We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely old style hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Landgoed Duin & Kruidberg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Landgoed Duin & Kruidberg to your Saves list
Landgoed Duin & Kruidberg
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Duin en Kruidbergerweg 60, 2071 LE Santpoort-Noord, Velsen, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Santpoort-Noord
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Netherlands
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Lovely old style hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

Stayed at the hotel for a company event in November 2013. The setting is amazing and the rooms are very comfortable. I had a view over the garden in the older styled rooms. The bed was comfortable and the room very nicely furnished. I had a great sleep (never long enough though).

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evelien H, Manager at Landgoed Duin & Kruidberg, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear Heather, Thank you very much for your positive review about your stay in our hotel and ofcourse thank you for staying with us. We hope to welcome you again in the future. Enjoy your week and Christmas holidays! Kind regards, Evelien Hendrikse, Management Assistant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    72
    19
    6
    6
See reviews for
34
99
5
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

I personally stayed in the modern half of the hotel where the bedrooms are a bit cheaper, but they are very clean and functional and a good night's sleep was had, the older part of the hotel is spectacular to see and clearly very well looked after - would recomend to anyone who is looking to impress

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evelien H, Public Relations Manager at Landgoed Duin & Kruidberg, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Good afternoon,

Thank you very much for staying in our hotel and for writing this nice review. We are looking forward welcoming you in the future!

Kind regards,

Evelien Hendrikse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

I organized 2 company events at this hotel and was very impressed with the location. It is a beautiful peaceful location easy to reach even by train (train station 10 minutes walk). The hotel itself is very comfortable and nice. The rooms are spacious (Superior room) and each has their own design and color scheme. The food is amazing at the Bar/restaurant attached to it and the personnel is friendly an helpful.
It is very old fashion from outside and the lobby as well but the meeting rooms are modern and equipped with everything you need.
The price was very good and quality superior. It is a different setting if you are looking for a more traditional old dutch decor.

Room Tip: all rooms are different (color and theme) difference between superior and standard room is the size...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evelien H, General Manager at Landgoed Duin & Kruidberg, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Juliana,

Thank you very much for your positive review. We are looking forward to welcome you in the future!

Kind regards,

Bernard Lensink, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

I have had two recent meetings at this hotel. A business unit strategy meeting and a Board of Directors meeting. The location is a little out of the way (20-30 mins from Schipol airport) and some may think it is secluded but it will impress attendees and allow focus and insightful conversation. The hotel architecture is beautiful and very European and the rooms are each unique and very well furnished. The gardens provide an almost fairy tale backdrop. When the weather cooperates, dining or drinks on the patio is unmatched. The service is consistently good, much better than average Dutch. The hotel has a one star Michelin restaurant and a good private dining room. New conference facilities make meetings very comfortable and effective. The biggest negative is that is is a bit hard to find and there is nothing but beautiful horse farms to walk to but if that does not bother you, you may make it a favorite business meeting site like I have.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evelien H, Public Relations Manager at Landgoed Duin & Kruidberg, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Henry,

Thank you very much for writing this positive review about our hotel and also thank you for staying with us. The tranquile surrounding really gives a positive energy to important business meetings. We are looking foward to welcome you again in the future!

Kind regards,

Evelien Hendrikse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

This is just a beautiful property!!! We had a "superior" room and it was lovely. It was big and had a view of the pond and terrace. The sculpture art around the estate is wonderful. The staff was very friendly and helpful. It is out in the country and just amazing to drive up to. We loved the breakfast buffet...the food was plentiful and excellent quality and again the staff was superlative.
We were a little disappointed about not getting to eat dinner there since we did not make "reservations" in advance...so we went to town on a recommendation of the staff and had a fabulous meal. I would recommend this hotel to anyone...it is a beautiful place to stay

Room Tip: I would up grade to a superior room or better...our room was wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evelien H, Manager at Landgoed Duin & Kruidberg, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Susan,

Thank you very much for writing this very nice review about our Estate. It was a pleasure having you as our guest and we hope to welcome you again in the future. The new art exposition will be opened in May 2014!

Kind regards,

Evelien Hendrikse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I stayed here on my way to a meeting after flying in to Schiphol and it was a relaxing place to recover from jet lag and prepare my materials. The grounds are beautiful, as are the public areas of the mansion. If you are a big breakfast fan, the 20 euro breakfast is actually worth the money; it is a gourmet spread with everything from traditional Dutch meats and cheeses to adorable miniature donuts. The in-house brasserie is excellent.

Some practical notes: rooms in the modern wing of the hotel (much less expensive) require you to walk through the bar and restaurant to reach them and involve several flights of stairs (there are elevators, though you will need to take a series of them). The hotel is often used for conferences and thus the lovely older rooms in the main building may be off limits during parts of your stay. And DO NOT take a cab from Schiphol to the hotel unless you are prepared to pay 80 Euros for the ride. The hotel primarily caters to clients with cars but there is a small train station less than ten minutes walk away.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

It was our second stay at that hotel. The first time, we booked a room in the old part of the mansion, it had a great view of the pond but was located under the roof. It was too small for the heavy furniture. It was also dated. The bathroom was very nice though.
This time, we asked for a room in the more modern part. We were surprised to find ourselves facing an interior court but fortunately on the second floor where we could see a bit of green by looking up... The room was comfortable.
The food was good in the dining room and at breakfast the next morning. Before our departure, we took a walk around the pond and saw a deer - so charming.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Landgoed D, General Manager at Landgoed Duin & Kruidberg, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

First of all I would like to thank you for posting your review. We are glad we could welcome you again here at Duin & Kruidberg Country Estate, and we hope to welcome you again in the nearby future.


Yours Sincerely,

Bernard Lensink
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Landgoed Duin & Kruidberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Landgoed Duin & Kruidberg

Address: Duin en Kruidbergerweg 60, 2071 LE Santpoort-Noord, Velsen, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Velsen > Santpoort-Noord
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Santpoort-Noord
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Landgoed Duin & Kruidberg 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel and conference retreat offers 75 luxury hotel rooms, the Michelin-starred restaurant De Vrienden van Jacob, a modern Brasserie & Loungebar DenK and a variety of classic style rooms. Our modern banquet rooms can be used for venues for meetings, conferences, dinners and receptions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Landgoed Duin & Kruidberg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Landgoed Duin & Kruidberg Hotel Santpoort
Landgoed Duin And Kruidberg
Landgoed Duin & Kruidberg Santpoort-Noord, The Netherlands - North Holland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Landgoed Duin & Kruidberg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.