We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sensational hotel restaurant on Texel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Culinaire Verwennerij Bij Jef Restaurant & Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Culinaire Verwennerij Bij Jef Restaurant & Hotel to your Saves list
Culinaire Verwennerij Bij Jef Restaurant & Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Herenstraat 34, 1797AJ Den Hoorn, Texel, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Den Hoorn
amsterdam
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Sensational hotel restaurant on Texel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

This was our first visit to Texel and staying at Bij Jef made it memorable. When we arrived our room was not yet ready but we were offered a drink in the lovely lounge area. Room stylish and comfortable, with Nespresso machine and double walk-in shower. Seven course meal with accompanying wines (kudos to chef's wife, an award-winning sommelier) was excellent, as was breakfast the following morning. Highly recommend both hotel and Michelin star restaurant.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
19
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
264 reviews 264 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
159 helpful votes 159 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

Me & my wife loved the simple but stylish design on the newly built rooms. The attention to detail is as immaculate as the food in the downstairs restaurant. Location is excellent for cyclists coming from the mainland and it served great for us as a base to explore Texel from. The added bonus of being able to walk upstairs to bed after a fantastic 7-course menu is also worth noting. Three things that stood out: the walk-in rain showers, the lovely view from the French balcony and the lovely wool rug at the foot of the bed.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneve
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

Nice design, excellent gastronomy food. We were surprised by the quality of the products and the fantastic presentation.

We will come back and stay at the Hotel as well!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2010

Making holidays on Texel doesn't necessarily mean to go to De Koog. Touristically well equipped, this village rather reminds of Jesolo in Italy than of a relaxing village in the North of Holland. Bar next to bar, low quality restaurant next to low quality restaurant. HOWever, there are gems on Texel. Just go to Den Hoorn an check in "Bij Jef". The rooms are spacious, simple and clean, there is wooden floor, a hugh bathroom and absoult silence. It was just fantastic there. Price: 110 Euro per night (breakfast included) for the double room. Apart from that Jef's restaurant is simply the best on the island. It's expensive, but excellent! A double must if you plan holidays on Texel.

Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2007

We had a very nice stay at the Culinaire Verwennerij Bij Jef in the laied back island town Den Hoorn - my family and I were pampered by Jef, his wife and the crew for three days. We went there for the food - which is just fantastic. The rooms are rather simple but very nicely designed.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Culinaire Verwennerij Bij Jef Restaurant & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Culinaire Verwennerij Bij Jef Restaurant & Hotel

Address: Herenstraat 34, 1797AJ Den Hoorn, Texel, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Texel > Den Hoorn
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Den Hoorn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Culinaire Verwennerij Bij Jef Restaurant & Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Culinaire Verwennerij Bij Jef Restaurant & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Culinaire Verwennerij Bij Jef Restaurant & Hotel Den Hoorn, Texel, The Netherlands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Culinaire Verwennerij Bij Jef Restaurant & Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.