We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel with dito restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Culinaire Verwennerij Bij Jef Restaurant & Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Culinaire Verwennerij Bij Jef Restaurant & Hotel to your Saves list
Culinaire Verwennerij Bij Jef Restaurant & Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Herenstraat 34, 1797AJ Den Hoorn, Texel, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Den Hoorn
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel with dito restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

We went to Bij Jef (At Jef) for 3 days and booked an arrangement: 2 nights sleep, 2 breakfasts and 2 dinners: in one word: Phenomenal!

For the hotel part (see my separate review for the restaurant) the name 'Bij Nadine' (At Nadine) would be better. Jef is running the kitchen and Nadine is the hostess of both the hotel and restaurant.

Great zen-style (all white) designer rooms. Spacious and beautiful views of the grass-lands. Perfect bed and dito showers (2 rain-showers). Fresh food, some nuts and water every day.

A real treat!

Room Tip: Ask for the room at the backside of the hotel (with the dormer) for great views over the grass-lands...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
19
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hoeilaart
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

My wife and me spend the weekend of Pentecost there. The package of three nights, three dinners and breakfasts had an excellent price:quality ratio. The rooms were not so much to our likings (quite modern and minimalistic decoration), but they were spacious, quiet and with all amenities. The private parking place is a must, since the location of the hotel/restaurant is in the middle of the quiet village in a narrow street.
There are two main aspects why I strongly recommend this place: the hospitality and the quality, diversity and creativity of the food. All people at Jef's have have only one goal, to make you feel comfortable and to give you the best experience. They have this type of hospitality that is natural but very accomodating. They don't impose, but are there to fulfill your wishes. This goes for everybody, the owners and all of their staff.
The package included a three, a four and a five course dinner. Well, one thing they do wrong is counting. In all the dinners I am sure that we had much more then the number of courses mentioned. The 'amuses bouches' and and he other bites in between made us forget about the number of courses, we simply enjoyed. I am not going to mention one particular dish because the creativity was so enormous and the taste so good of every dish individually so good that I wouldn't even remember. Not once over these three days I had the impression that we ate a dish that we have eaten before or alike. Even the breakfasts were at a high culinary level. If there is one point of (minor) criticism, perhaps normal breakfasts after the culinary dinners would also have been OK. Sometimes bacon and eggs taste wonderful after high level chefs creations. But if you love life and nature go to Texel to Jef.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amsterdam
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

This was our first visit to Texel and staying at Bij Jef made it memorable. When we arrived our room was not yet ready but we were offered a drink in the lovely lounge area. Room stylish and comfortable, with Nespresso machine and double walk-in shower. Seven course meal with accompanying wines (kudos to chef's wife, an award-winning sommelier) was excellent, as was breakfast the following morning. Highly recommend both hotel and Michelin star restaurant.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
291 reviews 291 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
175 helpful votes 175 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

Me & my wife loved the simple but stylish design on the newly built rooms. The attention to detail is as immaculate as the food in the downstairs restaurant. Location is excellent for cyclists coming from the mainland and it served great for us as a base to explore Texel from. The added bonus of being able to walk upstairs to bed after a fantastic 7-course menu is also worth noting. Three things that stood out: the walk-in rain showers, the lovely view from the French balcony and the lovely wool rug at the foot of the bed.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneve
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

Nice design, excellent gastronomy food. We were surprised by the quality of the products and the fantastic presentation.

We will come back and stay at the Hotel as well!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2010

Making holidays on Texel doesn't necessarily mean to go to De Koog. Touristically well equipped, this village rather reminds of Jesolo in Italy than of a relaxing village in the North of Holland. Bar next to bar, low quality restaurant next to low quality restaurant. HOWever, there are gems on Texel. Just go to Den Hoorn an check in "Bij Jef". The rooms are spacious, simple and clean, there is wooden floor, a hugh bathroom and absoult silence. It was just fantastic there. Price: 110 Euro per night (breakfast included) for the double room. Apart from that Jef's restaurant is simply the best on the island. It's expensive, but excellent! A double must if you plan holidays on Texel.

Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2007

We had a very nice stay at the Culinaire Verwennerij Bij Jef in the laied back island town Den Hoorn - my family and I were pampered by Jef, his wife and the crew for three days. We went there for the food - which is just fantastic. The rooms are rather simple but very nicely designed.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Culinaire Verwennerij Bij Jef Restaurant & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Culinaire Verwennerij Bij Jef Restaurant & Hotel

Address: Herenstraat 34, 1797AJ Den Hoorn, Texel, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Texel > Den Hoorn
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Den Hoorn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Culinaire Verwennerij Bij Jef Restaurant & Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Culinaire Verwennerij Bij Jef Restaurant & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Culinaire Verwennerij Bij Jef Restaurant & Hotel Den Hoorn, Texel, The Netherlands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Culinaire Verwennerij Bij Jef Restaurant & Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.