We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel in central location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Kogerstaete

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Kogerstaete to your Saves list
Hotel Kogerstaete
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dorpsstraat 230, 1796 CH De Koog, Texel, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in De Koog
edam
1 review
“Good hotel in central location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

Very friendly and helpful service. We stayed in one of the appartments (courtyard facing) which was clean, comfortable and pretty well equipped, with enough space for our family of 4 (2 adults and 2 small kids). Car parking was also right behind the hotel.

We found the location ideal for exploring the island by car, with the beach easily walkable within 15-20 minutes and the small town with numerous restaurants and bars (most kid friendly) reachable within 5 mins.

The only very slightly negative point would be that the beds in our appartment were *really* soft which was not ideal for back support. But this really is a luxury moan ;-) and may even suit some people anyway.

All in all we would recomend the hotel |(appartments) as a good place to stay for families.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    16
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
40
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

Our family of four had a very pleasant stay at Hotel Kogerstaete. Our room was clean and spacious but expected based on the reviews here. We had a courtyard facing room so we weren't affected by noise from the street. It was the personal and sincere service of the hotel owners, Dirk and Jeanet, that impressed us very much. When we checked in, noticing that we came a long way from Singapore, Dirk took time to tell us more about Texel and the things to do there. Jeanet brought a toy for our two young boys to play with and made sure we were comfortable. When we left behind our younger son's stuff toy dog which is his must-have bedtime toy, Dirk and Jeanet post it back to us at our parents' house in Gronningen within a day. We were very grateful for their thoughtfulness. The location of Hotel Kogerstaete is ideal. It's walking distance to the beach and the centre of De Koog where there are supermarkets and nice family friendly restaurants like Quinty's. Texel is a great place to visit for famiies living in the city that want to experience green open spaces, fresh air and wonderful family bonding activities such as fruit-picking, candle making, trekking in nature reserves, cycling etc. We highly recommend Hotel Kogerstaete for families.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

It's a nice place and the owner tries - but I'm not sure it deserves a top Trip Advisor rating. It's on a main street that is very busy. At 3 am people spilling out of the bars woke us up and then at 07:30 am all the cars going by made a heck of a lot of noise. Perhaps its better if the room faces the courtyard - so make sure you ask for one of those. Also -I thought it was very overpriced for what you got - although the room could have slept 4 people so perhaps it's better for that. If you are coming for a romantic weekend for two - this is not the place. For a larger group- probably a decent place. The location close to town is great but the city is small and if you rent a bike other places are just as accessible.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2011

I can warmly recommend this hotel.
We had a plesant stay in this hotel on TEXEL!
Lovely room with sauna and sunshower!
We come back

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2010

This is a great hotel located app. 100 meters away from the busy main street in De Koog, Texel. The rooms are nice, spacious, clean and have nice balcony. The bath room is large and with both a shower as well a bathtub. Very nice and friendly owners. It is possible to buy internet access at the hotel.
Few meters away from the hotel one can rent a bike and explore the island, with all its nice biking tracks and small roads.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Kogerstaete? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kogerstaete

Address: Dorpsstraat 230, 1796 CH De Koog, Texel, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Texel > De Koog
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in De Koog
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Kogerstaete 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Kogerstaete reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Kogerstaete Texel/De Koog

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Kogerstaete, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.