We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marvelous location just behind the beach but too expensive” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Opduin

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Opduin to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Opduin
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ruijslaan 22, 1796 AD De Koog, Texel, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in De Koog
Certificate of Excellence
Namur, Belgium
Level Contributor
71 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Marvelous location just behind the beach but too expensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Marvelous location just behind the beach. Comfortable room in a spacious and good hotel. Friendly staff. Breakfast excellent with a good choice of cold and hot food. We had a dinner in the restaurant during the evening. It was a good experience but there was nobody in the bar during all the evening. Nice swimming pool inside but the wellness center is a little "cold". In conclusion, a good hotel but not a good value for money : we expected more for the price we paid.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FabriceandJulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Davis, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

Great location next to the dunes and a short walk to the beach, which was cold and very windy but beautiful. We had a top floor suite with a view of the dunes and ocean and it was lovely. Staff was friendly, warm and professional. Lots of inviting spots to hang out in the hotel and a range of restaurants. The general environment spoke of a relaxing holiday and we really enjoyed our stay.

On the negative side,this was the only place we stayed in two weeks in the Netherlands that didn't include breakfast. At this price point (relatively expensive) asking another nearly 18 euros each for breakfast seemed excessive. (we didn't partake) Also, two days of breakfast were included on our bill even though we did not eat it on the first morning and were actually checking out before it was served on the second morning. This was rectified, of course but, still, check your bill carefully.

Room Tip: If you can manage to pay the price, the top floor suites facing the dunes are excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank DonaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vlaanderen
Level Contributor
60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

nicely situated in the dunes of de Koog, Texel, Holland
overloaded interiot, included too much furniture in the rooms
no airco, no minibar, no slippers, no bathrobe
nice breakfast, small portions at dinner, fine dining much too expensive
ridiculously high drink prices
small swimming pool
in general : to expensive, impersonal cold, too many pretensions for no reason

Room Tip: all rooms are too expensive, try a room to the forest side
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank trippersVL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashdod, Israel
Level Contributor
61 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

There is a special atmosphere in the Texel Island and the Grand Hotel Opduin is a fine special hotel in it. The food in the hotel is of very high quality, rooms are very big and well equipped. The entire design of the hotel is very special and staff were very friendly and helpful. This is certainly a hotel which is worth traveling for, even to a remote location such as Texel.

Room Tip: Higher floor - better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Moshe_I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for one night and had a junior suite which was very large and nicely furnished. The hotel staff were extremely helpful and attentive. We ate in the hotel restaurant and the food was a high standard and the service was excellent. the breakfast was expensive but worth every penny, a chef to make you eggs and a very good selection of fresh local produce. The champagne was a nice extra. The hotel location right on the edge of the dunes is wonderful and also only a 5 minute walk to the busy centre of De Koog. My only complaint is that the single beds are a bit of a dissapointment and maybe there should be a choice available, but on the whole a superb hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SusanNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2011

+ Nice situation
+ Very large rooms (suite)
+ generous and well-diversified breakfast
+ very good cooking (brasserie or restaurant)

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Louster22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

This hotel is a golden oldie. With a very long hotel tradition, the current owner does his best to please his guests. Nice rooms, well apppointed, but with two single beds pushed together romance is not the main attraction :-).
Restaurant is OK, service a bit understaffed so be prepared to wait for your drinks.
Breakfast buffet is quite good.
Generally, if you like to stay in a typical luxurious family hotel, this is certainly a good choice.
On the down side; DOGS!!!! Terrible tail wagging golden retrievers that push their wet nose in your bowl of peanuts. And then, as if nothing happened, the owners disappear.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrRossi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near De Koog
0.4 mi away
Hotel Greenside
Hotel Greenside
#1 of 11 in De Koog
4.5 of 5 stars 186 reviews
3.4 mi away
Boutique Hotel Texel
Boutique Hotel Texel
#2 of 6 in De Cocksdorp
4.0 of 5 stars 79 reviews
0.3 mi away
Strandhotel Noordzee
Strandhotel Noordzee
#3 of 11 in De Koog
4.5 of 5 stars 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Kogerstaete
Hotel Kogerstaete
#2 of 11 in De Koog
4.5 of 5 stars 103 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel de Lindeboom
Hotel de Lindeboom
#1 of 6 in Den Burg
4.5 of 5 stars 88 reviews
1.1 mi away
De Pelikaan Texel
De Pelikaan Texel
#9 of 11 in De Koog
4.0 of 5 stars 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Opduin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Opduin

Address: Ruijslaan 22, 1796 AD De Koog, Texel, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Texel > De Koog
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in De Koog
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Opduin 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Venere, Travelocity, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Grand Hotel Opduin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Opduin Texel/De Koog

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing