We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Special place for a small but important business meeting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Landgoed Duin & Kruidberg

Save Saved
You added Landgoed Duin & Kruidberg to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Landgoed Duin & Kruidberg
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Duin en Kruidbergerweg 60, 2071 LE Santpoort-Noord, Velsen, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Santpoort-Noord
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Special place for a small but important business meeting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

I have had two recent meetings at this hotel. A business unit strategy meeting and a Board of Directors meeting. The location is a little out of the way (20-30 mins from Schipol airport) and some may think it is secluded but it will impress attendees and allow focus and insightful conversation. The hotel architecture is beautiful and very European and the rooms are each unique and very well furnished. The gardens provide an almost fairy tale backdrop. When the weather cooperates, dining or drinks on the patio is unmatched. The service is consistently good, much better than average Dutch. The hotel has a one star Michelin restaurant and a good private dining room. New conference facilities make meetings very comfortable and effective. The biggest negative is that is is a bit hard to find and there is nothing but beautiful horse farms to walk to but if that does not bother you, you may make it a favorite business meeting site like I have.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evelien H, Public Relations Manager at Landgoed Duin & Kruidberg, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Henry,

Thank you very much for writing this positive review about our hotel and also thank you for staying with us. The tranquile surrounding really gives a positive energy to important business meetings. We are looking foward to welcome you again in the future!

Kind regards,

Evelien Hendrikse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    76
    61
    15
    5
    5
See reviews for
31
78
4
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bellingham, Washington
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

This is just a beautiful property!!! We had a "superior" room and it was lovely. It was big and had a view of the pond and terrace. The sculpture art around the estate is wonderful. The staff was very friendly and helpful. It is out in the country and just amazing to drive up to. We loved the breakfast buffet...the food was plentiful and excellent quality and again the staff was superlative.
We were a little disappointed about not getting to eat dinner there since we did not make "reservations" in advance...so we went to town on a recommendation of the staff and had a fabulous meal. I would recommend this hotel to anyone...it is a beautiful place to stay

Room Tip: I would up grade to a superior room or better...our room was wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evelien H, Manager at Landgoed Duin & Kruidberg, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Susan,

Thank you very much for writing this very nice review about our Estate. It was a pleasure having you as our guest and we hope to welcome you again in the future. The new art exposition will be opened in May 2014!

Kind regards,

Evelien Hendrikse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I stayed here on my way to a meeting after flying in to Schiphol and it was a relaxing place to recover from jet lag and prepare my materials. The grounds are beautiful, as are the public areas of the mansion. If you are a big breakfast fan, the 20 euro breakfast is actually worth the money; it is a gourmet spread with everything from traditional Dutch meats and cheeses to adorable miniature donuts. The in-house brasserie is excellent.

Some practical notes: rooms in the modern wing of the hotel (much less expensive) require you to walk through the bar and restaurant to reach them and involve several flights of stairs (there are elevators, though you will need to take a series of them). The hotel is often used for conferences and thus the lovely older rooms in the main building may be off limits during parts of your stay. And DO NOT take a cab from Schiphol to the hotel unless you are prepared to pay 80 Euros for the ride. The hotel primarily caters to clients with cars but there is a small train station less than ten minutes walk away.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

It was our second stay at that hotel. The first time, we booked a room in the old part of the mansion, it had a great view of the pond but was located under the roof. It was too small for the heavy furniture. It was also dated. The bathroom was very nice though.
This time, we asked for a room in the more modern part. We were surprised to find ourselves facing an interior court but fortunately on the second floor where we could see a bit of green by looking up... The room was comfortable.
The food was good in the dining room and at breakfast the next morning. Before our departure, we took a walk around the pond and saw a deer - so charming.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Landgoed D, General Manager at Landgoed Duin & Kruidberg, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

First of all I would like to thank you for posting your review. We are glad we could welcome you again here at Duin & Kruidberg Country Estate, and we hope to welcome you again in the nearby future.


Yours Sincerely,

Bernard Lensink
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We found out this beautiful hotel online. Our choice was great. Wonderful park, plenty of parking spaces, and the sorroundings were marvellous. Even though the food was a bit expensive, we had a great dinner with exquisite dishes.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Landgoed D, General Manager at Landgoed Duin & Kruidberg, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

First of all I would like to thank you for posting your review. This sets us to improve the service and facilities of Duin & Kruidberg Country Estate. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and diner in our restaurant. We hope to welcome you again at Duin & Kruidberg Country Estate.

Yours Sincerely,

Bernard Lensink
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Imposing hotel in lovely parkland, Polite and efficient staff. Plenty of parking and and a 15 minute drive to the ferry terminal, so ideal for us. Comfortable,spacious room in main hotel,furnishings a little tired but very clean. Interesting Saturday afternoon sitting on the terrace in the sun, drinking wine and watching a wedding service in the grounds. We ate in the Bistro good evening meal, pleasant service the staff were very busy and the chefs at the open cooking area were working so hard to get the meals out. The breakfast experience was chaotic and not at all relaxing due to some of the children of wedding guests running around unsupervised and helping themselves at the buffet table then putting the item back after I bite. I do think the hotel management should look at this aspect of the hotel to give guests a better breakfast experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Landgoed D, General Manager at Landgoed Duin & Kruidberg, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

First of all I would like tot thank you for posting your review. This sets us to improve the service and facilities of Duin & Kruidberg Country Estate. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and your diner at Brasserie DenK. We hope to welcome you again at Duin & Kruidberg Country Estate.

Yours Sincerely,

Bernard Lensink
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We chose this hotel primarily for it's proximity to the DFDS Terminal in Ijmuiden, our port of departure back to the UK after an extended motoring tour of Europe. The hotel is a lovely old house with lots of original features and with plenty of car parking spaces in the extensive wooded grounds. Our bedroom was spacious and clean and we had a most pleasant evening meal in the Brasserie served by very attentive and pleasant staff. The only negative point to make is that some of the children of the wedding guests staying in the hotel were a little unruly at breakfast with some showing some very poor manners when at the serve yourself buffet tables.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Landgoed D, General Manager at Landgoed Duin & Kruidberg, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

First of all I would like tot thank you for posting your review. This sets us to improve the service and facilities of Duin & Kruidberg Country Estate. We are glad that you enjoyed your meal in Brasserie DenK and we hope to welcome you again at Duin & Kruidberg Country Estate.

Yours Sincerely,

Bernard Lensink
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Landgoed Duin & Kruidberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Landgoed Duin & Kruidberg

Address: Duin en Kruidbergerweg 60, 2071 LE Santpoort-Noord, Velsen, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Velsen > Santpoort-Noord
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Santpoort-Noord
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Landgoed Duin & Kruidberg 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel and conference retreat offers 75 luxury hotel rooms, the Michelin-starred restaurant De Vrienden van Jacob, a modern Brasserie & Loungebar DenK and a variety of classic style rooms. Our modern banquet rooms can be used for venues for meetings, conferences, dinners and receptions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Orbitz, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Landgoed Duin & Kruidberg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Landgoed Duin & Kruidberg Hotel Santpoort
Landgoed Duin And Kruidberg
Landgoed Duin & Kruidberg Santpoort-Noord, The Netherlands - North Holland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Landgoed Duin & Kruidberg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.