We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a place...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Landgoed Duin & Kruidberg

Save Saved
You added Landgoed Duin & Kruidberg to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Landgoed Duin & Kruidberg
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Duin en Kruidbergerweg 60, 2071 LE Santpoort-Noord, Velsen, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Santpoort-Noord
Bellingham, Washington
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“What a place...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

This is just a beautiful property!!! We had a "superior" room and it was lovely. It was big and had a view of the pond and terrace. The sculpture art around the estate is wonderful. The staff was very friendly and helpful. It is out in the country and just amazing to drive up to. We loved the breakfast buffet...the food was plentiful and excellent quality and again the staff was superlative.
We were a little disappointed about not getting to eat dinner there since we did not make "reservations" in advance...so we went to town on a recommendation of the staff and had a fabulous meal. I would recommend this hotel to anyone...it is a beautiful place to stay

Room Tip: I would up grade to a superior room or better...our room was wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evelien H, Manager at Landgoed Duin & Kruidberg, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Susan,

Thank you very much for writing this very nice review about our Estate. It was a pleasure having you as our guest and we hope to welcome you again in the future. The new art exposition will be opened in May 2014!

Kind regards,

Evelien Hendrikse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    69
    55
    14
    5
    3
See reviews for
27
69
3
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I stayed here on my way to a meeting after flying in to Schiphol and it was a relaxing place to recover from jet lag and prepare my materials. The grounds are beautiful, as are the public areas of the mansion. If you are a big breakfast fan, the 20 euro breakfast is actually worth the money; it is a gourmet spread with everything from traditional Dutch meats and cheeses to adorable miniature donuts. The in-house brasserie is excellent.

Some practical notes: rooms in the modern wing of the hotel (much less expensive) require you to walk through the bar and restaurant to reach them and involve several flights of stairs (there are elevators, though you will need to take a series of them). The hotel is often used for conferences and thus the lovely older rooms in the main building may be off limits during parts of your stay. And DO NOT take a cab from Schiphol to the hotel unless you are prepared to pay 80 Euros for the ride. The hotel primarily caters to clients with cars but there is a small train station less than ten minutes walk away.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

It was our second stay at that hotel. The first time, we booked a room in the old part of the mansion, it had a great view of the pond but was located under the roof. It was too small for the heavy furniture. It was also dated. The bathroom was very nice though.
This time, we asked for a room in the more modern part. We were surprised to find ourselves facing an interior court but fortunately on the second floor where we could see a bit of green by looking up... The room was comfortable.
The food was good in the dining room and at breakfast the next morning. Before our departure, we took a walk around the pond and saw a deer - so charming.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Landgoed D, General Manager at Landgoed Duin & Kruidberg, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

First of all I would like to thank you for posting your review. We are glad we could welcome you again here at Duin & Kruidberg Country Estate, and we hope to welcome you again in the nearby future.


Yours Sincerely,

Bernard Lensink
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We found out this beautiful hotel online. Our choice was great. Wonderful park, plenty of parking spaces, and the sorroundings were marvellous. Even though the food was a bit expensive, we had a great dinner with exquisite dishes.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Landgoed D, General Manager at Landgoed Duin & Kruidberg, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

First of all I would like to thank you for posting your review. This sets us to improve the service and facilities of Duin & Kruidberg Country Estate. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and diner in our restaurant. We hope to welcome you again at Duin & Kruidberg Country Estate.

Yours Sincerely,

Bernard Lensink
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Imposing hotel in lovely parkland, Polite and efficient staff. Plenty of parking and and a 15 minute drive to the ferry terminal, so ideal for us. Comfortable,spacious room in main hotel,furnishings a little tired but very clean. Interesting Saturday afternoon sitting on the terrace in the sun, drinking wine and watching a wedding service in the grounds. We ate in the Bistro good evening meal, pleasant service the staff were very busy and the chefs at the open cooking area were working so hard to get the meals out. The breakfast experience was chaotic and not at all relaxing due to some of the children of wedding guests running around unsupervised and helping themselves at the buffet table then putting the item back after I bite. I do think the hotel management should look at this aspect of the hotel to give guests a better breakfast experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Landgoed D, General Manager at Landgoed Duin & Kruidberg, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

First of all I would like tot thank you for posting your review. This sets us to improve the service and facilities of Duin & Kruidberg Country Estate. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and your diner at Brasserie DenK. We hope to welcome you again at Duin & Kruidberg Country Estate.

Yours Sincerely,

Bernard Lensink
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We chose this hotel primarily for it's proximity to the DFDS Terminal in Ijmuiden, our port of departure back to the UK after an extended motoring tour of Europe. The hotel is a lovely old house with lots of original features and with plenty of car parking spaces in the extensive wooded grounds. Our bedroom was spacious and clean and we had a most pleasant evening meal in the Brasserie served by very attentive and pleasant staff. The only negative point to make is that some of the children of the wedding guests staying in the hotel were a little unruly at breakfast with some showing some very poor manners when at the serve yourself buffet tables.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Landgoed D, General Manager at Landgoed Duin & Kruidberg, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

First of all I would like tot thank you for posting your review. This sets us to improve the service and facilities of Duin & Kruidberg Country Estate. We are glad that you enjoyed your meal in Brasserie DenK and we hope to welcome you again at Duin & Kruidberg Country Estate.

Yours Sincerely,

Bernard Lensink
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essen, Germany
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

The Hotel "Landgoed Duin- en Kruidberg" is located on the brink of the national park Kennemerland, this location makes the hotel to a silent place in this bustling and stressful time. Just 5 to 10 minutes by foot you can reach the station "Santpoort-Noord" whereby a fast connection to cities for example Amsterdam, Haarlem or Alkmaar is given. While you arrive with car there were no problems if you have notice that you can drive over the above named station.

Should you decide to go by train for a day trip it's recommendable to change the amount for the train in coins because the ticket machine doesn't accept Visa, Amex or notes. A trip by train to Amsterdam cost 5 Euros that’s definitive cheaper than parking in Amsterdam. A day in a car park could cost you 35 Euros and more.

Reception/Service
The reception and their service were without fail. The women and men who worked there in the time of my stay were friendly, kindly and courteous.
At the arrival they gave us the right information’s, showed us the room and told us something about the hotel and the areas (sports, breakfast, etc.). You feel welcome with a team on the reception like this.

The bike rental worked well even we had a problem with the height of a bike the reception react immediately. The same immediately service with problems with the room service. The reception team earned a special thanks to make a stay like you want it.

Gym and Sauna
The gym is not very large but comprised all gym equipment you need for an effective workout. The low light is enough for training thought you don't want to stay there longer as you need. I missed at my visits germicides to clean the equipment after usage.

The sauna is appealing designed even the light concept is more low light than to feel comfortable. What the sauna round should not stop! In the sauna and gym area you find towels, products of body care, two showers and toilets and the cleanness is given! The practical in this area are the locker rooms and this is not always standard in hotel of this level but the locker room (men) were not that clean i expected it smells obtrusive and not really fresh.

For someone who wants to make the daily exercises is it enough. The care of the locker room and more love for this would be nice. A little bit more cleanness and love and a better room arrangement would make this offer more attractive!

Room
The rooms are comfortable and large even the standard room which I booked was larger than I expected it. 4 seating’s, large luggage storage and comfortable beds.

The lighting was really dark, I work in the lighting branch and I know a concept of lighting like in the public areas of the “Lounge Bar” or the breakfast room would be a little bit better for the guest. The room was dark so I needed to put the light on in the middle of the day. One or two room lights that are plain could solve this problem.
The room service (daily cleaning) was not really good also we had a mark on the wall and the curtains were dirty and perforated.

In 4 days the room service never had hoover the floor or made the beds as well at the arrive.
Also I missed new shower gel after usage. That all can happen but I guess I have to recheck this hotel to rate this hotel new and have a look if this mistakes happen again or the service on the room will be better.
The cleanness is the only point to subtract in refers to the room.

Bathroom
The bathroom is large and you miss no products of care but unfortunately the bathroom had the best times. Some places especially in the shower could be much better. The rubber-joint of the door should be changed. The floor of the shower have chalk marks. The separate toilette is well especially you travel not alone here was everything well clean and the bathroom.

Balcony
The balconies in the new building, where I was located would not be good looked after. The ashtray was crowded. Cobwebs and death bugs were laying around on the floor and walls. That I can't accept 100% cleanness on a balcony which is so near located to a national park is sure but I could accept ground cleanness. However the balcony had something good smokers don't have to walk the far way to the garden or the entree to smoke and would be the balcony passably clean you could dry your clothes from the beach here.

Good idea but the realization of upkeep is in short supply.

Outdoor area
The outdoor area of the hotel is spacious and welcoming designed. there are many place to stay or play soccer or volleyball. In the garden/park are different figures and a direct entrance to the national park. The levels of the patio invite you to have a lunch at the Brasserie DENK or/and have a dinner at the "Vrienden van Jacob" and enjoy this place with the lake and the old venerably building. The new building is hidden build that means that nothing bother the view of the old location.

In the front area of the hotel are enough parking lots for the guests of the hotel and the guests of the restaurant and brasserie as well as for bikes (bicycles). In summer offers the parking always a shady parking lot for your car.

The responsible personal cogitate about this area well and worked effective and efficient to make the ideas well in reality.
A place where you gladly come back and enjoying the silence and nature again and again...

Final result:
For a standard hotel in this level certainly a good result. The Landgoed Duin en Kruidberg set the own level high with the culinary facilities which are not fully achieve in the hotel area.
Few little points are sometimes tips the scale. Exactly the details in the bathroom and the room and balcony care were not enough why a better rating isn’t possible.
Guests who stay overnight there should be mobile or should be up to dinning in the hotel for culinary comparable restaurants are located in Overveen, Haarlem or Bloemendale. For business canvasser, family with older children or couples is this a good hotel especially in the summer because the ways to the “top destinations” are costly in terms of time and you can explore the national park best. As well in other periods of the year is a lot arranged. For example you can make a day off in the spa and wellness facility “Sauna-Thermen Ridderrode” in Santpoort Zuid. Who just want to escape the daily grind is at the Landgoed Duin en Kruidberg right. Relaxing and resting as well as good meals are on items of the daily agenda.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Landgoed D, General Manager at Landgoed Duin & Kruidberg, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

First of all I would like tot thank you for posting your review. This sets us to improve the service and facilities of Duin & Kruidberg Country Estate. We hope to welcome you again at Duin & Kruidberg Country Estate.

Yours Sincerely,

Bernard Lensink
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Landgoed Duin & Kruidberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Landgoed Duin & Kruidberg

Address: Duin en Kruidbergerweg 60, 2071 LE Santpoort-Noord, Velsen, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Velsen > Santpoort-Noord
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Santpoort-Noord
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Landgoed Duin & Kruidberg 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel and conference retreat offers 75 luxury hotel rooms, the Michelin-starred restaurant De Vrienden van Jacob, a modern Brasserie & Loungebar DenK and a variety of classic style rooms. Our modern banquet rooms can be used for venues for meetings, conferences, dinners and receptions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Orbitz, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your Landgoed Duin & Kruidberg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Landgoed Duin & Kruidberg Hotel Santpoort
Landgoed Duin And Kruidberg
Landgoed Duin & Kruidberg Santpoort-Noord, The Netherlands - North Holland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Landgoed Duin & Kruidberg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.