We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dutch experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Land Hotel

Save Saved
You added Lake Land Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lake Land Hotel
Jachthaven 1 | 1141 AV, Monnickendam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Monnickendam
Durham
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Dutch experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Our stay at the Lakeland Hotel was linked to a National Holidays trip to Amsterdam and the Dutch coast. The hotel is in a great location just of few miles from Amsterdam and right next to the small picturesque town of Monnickendam. It is well worth taking a stroll into the town which whilst quiet, has a marina and many bars and restaurants.Had we had more time, it would have been possible to hire a bike and explore the many cycle routes in the vicinity.
The hotel is situated on the lakeside and the rooms are sprawled along long corridors. However, our room was comfortable and clean and the dining facilities pleasant. There was a good choice of breads, cereals, meats, fruit juice etc for breakfast whilst the evening was fairly basic with soup, a buffet of hot food and a help yourself ice cream selection.The bar and lounge are very comfortable and the trip had the added bonus of a free bar which included local beer, wines and spirits.Then hotel desk staff were very helpful and provided a street map of Amsterdam with the catering and bar staff also very friendly.
Once again, the holiday typified the value of many of the National Holiday trips to the near Continent via the North sea ferries. As well as a day trip to Amsterdam, the itinerary also took in visits to The Hague, Scheveningen and Zaanse Schans. Amsterdam is such a vibrant place and having enjoyed a canal trip on a previous visit we enjoyed strolling further into the
city. We particularly enjoyed the Rembrant Plein with it's jazz buskers and the Albert Cuyp street market that seemed to sell everything and had a variety of fast food stalls with the fried fish offerings proving very tasty. Zaanse Schans is such an interesting place, particularly because of it's windmills, and it is well worth taking a short river crossing, or going over the bridge, to explore the town itself with it's distinctive dutch style buildings, all in pristine condition.
Scheveningen is a very impressive seaside annexe to The Hague and I was amazed at the number of stylish lounge type bars and restaurants virtually on the beach. (the Dutch must be a very hardy race or their summers much warmer than in England) .The only disappointment was that we were dropped off at 10am without much information whereas had we been better informed(the Tourist Info office didn't open until 11am), we could have taken a tram into The Hague to explore the Dutch capital.
Yes, overall, a dutch experience that proved good value and very enjoyable.

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor seem popular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    10
    33
    54
    22
    23
See reviews for
14
46
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

I was in Monnickendam for five days for a seminar, and the booking in this hotel had been made for the whole team by the organisers.
The Lake Land Hotel gives the impression of being huge, with many "wings" and endless corridors... I really loved its interior though (the restaurant, bar and corridors)! An old design, really lovely!! My room was -if I recall it well- 267. Simple, but likeable.
Only problem ... the mosquitoes, which made sleep impossible for me ("fortunately", only during the last night of my stay)!... And the heat, which I fled from in Greece, just to find it -oddly enough- also in Holland!!

The location and view, however, are incomparable!!!
Every morning, my "alarm clock" was the waterfowl below my balcony, which came there in huge numbers, and just to look at the lake and the marina on the opposite shore was enough to make me relax and feel great!

Breakfast was really good, with various breads, cheeses and cured meats among other things.
A small problem is that Wi-Fi is only available at a price, but it is reasonable enough (2 Euros per 24 hours).

All in all a pleasant stay!

As for beautiful Monnickendam itself, it is a splendid little town, with a huge marina, nice looking restaurants and bars, much room for strolls and a quiet, lovely atmosphere!
The only downside: no shop is ever open after 17.00-17.30...
And I couldn't fail to mention that this was the first time in my whole life that I saw so many spiders and spiderwebs!!! They were everywhere in Monnickendam! In bushes, plants and trees, on buildings, windows, bus-stops, boats, yachts, EVERYWHERE!! A real "Archnophobia"!!! I guess it has to do with climate, humidity and I don't know what else, as well as with the fact that -obviously- nobody ever messes with them, but even so ... it felt really-really strange to us who were from other countries!!
Also, I think that Monnickendam has the fattest cats in the whole world, but also the cuddliest ones! ;-)
And, last but not least, this was my very first time to see so many houses with windows on ground level, lit and without curtains, where everyone could take a peek inside at every moment! I must admit, however, that all these living rooms and kitchens were really-really beautiful!!...

Room Tip: Mine was overlooking the lake! Definitely book in that wing!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic break...Monnickendam a beautiful town...esp on a Saturday when the small market sets up. Most houses leave their curtains open and lights on...so a real joy if you are nosey like me!

And close to Amsterdam, the main reason for our visit. Anne Frank's house worth a visit, but pleanty else to see if sex and drugs not your bag.

And the hotel? I expected somethibg soleless...but other than the rooms were basic (I think the tiled floors magnified this) the restaurant was lovely (though had to ask for a vegetarian option twice), the bar was full of charm and although lively not rowdy.

Highly recomended.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

I stayed in Lakeland hotel for four days. The location is very nice and I enjoyed the walks and the food in the area. It is 20 minutes by bus from Amsterdam and the one-way ticket costs 5 euro. The hotel is really simple. The breakfast was a classic continental breakfast, with a variety of breads, tea, coffee, cake, etc. The staff was kind and always willing to help. There isn't free internet access, it costs 2 euro per day. I think the only thing that made me a bad impression was the room. It was clean, but nobody tried to "clean" the numerous spiders with their nets that were there. Each day that passed I found a new spider-roommate, despite the fact that there was a window with mosquito netting. My friends also had the same insect problem. I think that the housekeeping department could have cleaned the spider nets from the ceiling.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the first floor to have a view or a room near the reception desk in order to avoid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
penarth united kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

having read previous reviews, i was worried about our holiday, i neednt have worried. What a pleasant place to spend a short break. rooms were on the small side but u only sleep in it so they were adequate, bathroom was also ok, we fed the ducks that are outside verandah every morning and the view was lovely, a marina across a lake. The food was basic but plentiful and staff pleasant, bus up road straight to amsterdam, all in all a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: didnt experience any noise issues except suitcases being taken to and from rooms, we were on ground...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We had 2 nights in this hotel. It was booked by our travel tour. It was about 30 minutes from Amsterdam, easy to get there on the public transport (bus).
The hotel is average, nothing really bad and nothing really good. The food...breafast was ok, but dinners could be better. Still no complain though.
Nice people running the place, polite and helpful. Free drinks from 20:30 till 23:30 are nice, but night live in Amsterdam is better.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Stayed as part of a coach tour. Was in a ground floor room which was very clean, bathroom large with shower over bath and bath mat. Appreciated the tiled floor which I prefer to carpets even if it is noisy. Breakfast was OK, enough choice to ensure plenty to eat. Dinner less good as vegetables a bit overcooked for me, but there was plenty of salad. Would have like to walk around lake, but fenced off securely. Overall better than I expected from reviews.

Room Tip: Ground floor was fine but did not feel able to leave window (patio type) open overnight. View over c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lake Land Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Land Hotel

Address: Jachthaven 1 | 1141 AV, Monnickendam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Monnickendam
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Monnickendam
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Otel so you can book your Lake Land Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake Land Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.