We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best in Nieuw Vennep” 4 of 5 stars
Review of De Rustende Jager

Save Saved
You added De Rustende Jager to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
De Rustende Jager
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Venneperweg 471, Nieuw-Vennep 2153 AD, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Nieuw-Vennep
Preston, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“The best in Nieuw Vennep”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Nieuw Vennep is no more than 20 minutes from Schipol. The usual airport hotels are generally pricy and full. This place is home from home. The rooms are clean although a soft furnishing re vamp would not go amiss. There is no AC so rooms on the east facing rear are better in the hot summer months. I have stayed here countless times and I have found the front office team and the bar / restaurant staff helpful and friendly. If you eat at the reasonably priced restaurant try the smocked eel, a great local delicacy or the pork schnitzel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1
    7
    10
    1
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
9
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Banff, Alberta
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We spent two nights at this hotel. We visited nearby Keukonof Park and rented bicycles. There are better regions for cycling in Holland so would not recommend that part. Now that we have travelled a bit through the Netherlands, giving a cold reception appears to be "normal". Nonetheless the staff was courteous and helpful. Our room was quiet and well appointed and beds were comfortable. Breakfast was abundant and varied, and even had freshly squeezed orange juice. We also had supper at the restaurant and the meal was delicious with a very friendly waiter. We are returning to this hotel to visit Amsterdam. We will take the nearby train (10-15 min walk). Nice bakery couple of doors down and great Chinese restaurant around the corner.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Reception staff rude, and don't give good impression that they know what to do.., training needed perhaps! The hotel manger was introduced.., but sad to say that he was no better at his job!
Whilst I was checking into the hotel, there was another guest complaining at the reception desk about the room and service.., perhaps this should have given me warning.
The room was smelly. Poor decoration. Poor area. Not very good value for money.
Generally the staff can make the difference, but unfortunately not in this case... I would not stay at this hotel again, and I would not recommend it!

Room Tip: Choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Nieuw-Vennep hotels

bristol
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We have stayed in this hotel on several occasions over the years as my husband is from a nearby area, this time however was not a good experience, as on the second evening there was a Dutch blues evening in the hotel that we did not know about until the actual afternoon of the event. When we tried to find out what time it was giong to finish all we got was a shrug of the shoulders and a a sly smile from the receptionist, them she said it would finish at 2am.My husband asked for another room as they were already practicing and our room was right above and we could hear everything ,we were told the hotel was full, fair enough a lot of people from the blues evening were staying the evening, so why did'nt they give us a room further away in the first place !. When we checked out my husband complained and asked why we were not told about the evening when booking or checking in, and were told we should have been told, and as we were'nt they would not charge for one night which we were happy with, but after paying and checking the bill outside we found we had been charged for something from the restaurant that we did'nt have, 138 euros worth, and we were'nt the only ones, the reception was running out of cash as they had no way of refunding a credit card!This hotel has gone downhill, the room we had was in need of a refurb, but all the bar staff and restaurant staff were excellent and so were the rest of the reception staff , it really is a shame!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Well placed for a trip into Amsterdam, the Keukenhof gardens or cycling around the bulb fields - bicycles can be hired from the hotel for 5 Euros a day. Breakfast is rather expensive in the hotel, but there are very good places to eat in the village. However, if you plan to eat an evening meal at the Old Mill, you will need to book in advance.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

Unlike my last stop, it seems that depending on which side of the corridor you sleep on, depends on your experience !! The room was OK but the bathroom was falling to bits ! The sink and shelf were very unstable and the mable tiles (if thats what they were) were all cracked. The toilet also took about 45mins to fill the cystern so always make sure you flush well before going to bed !

The key thing though is that there is no aircon. When we were there it was into the 20's and it felt like 30 in the room. The consolation is that they supply a small fan, but to be honest it didnt make any difference.

Finally on a good note though, we did eat outside from the menu and the food and service was very good.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

This hotel was a little dated but ok for the price and location. We stayed here and biked 6 miles to the tulip fields. The hotel rents bikes. The restaurant was good but expensive for what you got. The staff in both the restaurant and hotel were very good and there are a number of places to eat within walking distance.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to De Rustende Jager? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Rustende Jager

Address: Venneperweg 471, Nieuw-Vennep 2153 AD, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlemmermeer > Nieuw-Vennep
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Nieuw-Vennep
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — De Rustende Jager 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, HotelsNL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your De Rustende Jager reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage De Rustende Jager, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.