The location is near town centre and a small walk to the beach. The interior of the hotel has different places for relaxation and with good weather you can sit outside. There are a restaurant and a brasserie. We visit the brasserie for dinner with good selection of food and service. The breakfast was served in the restaurant with a great varity of food and drinks. From the hotel you can have nice walks and a graet selection of restaurants.
Recommended to have a visit.

Room Tip: Only at the westside of the hotel you can look over the dunes to the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

We went for a short retreat, my husband, our five years old son, my heavy pregnant belly and I. We were given a corner junior suite. The view in dunes and sea was breathtaking, the sunset as spectacular as one probably can dream. Room was clean, full of light and very spacious. Staff was friendly, most helpful and children friendly. The pool is somewhat small but clean and fresh towels are constantly available.
Food at the French restaurant was delicious while at the bistro a little disappointing. The difference between the two restaurants is quite big for such a relatively small place. Service quality at the bistro was also poor while at the restaurant one sole Maitre treats the guests like royalties. We would recommend to pay the 10 euros more and only dine at the restaurant.
Breakfast is SUMPTUOUS!!!
Highly recommended!!!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groningen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
71 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

This is one of those places that when you are there you really never want to go. The staff is friendly and put the wishes of the guest at the top of their list.
The location is great, only a few minutes walk from the most beautiful beach in Holland. The rooms are clean, spacious and clean. For us it is always nice to have the possibility to have a cup of coffee or tea in the room,which is possible.
The breakfast is unbeatable. Freshly made pancakes, French toast, fried egg are just a few great things that you may find here.
An absolute must if you are in the neighborhood or want to go to Texel.

Room Tip: The restaurant "De Heeren XVII" is situated within the hotel. If you enjoy great food and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Namur, Belgium
Level Contributor
69 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Marvelous location just behind the beach. Comfortable room in a spacious and good hotel. Friendly staff. Breakfast excellent with a good choice of cold and hot food. We had a dinner in the restaurant during the evening. It was a good experience but there was nobody in the bar during all the evening. Nice swimming pool inside but the wellness center is a little "cold". In conclusion, a good hotel but not a good value for money : we expected more for the price we paid.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

Great location next to the dunes and a short walk to the beach, which was cold and very windy but beautiful. We had a top floor suite with a view of the dunes and ocean and it was lovely. Staff was friendly, warm and professional. Lots of inviting spots to hang out in the hotel and a range of restaurants. The general environment spoke of a relaxing holiday and we really enjoyed our stay.

On the negative side,this was the only place we stayed in two weeks in the Netherlands that didn't include breakfast. At this price point (relatively expensive) asking another nearly 18 euros each for breakfast seemed excessive. (we didn't partake) Also, two days of breakfast were included on our bill even though we did not eat it on the first morning and were actually checking out before it was served on the second morning. This was rectified, of course but, still, check your bill carefully.

Room Tip: If you can manage to pay the price, the top floor suites facing the dunes are excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near De Koog
0.4 mi away
Hotel Greenside
Hotel Greenside
#2 of 11 in De Koog
4.5 of 5 stars 163 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Kogerstaete
Hotel Kogerstaete
#1 of 11 in De Koog
4.5 of 5 stars 95 reviews
0.3 mi away
Strandhotel Noordzee
Strandhotel Noordzee
#4 of 11 in De Koog
4.5 of 5 stars 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Boutique Hotel Texel
Boutique Hotel Texel
#4 of 6 in De Cocksdorp
4.0 of 5 stars 53 reviews
5.8 mi away
Hotel Oranjerie Molenbos
Hotel Oranjerie Molenbos
#2 of 6 in De Cocksdorp
4.5 of 5 stars 32 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Tesselhof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Opduin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Opduin

Address: Ruijslaan 22, 1796 AD De Koog, Texel, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Texel > De Koog
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in De Koog
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Opduin 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Grand Hotel Opduin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Opduin Texel/De Koog

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Opduin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.